Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best headset I have ever purchased
After buying headset after headset and having each pair just break after a month or 2 of use, even buying big brands like razer or razer and even razer, almost giving up and resorting to a separate microphone and headphone setup, I finally found the best ever!

Pros:
- Price, its 30 cheaper than the entry level razer product.
- design. IMHO they look...
Published 3 months ago by jay

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great while they still worked…
These were great (really fantastic sound, and very very comfortable) for all of a month… after which they developed a fault; seemingly a loose connection in the wire - as any slight movement of the wire and they cut out entirely. I tried to carry on using them despite this (they really are that good when they work!) but playing a game like Day Z knowing that the...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. Matthew E. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best headset I have ever purchased, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After buying headset after headset and having each pair just break after a month or 2 of use, even buying big brands like razer or razer and even razer, almost giving up and resorting to a separate microphone and headphone setup, I finally found the best ever!

Pros:
- Price, its 30 cheaper than the entry level razer product.
- design. IMHO they look better than every other headset on the market and they are not too ostentatious, just sleek and minimal.
- brand, corsair make great power supplies, cases, mice, keyboards, ram. Buying something from a company as reputable as corsair was a no brainer.
- functionality, everything just works, great bass, amazing mic sound quality (no buzzing etc) and very comfortable.

cons:
- not a braided cable.
- that is it, bloody razer has made me so picky.

TL;DR I should of put this at the beginning but eh I'm too lazy, basically sell your razer, buy corsair and with the change get yourself a mcdonalds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice headset., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been looking around for a new headset for some time and after careful consideration, I chose this one. I play a lot of games, such as World of Warcraft (a MMORPG) that at a higher level - for raids at least - requires teamwork and co-ordination. The mic is crisp and flexible and the lead provides a handy on/off button if you want to mute yourself.

Previously, I was using a USB 7.1 simulated surround sound which had its own driver. I found issues at the start when using programs such as mumble and vent, as there were many options as to which driver to use. This headset takes that 'multiple choice' driver interference out - it uses the 3.5mm jacks - plug it in and you're ready.

I'm no where near an expert in sound quality - but I have had some experience with different types of headset and I've found this to be the best so far; For a budget gaming headset it produces awesome sound, whether you're listening to music, in game or streaming a film.

The build of the headset is mainly plastic. The ear cups swivel for the perfect fit. They block out external noises nicely.
All in all - it's a nice headset - very good quality for your money. I recommend :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Bang For Buck., 2 Dec 2013
The Corsair HS30 delivers excellant results for the price you pay for them. The first thing to note is the build which is mostly all made of plastic however this isn't a bad thing as the money has gone into the speakers. These are 40mm drivers which reproduce great sound without making it too coloured, The around the ear, closed back design of the ear cups remove outside noise really very well. The noise cancelling microphone is also such a surprise in terms of it's sound quality and makes for good communication to fellow gamers without worrying about outside noise. The last thing to note is the on-line control is simple and easy to use and is attached to a 2.7m non-braided cable.
Overall... I almost cannot fault it, you do have to bare in mind that it is obviously a value orientated headset but delivers in terms of its performance. Thumbs up Corsair!

For a full unboxing & overview of this product as well as a microphone test, please check out my youtube channel video link below which you can copy and paste.

Link: http://youtu.be/AdRDOG0_WyA

I hope this has been informative.

Laurence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good gaming headset, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair Raptor HS40 USB 7.1 Comfortable Gaming Headset (Accessory)
The quality of sound is surprisingly good and I had no trouble getting it to work with my team speak application running in the background. My only negative is that the headset is a little heavy and the arch over my head hurts if I use it for too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great while they still worked…, 21 July 2014
This review is from: Corsair Raptor HS40 USB 7.1 Comfortable Gaming Headset (Accessory)
These were great (really fantastic sound, and very very comfortable) for all of a month… after which they developed a fault; seemingly a loose connection in the wire - as any slight movement of the wire and they cut out entirely. I tried to carry on using them despite this (they really are that good when they work!) but playing a game like Day Z knowing that the sound might go at any second if I don't sit perfectly still adds a level of fear and paranoia to that game which it definitely doesn't need more of :)

I had heard these headphones can be very delicate, but this has been to one LAN event and back, and then sat on my desk for a few weeks before breaking. Really quite disappointing as when it worked it was perfect. Just glad it died after the LAN party and not before, that would have been very inconvenient.

I'm giving it one star because they broke so soon, but I'd have given them a five up until last week :(

Any recommendations for alternative (and more durable) headsets would be appreciated…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great headset, really comfy, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair Raptor HS40 USB 7.1 Comfortable Gaming Headset (Accessory)
Is a really comfortable headset, i use this everyday for more than 3 hours a day and it is simply bliss, one thing i do note is the 7.1 surround sound was alittle hard to get used to to start with, but after a while i was all good, if your download the drivers for this headset it even gives you a option to bypass the &.1 surround sound if you please! one last thing is i can't hear my self when i talk which is purely preference for me as my last head set was a pair of turtle beach's Ear Force x12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great headset for the price!, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair Raptor HS40 USB 7.1 Comfortable Gaming Headset (Accessory)
Brilliant quality headset, great sound quality compared to my previous headset (Turtlebeach PX11). The 7.1 surround works amazingly well! The ear, and head pads are good quality, very comfortable compared to other headsets around this price, The overall build quality is good, and very strong. The speakers are very clear, even at high volumes, they use 40mm drivers, unlike the Vengeance line of Corsair headsets, such as the 1400, Which use 50mm Drivers, I can't actually notice all that much difference between 40mm and 50mm drivers. The material used on the ear pads gives amazing soundproofing, compared to other headsets. As you would expect from Corsair, There is not much to fault about this headset, The only thing that I can fault about the headset is the cable, Which is just a standard thickness, unexceptional non braided cable. Although, adding a thicker braided cable would mean higher prices, and this headset is meant as a 'budget' option for gamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Quality, 20 April 2014
By 
B. Jones - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corsair Raptor HS40 USB 7.1 Comfortable Gaming Headset (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Positives
1. Excellent quality for money.
2. Sound is great.
3. Comfortable and eliminates background sound.

Negative
1. At this price you cant complain.

I've tested the headphones with games such as Call of Duty and Battlefield , listened to music on itunes and watched movies.
I've also compared these headphones against my Seinheiser PC323D 7.1 surround sound headphones.
The Corsair Raptor headphones have performed excellently. They are well built with cushioned ear phones that are very comfortable and cut out a substantial amount of background noise such as a TV playing in the background.
The sound quality is clear and crisp. They have a built in microphone on a boom that is well built and not at all flimsy.
The volume control is on the usb lead and lights up with blue led lights.
These are a very good set of headphones for the price and out perform my Seinheiser set which cost substantially more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technically impressive headset and terrific value for money, 7 April 2014
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Corsair Raptor HS40 USB 7.1 Comfortable Gaming Headset (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The first thing I noticed about this headset was the very high degree of noise isolation provided by the beautifully cushioned circular earpads. These fully encompass your ears and cut out so much external noise that it's spooky!

So far so good. Next, plug in the USB connector (on the end of a generous 2-metre lead) and fire up some games. Wow! Audio has never sounded so good. With war games, where it's important to detect the direction of fire, these cans really come into their own. The channel separation and sense of depth is quite stunning. With a flight sim such as the excellent Rise of Flight, I noticed something I wasn't aware of before - that panning the view to left or right results in the audio being subtly enhanced in the direction of view. This truly adds to the sensation of being there. A lot of my older games will be given a new lease of life thanks to the Corsair Raptor - the creaking sounds as I took my U-Boat down to maximum depth in Silent Hunter III last night have never sounded more ominous. To really put this headset through its paces, you can easily download a 7.1 surround sound test file - you won't believe your ears!

But it's not just about gaming. As a Skype user and a fan of foreign language learning and voice recognition software, the high-specification microphone is an added bonus and ensures I will get a huge amount of use out of these versatile headphones. The in-line volume/mic control, gently illuminated by a blue LED, is a nice touch and very handy too.

Even though this is a big, chunky plastic headset, I found it remains very comfortable, even after prolonged use.

No PC gamer should be without one and I cannot recommend the Corsair Raptor highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good sound quality and comfort, 5 April 2014
By 
James Burnwood "JB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Corsair Raptor HS40 USB 7.1 Comfortable Gaming Headset (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a gaming headset for your PC but it can be used for other things. For example watching movies on your PC or just chatting. It's a stereo headset that simulates a 7.1 experience, and it does a pretty good job. It doesn't come with any instructions just the warranty info. It's a plug and play device via USB and will install itself when you plug it in. Make sure you download the software from the website that controls all the levels etc. It's comfortable to wear and looks quite stylish for a big headset. The mic is noise cancelling so it will only pick up your voice from the mic and nothing else, quite useful for the people listening on the other end. Some people might say to spend a bit more for something higher spec, as this is the budget option but it is very good quality and should do the job. It really is comfortable to wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews