Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different performances, same magnificent voice
I have just auditioned this CD for the first time and I have to say that Richard Moore has provided us with an extremely important addition to Matt's catalogue. Almost all the tracks sound much better than they did previously and some of Matt's readings are so different (and to my ears) in many cases preferable to the previously released recordings. The clarity of the...
Published 13 months ago by V. Adair

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
If you've got the released tracks, don't bother.
Published 27 days ago by teddyt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different performances, same magnificent voice, 18 Sep 2013
By 
V. Adair (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternate Monro (Audio CD)
I have just auditioned this CD for the first time and I have to say that Richard Moore has provided us with an extremely important addition to Matt's catalogue. Almost all the tracks sound much better than they did previously and some of Matt's readings are so different (and to my ears) in many cases preferable to the previously released recordings. The clarity of the vocals on some of the tracks are a revelation. Matt's diction was always splendid, but some recordings were so wet with reverb on some of the late 70s recordings that you would never have known it. Well, this has now been corrected by this disc. Excellent all round. As far as the recent EMI break up of assets is concerned: yes, it's dreadful in terms of future projects. My disappointment, however, is assuaged by the fact that Michele and Richard have been so industrious in the last 10 years providing us with so many excellent additions to Matt's CD catalogue. For that I am truly grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Something Special' - Alternate Monro., 28 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. M. Down "Marian Down" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternate Monro (Audio CD)
Another excellent CD. Of the same outstanding quality we have come to expect from the special talents of Richard Moore of Mint Audio Restoration, and thanks to the combined research, enthusiasm and shear hard work of Michele Monro and Richard together, they have triumphed once again.
This is `something special' though! A CD to please the regular seasoned Monro followers, as well as newcomers, and those that have a fine tuned ear to hear the differences from the original recordings to the rarities of this previously unreleased material, superbly mastered on this disc.
An excellent informative booklet explains each track in order, making this an interesting journey through the story of each song, as well the pleasure that the so familiar voice and music takes you to.
Surely this is a truly unique chance to add these songs in this rare form to your Matt Monro collection.
Make sure you don't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 16 Sep 2013
By 
M. A. Dunnington (Stourbridge, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternate Monro (Audio CD)
Thank you so much Michele Monro - without you we would have nothing left of your father's legacy.
This CD is outstanding!! 27 alternative takes of his great performances and at a ridiculously cheap price - my Amazon invoice said £4.76 but I see now the CD is only £3.76 on the Amazon site.
Different vocal performances, different orchestrations - some include mistakes - but you would be hard pressed to hear them.
A really joyous CD - again thank you Michele Monro!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb CD, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternate Monro (Audio CD)
We have thoroughly enjoyed listening to every track on this remarkable CD. Matt Monro has the finest voice that this country has ever produced and this CD definitely bears this statement out.

To anyone who isn't familiar with Matt's music we would recommend you buy this CD and we guarantee you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alternate Monro, a sheer delight of endless light., 6 Oct 2013
By 
A. Martin "Warzie8" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternate Monro (Audio CD)
First of all Joe Public here is going to think, "Another Matt Monro album/compilation", and "Why?". Well let me answer these two questions for you.

Thanks to recent discoveries in vaults and archives, this compilation can exist.

This CD, Alternate Monro may have the hits you've grown to know and love over the years. As the name suggests however these are takes that didn't make the final cut. Some in my opinion are equal if not better than the finished article. Testimony to Matt's incredible diction and the perfectionist he was, every song here is note and pitch perfect. Even if these are takes that Matt probably never expected to see the light of day.

All credit must go to the Monro estate and in particular Richard Moore who has been remastering Matt Monro records for some years now. Each track which has been carefully restored puts a lot of today's recordings to shame. Needless to say, the sound quality on a couple of recordings is slightly lacking. Notably Born Free and Georgy Girl. The problem here is only so much remastering can take place before a record sounds too artificial and weak. The odd crackle and pop here and there almost accompanies the warmth you hear your speakers. However all can be forgiven such is the delight of hearing Matt in his usual fine voice accenuating each note as smooth as silk. Let me just say though that these imperfections only take place periodically and are purely due to the original master being in such a bad state that no remastering equipment will cure.

So overall this CD will be a worthy addition to any Matt Monro collection. But I would also like to add that even if you've never bought a single CD of this guy, give this one a try. You don't know what you're missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great album..., 7 Dec 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternate Monro (Audio CD)
What can I say? This really is a whole new album for me. I just happen to love alternative takes and so this was a must have. I must also add that hearing these songs with different arrangements and vocal treatments makes for a fascinating 78 minutes. In a way this Cd is like going to a Matt Monro concert and hearing him sing them all on the night and so it is a very special compilation. A great singer and remembered with great affection by his daughter Michele and sound wizard Richard Moore. Is the CD value for money...yes definitely. My only negative is the printing on the liner as I just cannot read some of it unless I get out a magnifying glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matt shows his gloss., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternate Monro (Audio CD)
Again, another collection from a singer with a truly golden, gifted voice. A pleasure to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alternate takes, same star quality, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternate Monro (Audio CD)
Matt Monro - surely one of Britain's greatest-ever musical exports - is here showcased singing alternate takes of some of his well-known hit recordings. A terrific release for Matt's many fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crooner, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternate Monro (MP3 Download)
Matt Monro sounds like Frank Sinatra when he sings he has a very good voice. The album is very good and the selection of songs on it are excellent I am very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Post-production excellence..., 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Alternate Monro (Audio CD)
Having purchased this on pre-order, kudos should go to the present-day man behind the desk Richard Moore.His ability to twist and manipulate his source material to create something for Everyman must be commended.Nobody else comes close...
Though,an interesting part is the comments made when there is no longer a right to reply as it is all on record.ha ha...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alternate Monro
Alternate Monro by Matt Monro
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews