Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
Superb album. Original, infectious, mature and emotional. Repeated listening gives rewards. British music is really coming into its own again. Support them!
Published 5 months ago by Mac12

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars dissappointed
Im a bit dissapointed all the songs have the same sort of sound looking back o should of jusrt sampled one song. Never mind
Published 1 month ago by julia parkinson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb album. Original, infectious, mature and emotional. Repeated listening gives rewards. British music is really coming into its own again. Support them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year, 14 Nov 2013
Unless someone has something hidden up their sleeve for the remaining month and a half then this album is by far the best album released this year. An almost perfect pop album executed brilliantly by 3 very talented individuals. Chvrches have set the bar exceptionally high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chvrches raise the roof !!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Glaswegian trio that make up 'Chvrches' are proving a force to be reckoned with on the 3-piece electronica circuit-giving the likes of 'Chase and Status' and 'Disclosure' some healthy competition.
'The Bones Of What You Believe' is quirky, contemporary and sharp with some beautifully crafted songs and musically, expressing a definite technological intent. The song writing is of such a level of maturity, that it has the feel of a third or fourth album rather than a debut! Vocalist Lauren Mayberry could hum the phonebook from cover to cover and still have you yearning for more.
A major plus for this album is that the tracks are in the realm of the radio edit rather than the 12inch, cutting straight to the lyrical point of the song/s.
The single 'Gun' released in the summer of 2013, is the perfect promo for the band, encompassing that vocal hook-based, synthesised style. Track 'Under The Tide' lends itself to a bit of role reversal courtesy of keyboard players Iain Cook/Martin Doherty providing fitting vocals to the backdrop of a tidy base-line.
A very promising addition to the current dance/pop and live music scene.

DiscJockey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS MY CHVRCH !, 4 Feb 2014
In a quiet unassuming way, just knocking out one great song after another, without seeming effort, each song probably at least three times the complexity of an average pop song, this band has sky-rocketed to one of THE great bands of our age - EASILY one of the best bands ever to come out of Britain, let alone Scotland.

So out there, quietly, musical talent works at its extraordinary craft, transforming our head-space into a new dimension - a dimension called Chvrches, a mysterious alien spelling, a mysterious alien symbolism.

If I can guess what is happening here it is that MUSIC has taken a FRONT seat, and all the rest though it may be fun or important has been placed secondary.

How many great bands and great artists go on to produce canons largely populated with repetitive sparse musical pabulum - notably the U2's and Coldplay's of this world - capable of writing great songs, capable of writing great music, yet churning out disappointing tracts of strangely average works - a slavery to mass appeal maybe, the love of success itself, not of music - its like they are trying to 'compute' which will be the most 'cool' - that is sad.

But without effort Chvrches are 'cool' without even trying - they have taken the long road to success by creating actual good music.

Like the best synth pop music this album has vocals both angelic and street-wise, it has pathos yet bounce and energy, it has vitality. It shuns relying on simple chords patterns hanging off of catchy hooks, but instead surprises with unexpected changes in pace and rhythm, a finely woven texture underlies all of these songs. But it is not TOO finely woven, just enough to do the job, just enough to take us forward from the over- simplified state of our popular music, and the obsession with 'success' as fast as possible through mass lowest-common-denominator appeal.

I hope Chvrches will take with a pinch of salt all the complete BS of online bullying - now a major and sad part of internet communication - OPEN communication is best though, we cannot let these bullies stop us from communicating on the OPEN internet.

In the spirit of Faithless and Maxi Jazz, this is now decidedly MY CHVRCH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended.
I wasn't a big fan of 80's influenced music (or at least I couldn't find a way in) until I heard a single off this on the radio.
I brought the CD when it came out and am still listening.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great debut, 7 Nov 2013
By 
D. M. VICTOR (Cornwall , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant debut from this synth band. Saw them on Jools Holland and was very impressed. Look forward to hearing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have never been a fan of electronic music, but saw Chvrches on Jules Holland and was knocked out. I bought the CD on the strength of it, and have not regretted it for one second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talents from Scotland, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best band I discovered in 2013. Glad I found them.
If you like electropop with a female vocalist, then you have to give them a listen or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really impressed, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Really impressed. With this album. Great for chilling in the car in the way to work. Voice is amazing. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real find!, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I happen to stumble upon Chvrches by accident. Now I am really glad I did. The combination of electronic synth based music coupled with great vocals makes it a pleasure to listen to. The musical style is very reminiscent of some of the more obscure electronic bands of the late seventies and early eighties but please don’t let that put you off. “Recover” and “The Mother We Shared” are the tracks that will be on auto-repeat in your brain once you have listened to them a few times. This band deserves both critical and commercial success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6675f54)

This product

Only search this product's reviews