Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
28
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2014
This is by no means a perfect movie but films are often considered as documents of their time, of the period in which they were produced and released in. Powder Room is certainly a document of our time that manages to capture subtly the effects social media and the 'selfies' craze has had on our culture in a post-feminist society. The film also manages to be funny and frank in its content, and present women who are not two-dimensional figures but people the audience can actually relate to. People need to see this undervalued and under-appreciated film. It will certainly divide audiences but nevertheless remains a truthful and humane portrait of modern, contemporary Britain.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 September 2015
What goes behind closed door of ladies toilets in the clubs of London (or indeed the world)? "Razor away! Now!" and many other weird, heartbreaking, hilarious, obscene, crazy and wonderful things. It is sex, drugs and rock'n'roll! The observations and philosophising on women's friendship is not really eye-opening, but the film is entertaining enough. You will cringe, you will laugh! Great ensemble! And with just over an hour, the film is an easy entertainment (not really sure that men will appreciate it, though!).

P.S. If you like that kind of thing, please check Bachelorette [DVD] - great fun!

P.P.S. Paige is hilarious.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
Primarily set in the ladies toilet of a nightclub. The main problem is the story and plot-line ... or rather the almost total lack of. The overwhelming feeling is that nothing is happening and you are waiting for the real story to start. Actually, in that sense, it is quite an accurate depiction of the bogs at a club - where all the action is taking place outside the door (i.e. not where the film is unfolding!).

Despite the lacklustre reviews, I foolishly watched this because the terrific Sheridan Smith is in it. She doesn't save it. As a middle-aged person I did find myself identifying with her character who hides-out in the loos for about 90% of the film, rather than suffer the painful clubbing experience.

To be fair, both Sheridan and her ensemble of fellow actors (almost entirely female) try very hard with a thin script. And then suddenly - nothing happened!! Lots of minor scenes never really build into anything resembling a story as a whole.

The larger than life (realistically miserable) perfume lady in the loos mutters barely a word throughout. You think that at any moment she will say or do something that will turn the tale on its head. She doesn't!

The overall feeling is one of queasiness. You feel almost drunk or high yourself in the increasingly scruffy battle-zone of the toilet (which actually never quite feels as dirty as a real toilet area in a club would).

Talking of 'reality'. This is clearly supposed to be a nightclub, and a DJ booth is mentioned, but all the music is supplied by a series of mediocre bands (do club-nights really consist of anonymous bands?) and also the rather excellent, if ironically named group, Fake Club (one of the saving graces of the whole film).

The tale reaches a climax with a big argument ... but then fizzles out without any interesting conclusions.

Perhaps this is indeed a very realistic depiction of an average night out for drunken 20-something women, but that doesn't make it very watchable or interesting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
Sadly this is a huge misfire for Sheridan Smith which seems a shame as she is so good. Its very stagey and its unconvincing as she wouldnt be friends with such a mixed bunch. The Winstone group of freinds are much nicer for a night out with. The Chaplin group are annoying
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 November 2015
A difficult watch if it had not been for the marvellous talents of Sheridan Smith who for me can do no wrong.
Anybody who has ever been out for "night out" will understand the movie but be prepared, it isn't a nice funny film. Humour is there but it's also dark and sometimes unpleasant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
bought this as we love sheridan, but it was rather vulgar and not as we expected.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Have to say I bought this because Sheridan Smith was in it. Its rubbish. Lame script and lame acting. Don't bother.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
I brought this on the fact i saw Sheridan Smith on Alan Carr chatty man talking about it and the advert they showed looked funny. when i watched it i was disappointed as i was excited to see it. It starts off great but gets a bit boring towards the end . I mean there's one or two funny bits but not much. A film you could probably watch once and maybe twice if you was bored but that's it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This film is so awesome! Sheridan and Jamie did really well (they always do)..One of my new fav films. Would 110% recommend
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Really enjoyed this. It's a great modern comedy with a nice bit of pathos. It almost made me cry at one bit. But I'm hard as nails so I never cry, obviously.

It arrived through the postbox. Easypeasy. Well packaged and quick delivery.

It seems pretty happy sitting on my DVD shelf as well.

I'd conclude by saying I'm a satisfied customer. Thanks amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)