Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars See no evil. Speak no evil. Hear no evil
First there was the LP (and possibly a cassette), then came the CD with extra tracks. Now there's the 'deluxe' three CD release. The question you're all asking yourselves is, "If I have the CD with bonus tracks and all the other releases with extra songs and that, is it worth getting this?" To wear out further an oft used cliché, at the end of the day only...
Published 13 months ago by Quiverbow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not classic Monkees.
Some good some not so. I always enjoy the Nesmith stuff and the bonus tracks are interesting. Mainly for collectors.
Published 18 months ago by P. L. Wightman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars See no evil. Speak no evil. Hear no evil, 22 May 2014
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instant Replay -Deluxe- (Audio CD)
First there was the LP (and possibly a cassette), then came the CD with extra tracks. Now there's the 'deluxe' three CD release. The question you're all asking yourselves is, "If I have the CD with bonus tracks and all the other releases with extra songs and that, is it worth getting this?" To wear out further an oft used cliché, at the end of the day only you can decide. But to help you with that decision, I pulled this from my collection to give my tuppence worth. (Bear in mind though that whilst it may seem expensive, it is imported from the U.S.A. where, with shipping, it will set you back the equivalent of about £41 - and maybe customs duty too.)

Though the tracks on here were all recorded before December 1968 when Peter Tork left, he appears on guitar on one song on the original 10-track release of The Monkees' seventh album (and first as a trio), and on a few more of the bonus tracks (including two vocals). In fact, all the songs are basically solo efforts with, bar fleeting occurrences, the instrumentation courtesy of top session musicians, some dating back to 1966.

Before getting to the music itself, a word on what it's packaged in. It's excellent. A 3D book style cover opens out to reveal a twenty-three page booklet with plenty of photos I've never seen, three individual CDs, again with nice rear images, and a picture sleeve 45 (ask your parents). To keep as close to the original LP as possible, the 16 bonus tracks on CD1 aren't listed on the reverse. That's what my guess is.

This single has acetate versions of 'I Go Ape' and '(I Prithee) Do Not Ask For Love' from the TV special, but I have yet to listen to these. It's a nice item to have. Of the 87 tracks on the CDs, 58 are unreleased, but don't think it's chock full of newly discovered songs. As with something like "Headquarters Sessions", a lot of what was previously unissued are a variety of takes of backing tracks, which I think makes all this worthwhile, but then I am a die-hard fan and, as you're reading this, maybe you are too. Excepting those backing tracks and the last five songs on disc three, the remainder consists of different mixes and/or alternate vocals. Those aforementioned five happen to be the complete versions of songs taken from the '68 television special and it's about time these were issued (different backing takes are heard elsewhere on this disc) but it's a shame the masters are no longer around.

One of the surprising things heard here is a fuzz guitar version of 'Through the Looking Glass' and a couple of original Jones penned songs, even though they are without vocals. Also, his 'You And I' is heard in an alien mix complete with drumstick intro and a weird, ear piercing, second organ; and it's not difficult to see why Nesmith wasn't satisfied with his alternate vocal to 'Carlisle Wheeling'. Even though Colgems stopped issuing true mono albums after the group's fifth such release, most of the tracks on this LP were originally mixed in this form and they make their début here, and they are distinct from their stereo counterparts.

What is surprising is the disparate musical styles from the sessions; the usual pop ('Me Without You') is mixed with a fusion of Broadway oriented tunes ('My Share Of The Sidewalk' and 'Changes''), incendiary and provocative lyrics ('Mommy And Daddy'), country rock (most things by Nesmith), R&B ('Rosemarie') and a bit of mini opera (Dolenz's 'Shorty Blackwell') to leave the listener wondering why it never worked. Maybe the problem was there was too much of a motley mix with what the group was now recording, albeit as individuals, which could have been another issue.

This isn't for the casual listener or someone investigating The Monkees, as there are better options for them as an introduction to the group. No, this is aimed squarely at the dedicated fan and collector who will lap this up simply because much of it is discernibly different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hard find.....but WHY?!, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
A. J. Dobb "DJ TONY" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Instant Replay (Audio CD)
This is a very good album by The Monkees, but it has been long deleted and is now sold at inflated prices. Why don't they just re-issue it so we can all enjoy it at a sensible price? Now wonder people engage in illegal downloading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not classic Monkees., 26 Dec. 2013
By 
P. L. Wightman (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instant Replay (Audio CD)
Some good some not so. I always enjoy the Nesmith stuff and the bonus tracks are interesting. Mainly for collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monkee's not on film, 14 July 2011
This review is from: Instant Replay (Audio CD)
The first monkees album after the Head film. Although Peter Tork had left by this point, it contains some of the songs from those sessions. My favourite monkee album & the direction I think they would have continued in, if they had been given a chance. shame! Although it would be hang back a little before purchase, as Rhino are re-releasing the Monkees back catalogue; so you should get it for half the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instant Replay -Deluxe- (Audio CD)
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A look at how times and music CHANGES, 13 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Instant Replay (Audio CD)
this album has some songs on that they did befor but re-recorded with a new twists its good not my favourite but i would recommend any monkees fan to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Instant Replay
Instant Replay by The Monkees
Buy MP3 Album£7.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews