Customer Reviews


987 Reviews
5 star:
 (702)
4 star:
 (140)
3 star:
 (80)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This, with 4 beers and a pizza
Is it as good as the final book? No. So don't set your expectations too high.

That said, it's a blummin good watch. Miles better than part one. At just over two hours it fizzed by and I was thoroughly entertained. Okay there are several dodgy accents and I'm still not certain that Daniel Radcliffe will ever be another Laurence Olivier, but there's something for...
Published on 4 Dec. 2011 by Marteno

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rushed adaption..even with the two parts!
I have only read up to book five of the Harry Potter series (abandoning it several years ago due to finding the books too childlike and copies of far better literature from our past), but have come back to the films to see them to the end. Being aware of some of the things that take place in the Deathly Hallows (namely the deaths that filled my Facebook homepage), I knew...
Published on 8 Jan. 2012 by Louise


‹ Previous | 1 299 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This, with 4 beers and a pizza, 4 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Is it as good as the final book? No. So don't set your expectations too high.

That said, it's a blummin good watch. Miles better than part one. At just over two hours it fizzed by and I was thoroughly entertained. Okay there are several dodgy accents and I'm still not certain that Daniel Radcliffe will ever be another Laurence Olivier, but there's something for everyone. There's heroism, comedy and action aplenty. Plus, it ties up the entire saga with a nice little bow.

Put the beer on ice, order the pizza, put your feet up and enjoy.

My only production gripe is that it's a bit gloomy, which I am led to believe is a result of being filmed in 3D for the cinema. But, what the heck, after the first beer you won't care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rushed adaption..even with the two parts!, 8 Jan. 2012
I have only read up to book five of the Harry Potter series (abandoning it several years ago due to finding the books too childlike and copies of far better literature from our past), but have come back to the films to see them to the end. Being aware of some of the things that take place in the Deathly Hallows (namely the deaths that filled my Facebook homepage), I knew roughly what the storyline was before watching the last two films - but in effect, I was following it as a film story without actually knowing the main plot. I can see how the films can be effective if you have read the books, but as films in themselves they are somewhat lacking, difficult to follow and incredibly rushed.

In spite of the last book being split into two films, no moment was lingered on for more than a few minutes (the death of one of the twins was barely referred to and even Voldemort being defeated was hardly very dramatic or celebratory) and it really felt as if the film makers were trying to stick to the books so much that they were ticking off each moment as they managed to cover it, without considering how the plot would seem to those watchers following the films rather than reading the books first. It must be difficult to adapt Harry Potter into films particularly with such loyal fans being ready to criticise any minor deviation from the written stories - yet I feel that for the Deathly Hallows particularly, they should have based the film on the book but not attempt to shadow it completely so that everything is rushed and not truly effective. The awkwardness of any love scenes is also cringe worthy, and the kiss between Ron and Hermione doesn't even show their faces - we just get to see Ron's hair!

I did enjoy the film but it could have been produced in a far better manner, so that it was a story in its own right rather than sticking so closely to the book that it is difficult to follow for new watchers. If you are an avid fan, then I'm sure this will not disappoint. (Although perhaps the lack of dramatics spent on each heartfelt moment from the book will be slightly irritating.)

Other than that, it is a good way to spend an evening, as every Harry Potter film is easy to watch and does leave you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


571 of 643 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And So It Ends: a look back at why Harry matters, 16 July 2011
By 
Paul Campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When all is said and done - when the eye candy special effects of Quidditch matches and fantastical creatures has been superseded by advances in technology in Hollywood blockbusters yet to come - it is the little moments that this viewer and his wife will return to.

When a friend one time bemoaned the fact that `Half-Blood Prince' gets bogged down in pointless hormonal teen-angst instead of getting on with the story, I smiled... and shook my head.

No, I said, that IS the story and it's what I love about the Harry Potter series: it never loses track of the characters. It never forgets that, when viewed as a whole, these eight movies are a story of growing up, of the transition from childhood to adulthood. Of love and friendship and death. Because without those little funny and touching moments between the characters - if all you want is for the movies to rush from one plot element to another - then all you're left with is plot... and no story. Remember: plot is what happens TO the characters; story is what happens AS A RESULT of the characters.

That's the real gorgeous beauty of these movies, and it's what will bring viewers back repeatedly to their DVD shelves. As Frodo said to Sam in `The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers': "What are we fighting for Sam?" "That's there's still some good in this world," Sam replies, "and that it's worth fighting for."

That's why you need those little indulgent moments, because without them it's just razzle-dazzle special effects and set-pieces. Harry and Ginny's first kiss: they're in the Room of Requirement and Ginny tells Harry to close his eyes while she hides Professor Snape's copy of Advanced Potion Making. And before Harry opens his eyes Ginny leans forward, kisses him and whispers, "That can stay hidden up here too, if you like." That, my fellow Muggles, is pure movie gold. That's what the characters are fighting for. Love. Yes, the PLOT concerns itself with good triumphing over evil, but that only comes to pass as a result of the STORY which is about friendship. Because that is something worth fighting for.

It's why the film adaptation of Philip Pullman's astonishing trilogy, `His Dark Materials', is an utter failure: `The Golden Compass' movie rushes from one plot element to another: and THEN we go here, and THEN we go there. Never slowing down to allow the characters TO BE characters. What are they fighting for? Well, nothing the viewer could care less about...

Ultimately, all of this success comes about because of the brilliant way in which the author J.K. Rowling has constructed her seven-volume storyline. See, `The Chronicles of Narnia' are good - very good - but in the end don't quite fully succeed, and this is because the author, C.S. Lewis, had never envisioned them as a series: `The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' was originally intended by the writer to be a one off. As thoroughly enjoyable as the three Narnia movies are, there is no through-story like Rowling's Harry-Voldermort. Indeed, over the course of the three Narnia movies even some of the Pevensie children themselves become side characters. And although that was entirely the point - part of the plot - in the end it harms the story. It dilutes what the characters are fighting for. It weakens its forcus.

Look at the Harry Potter series: viewed in hindsight it's not just the story of teenage friendships, for it also presents an astounding portrayal of one man coming to be viewed in the end entirely differently by the viewer. Professor Snape. What an astonishing character arc - and yet Rowling had it all there, right from the beginning: Snape using a counter-curse against Professor Quirrell to save Harry during the first movie's Quidditch match. Wait, isn't Snape the bad guy?! We're made to wonder, right from that first movie all the way through to the revelations of the eighth. `Narnia' has nothing on that. It's clear that Rowling has thought her seven-volume story through like a military operation: the first four books may have come out only a year apart, but the author had begun planning them seven years before the first one was ever published.

And the friendships, that's all there too. Look at the Ron-Hermione moments seeded throughout the entire movie series. Harry and Hermione are just good friends, thus all the unself-conscious hugs she gives him. Yet there is a physical tension - a conscious awareness of each other - between her and Ron. At the end of `Chamber of Secrets' Hermione flings her arms around Harry... but, both of them equally awkward and embarrassed, Ron and Hermione only shake hands. In `Prisoner of Askaban' during Hagrid's first lesson with Harry cautiously approaching Buckbeak, Herminone grabs Ron's hand, before quickly letting go, both of them looking around uncomfortably. All, finally, converging in Hermione's emotional outburst at the end of the Yule Ball in `Goblet of Fire' where (like a soul crying out `Look at me!') she says, "Next time there's a Ball, pluck up the courage to ask me before somebody else does - and not as a last resort!" And in another moment of movie gold, Harry and Hermione comforting each other on the steps in Hogwarts, unable to be with the one they want. "How does it feel, Harry, when you see Dean with Ginny?" After Hermione sends her bird charms crashing into the wall beside Ron and Ron flees, Harry replies, "It feels like this."

It's why `Half-Blood Prince' is one of my favourite instalments: not only is it the calm before the storm of the seventh and eighth movies but it allows the characters' friendships to come to fruition. `Half-Blood Prince' does not become sidetracked, far from it. You need that, because that is the story. It's what I love about it: yes, they're wizards and witches but the film makers never lose sight of the fact that they're also young adults going through the most important transitional period of their lives. These movies aren't about fantastical magical events inconveniently interrupted by mushy teenage moments. Instead they're precisely all about those ordinary, everyday teenage moments, played against the backdrop of incredible events. Those amazing events only occur at all because of who the characters are; it's only natural that the plot should play second to the story of their lives. Because they are what truly matters. Because they, as Sam would put it, "Are worth fighting for."

As if that wasn't enough, as if the story of Harry-Ron-Hermione (and, indeed, Snape) isn't in itself reason enough to revisit this whole series, Rowling has also given us an amazing supporting cast of characters. All too often in a series, all the characters outwith the main group rarely hold a reader's/viewer's attention for long. And yet Rowling has created not one single boring character, and what an amazing supporting cast they are: the Dursley, the Weasleys, the Malfoys, Hagrid, Dobby, Sirius, Bellatrix, Luna Lovegood, Neville Longbottom, and on and on. In fact, one of Rowling's most inspired moves, and certainly a wonderful way of keeping things fresh, was to continuously have a new colourful character each year as the Professor of the Dark Arts. Glideroy Lockhart, Remus Lupin, Mad-Eye Moody, Dolores Umbridge. Not to forget the delightful potions master from `Half-Blood Prince', Horace Slughorn, or the Professor of Divination, Trelawney. Then, too, you have the caretaker Argus Filch, the ghost Nearly Headless Nick. Well, you get the idea. Quidditch, the Ministry of Magic, the Dementors. The richness of the world Rowling has created is so rewarding that I can't ever imagine tiring of it.

Watching these characters - and, indeed, the actors - grow up before us is fascinating. I love the fact the first two movies are kids movies; there's no hint, really, of what lies ahead. Until, of course, you get to `Prisoner of Askaban'. Even the naysayer film critics sat up at that one and said, "Hey, hold on a minute..." From the fifth film onwards these were no longer merely kids' movies. It's what accounts for their immensely broad appeal: children will watch them for the action and special effects, teenagers and adults for the humour and the series' growing depth. Even the opening titles change as the story darkens: from bright gold in the first few movies to chipped and crumbling grey stone.

Viewed as one 1100+ minute über-movie the achievement is nothing short of remarkable.

Thank you, Rowling.

And thank you Warner Bros and the cast and crew for the ten-year visual journey of these marvellous books that you have taken my wife and I on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIGHTNING HAS STRUCK,, 10 Sept. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Perhaps this is the best place to review the series as well as the last installment. We have seen Daniel Radcliffe mature from a fairy bad actor to one that is fairly convincing, particularly in his standing up to Aberforth Dumbledore. Emma Watson has gone from awkward kid who wore her emotions on her sleeve to Maxim's top 100 Hottest women. The passing of Richard Harris was a major let down to the series as Michael Gambon couldn't really fill his shoes. The most interesting and complex character was that of Snape. Alan Rickman made the series with his portrayal. The casting of the quirky minor characters made the story most enjoyable, all the way down to Mrs. Fink. Rowling's use of classical mythology, astronomy and the occult made the series an incredible educational experience. One of my favorite characters was the under used Luna Lovegood. She was a breath of fresh air.

The direction of Chris Columbus was by far the best as well as the screen adaptations, which more closely followed the books. Starting with the third installment, the audience got short changed (There, I said it) especially those who didn't read the books...such as myself. This wasn't a bad thing as it led to a bonding with my niece who did read the books and I would take her to the films so she could explain them to me. Like Hermione, she is one of those "insufferable know-it-alls" who loves to let you know what she knows. (Good luck with that brain surgeon thing.)

In this final episode, the gang of 3 go after the remaining Horcrux(s) which are now easier to locate than in the last 2 films. This one follows the later films in that it lacks the humor of the earlier ones.

The movie, like the series drives home the ideas of teamwork, friendship, and courage. Goblins, spiders, troll, elves, death eaters, a dragon, and of course he who we do not speak. Personally, I would have done the ending differently, especially with Snape and Malfoy. But I don't want to discuss any possible plot spoilers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As the marketing says, The Magic will last..., 22 Sept. 2011
Regardless of your views on Harry Potter as a whole or whether this film really does this literary phenomenon justice (on balance it does), there can be no doubt that this is a great climax to one of the great cinematic challenges. There will always be a debate about the place of J.K. Rowling's novels and their film adaptations in the wider pantheon of literary and film history. But if one wants a true measure of how good this series has been, they should simply ask: what would the world be like if Harry hadn't been helped out of his cupboard?

I know that the answer is: poorer! The first novels that I read were the first two Harry Potter books. And to a child at the age of 6, as I was then, what wasn't there to like about a downtrodden young boy who discovers that he is a wizard and is whisked away to a magic school by a giant man? That is the magic of this series. Long after the special effects have been superseded and there has been a disastrous (American) attempt at remaking the films, it will be the stories that remain with us. We all want to be Harry, Ron or Hermione because we can relate to them. We believe that we can have Harry's courage, Ron's heart or Hermione's fierce loyalty and skill because we have experienced their emotions alongside our own. That is the reason for the success of these novels and films: We could just as easily imagine ourselves as the subject.

But enough of the nostalgic yearning for my childhood, this film was the perfect send off for this particular series. As someone who prefers the books over the films anyway, there are obviously things which should have had more emphasis! My mind instantly drifts to the sidelining of Ron and Hermione. I thought that "Half- Blood Prince" and "Deathly Hallows: Part 1" had built up their burgeoning feelings for each other really well. But after all that good work, their much anticipated kiss just seemed to arrive out of nowhere in this film, rather than springing from another one of those excellent little sub- plots which make the novels so good. But considering the amount of stuff that needed to be fitted in, it was good effort. Also, the King's Cross scene was a let down, as Dumbledore explains pretty much nothing and leaves me wondering why Harry isn't dead. Although, having read the books endlessly, this was self explanatory. Also the Epilogue feels just as clumsy in this film as it does in Rowling's novel. It spoils the magic of the ending. As others have also picked up, the producers seemed to have decided that, as it's the last film, let's blow up as much of Hogwarts as we can.

However, lets look at the positives. I think that the leads did well in this film; and whatever people say about their acting at various stages, Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint and Emma Watson will always be Harry Potter, Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger. But the real star turn, as in the novel, comes from Severus Snape. Alan Rickman really steals the show, as he has done throughout the series. We have loved to hate this man for the last decade on screen, but the superb execution of "The Prince's Tale" leaves us feeling as devastated as Snape himself is when he learns that Lily Potter is dead. I think we all shed a tear for the incredible sacrifices that he made, as much as Rickman's superlative performance. Maggie Smith is as imperious as ever as Minerva McGonagall, whilst Helena Bonham Carter is sublime as the wildly cunning Bellatrix Lestrange. Ralph Fiennes simply exudes menace whenever he is on screen as our irredeemable villain, Lord Voldemort. He takes on a rather muted role here, strangely, although I do think that the way in which the menace of Voldemort is portrayed in the novels is almost impossible to bring to the big screen. The scene in the Forbidden Forest with the Resurrection Stone is also a brilliant emotional journey.

The special effects are excellent as one might expect, especially when the magical protection is created around Hogwarts, to then be destroyed by Voldemort in fury. Alexandre Desplat's score is also superb and really reflects the subtle moods and nuances of the story. If one good thing came out of the Epilogue, it allowed Desplat to use the brilliant "Leaving Hogwarts" theme for the last time! As a film, I think that David Yates has done a great job. This was probably the biggest challenge in film. Almost everyone had an opinion on how it should be done, along with the added pressure from Warner Brother's to make this film palatable for all ages, in order to maximise potential income from their most lucrative franchise. Left to their own devices, this film could easily have been a 15. For those who think that a lot of the humour is missing, then they are probably right. However, it is harder to establish this in a film. The Potter series doesn't really do black humour, so many of the jokes or asides in the novel just wouldnt fit the tone. I think the result would have been worse if the producers had attempted to shoe- horn the humour in.

All in all, it has been a magical journey since I first picked up "The Philosopher's Stone as a 6 year old. As the credits rolled on this film, I suddenly realised that there was no more Harry, no more vestige of my childhood, to come. But then I thought that it doesn't really matter that there will be no more "new" adventures. The magic of the series, its values of courage and loyalty and friendship, will live on. And naturally, we will always want to go to Hogwarts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very solid, exciting climax to a series at its peak, 25 Feb. 2012
As a huge fan of the darker less 'twee' potters like 'The Order of The Phoenix', I was thrilled by this entry. It continues the building threat towards Harry and his gang, really stacking up the odds against them in such a way that you wonder if there's any chance for them to win, and frequently pushing those odds over the edge and then clawing them back again in the way that all the best and most exciting thrillers manage.
Radcliffe and all of the cast are at the top of their game, now fully comfortable in their roles and without a duff card in the pack. Feinnes oozes menace - and even a little fleeting vulnerability - as evil Lord Voldemort, and Bonham Carter gets a varied and deliciously mad role with more range than before.
The majority of the movie this time is taken up with mad dashes full of danger, vicious and spectacular fights with high stakes, and stunning special effects. On Blu-Ray it's a treat, and somehow even with richer mythology, a wide range of characters and a huge span of locations the film never loses its feeling of pace and focus.
A thrilling, accelerating, menacing and exciting film that barrels towards a highly satisfying climax. This is massively recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Act, 3 April 2014
It's only taken 3 years but, with a new DVD player, I feel I've finally seen this film properly (when we saw it at the pictures, when it came out, we had a nearly empty cinema with a family of six right behind us, and the five year old explaining the concept of cinema to the three year old. I'd have said something but was afraid of being shot).

It's very good. Right from the first (ish) shot of Snape staring down over Hogwarts, with the students marching in Stalinist blocks. My only regret with the whole thing (I think) is that the Carrows make such a poor showing.

And the far more grown-up emphasis is evident from the first scene in the cottage by the sea. Luna dispassionately stating that wind chimes do not keep evil at bay. The following exchange with Griphook and Olivander are shorn of the whimsical cadences with which adults like to frost a child's world. Griphook is cold-bloodedly mercenary, while Olivander is a broken man (Warwick Davies and John Hurt both on tremendous form) and Harry is no longer too young to tell Olivander 'You're lying', nor too nice not to at least consider double-crossing Griphook.

Of course the goblin is a double-dealing little git, who gets incinerated, and the whole Goblin species seems to lose credibility in Gringotts' treatment of that poor dragon, but part of the new Voldemort-era look of the bank is a modernising of all the old Victoriana, so they all now look, well, like C21 bankers. It's rather as if someone is making a point like 'Don't trust bankers cos they're just like the Goblins in this film'.

(One of my favourite moments is Helena Bonham-Corset playing Hermione disguised as Belatrix - it's very funny)

And from there it's off to Hogsmeade, and then into the school, and then into battle. The final moves of the story, pretty much as JKR wrote them in the book and all present and correct.

There will always be people to criticise the special FX, but they look great to me; I especially like the army of stone knights defending Hogwarts and the first barrage of spells breaking on the force field (or whatever they call it).

One of the commendable strengths of this is a lack of anything fun whatever in the battle scenes - there are no glorious charges, bold captures, heroic feats of martial prowess; while McGonagal arming the defences has undoubted style, and the army of evil is impressively huge, there is no pretence that war is anything other than horrible. The main characters that die do so off-screen - no noble deaths for Remus, Tonks or Fred, we just see the corpses, and the wounded. The horror of battle is finely preserved within the 12 Certificate - a difficult line to tread - and the final scene is Harry, Herione and Ron surrounded by devastation, rather than a Star Wars type victory parade - even so, it's hard not to punch the air and shout 'Yes!' when Molly Weasley finally disposes of Belatrix - mis-quoting Aliens in the process!

Narcissa Malfoy getting her son out of harm's way is also a nice moment (good job all round that Harry saved his life really); many strands of the story have a fierce maternalism woven into them somewhere.

The Hermione=Ron relationship just about works (I love it when she does the very Virgo thing of 'Oh, he got it right - he does listen to me after all!'), Matthew Lewis does excellent work as Neville, Evanna Lynch is still pleasingly of any world but this one as Luna, and it's nice to see Cho again.

Just a pity about Jamie Waylett - I'd have liked to have seen Crabbe turn on Draco at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows part 2 (3D), 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant in 3D, they should release the rest of the films in 3D it would be worth it for the special effects in them. If you have a 3D tv and blueray player and love HP get this you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great end to the Saga!, 20 Jan. 2012
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great value for money this DVD! Very good quality with the audio and visuals better than ever. Was dispatched quickly from Amazon and came well packaged within a few days..the best bit was delivery was free of charge!! As for the movie, you will struggle to find the DVD cheaper any where else and for a Potter fan you'll simply love it!

RECOMMENDED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Harry Potter, but what's with the blurring?????, 4 Dec. 2011
By 
F. Smith (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge Harry Potter fan and very much enjoyed the film version of the book - apart from one small aspect: All the way through the film there was occasional blurring or juddering (nothing to do with the plot or the acting). I don't know what aspect of the production is to blame for this but it was distracting. I didn't see the film at the cinema so I don't know if this has only affected the DVD version.
Oh well. I still cried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 299 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews