Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable and thought provoking sequel to Nexus
I picked up the Kindle version of Crux about 20 seconds after finishing Nexus, Ramez Naam's first novel and precursor to Crux.

The world created by Naam in Nexus and finely continued in Crux is thoroughly enjoyable as a thriller with great action and very film like drama. I cared about these characters, their journeys and development and had to know what...
Published 11 months ago by D. A. MCCREADY

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story with strong characters.
Full credit to the author for creating a fascinating scenario populated with strong characters and interesting dialogue. I do, however, think the editor let him down rather badly.
Published 3 months ago by Skallagorm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable and thought provoking sequel to Nexus, 19 Sep 2013
By 
D. A. MCCREADY (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I picked up the Kindle version of Crux about 20 seconds after finishing Nexus, Ramez Naam's first novel and precursor to Crux.

The world created by Naam in Nexus and finely continued in Crux is thoroughly enjoyable as a thriller with great action and very film like drama. I cared about these characters, their journeys and development and had to know what happened to them (I still do and am looking forward to a 3rd novel in the series).

What sets this apart from most hard sci-fi is that while being very accessible in a ripping yarn sort of way, it's also positing and considering some very strong ideas about the near future of humanity. The character's journeys take us into a world on the threshold of change, in part created by the characters, and in other ways shaping the characters actions and beliefs. A world where the consideration of what it is to be human is examined in a nuanced manner all the while entertaining and thrilling but also still very much related to the time we live in now.

If you could slow your ageing would you? If you could strengthen your body and adjust it to your liking would you? If you could augment you brain through the use of technology would you? If you did these things at what point would you stop being human, becoming trans-human or even post-human? Do these labels really even matter? If two minds could be connected together would this be somehow evil or perhaps the most perfect of technologies, finally allowing people to really understand each other. What if one of those minds could control the other, making them become a slave? If you could re-programme someone to stop them hurting others, would that be right?

Very cleverly wrapping the ideas in his non-fiction book "More Than Human: Embracing the Promise of Biological Enhancement" around a solid plot and set of characters, even as a page turner I felt that I was thinking about the book when I wasn't reading it and wishing that the world and it's ideas would get here a bit sooner. Even with the downsides pointed out in the book, the upsides to my mind would be incredible.

Perhaps as importantly, I really liked the people I was reading about. Naam's wit and timing help to roll the story along. There's plenty of action and adventure and if you enjoyed Neal Stephenson's Reamde, then I'd say you're sure to enjoy Nexus and then even more so Crux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't wait for the next chapter!, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read Nexus (brilliant) and immediately downloaded Crux. Exciting, inspiring and very believable. The author has a great understanding of tech, organic systems and human nature, and crosses it all over wonderfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a worthy sequel, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You always feel a bit apprehensive as you open a sequel for the first time - will,to be a s good as the first? This most certainly is. phew! Can't wait for the 3rd now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Nexus (1), 30 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again, a very good read. Good high-pace action, drama and a very interesting basic plot. Thought provoking and as yet unresolved. Looking forward to Nexus 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book can't wait for the next instalment , not really the normal kind of book I read but glad I did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like thrillers and futuristic novels Nexus and Crux are well worth reading. It is fast paced and the author builds empathy for characters well, explores human relationships, and allows readers to see how misconceptions and partial information can pit people who should/could be on the same side against each other.

While the technology may not be there already, some of the moral questions it raises alreay exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story with strong characters., 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full credit to the author for creating a fascinating scenario populated with strong characters and interesting dialogue. I do, however, think the editor let him down rather badly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the matrix....., 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You will love this!! Nexus and Crux are both brilliantly realised books. All you could want from a techno thriller- conspiracy, new technology, evil criminals, mind jacking and some quality set piece battles. This and the predecessor should be movies now!! Bring on the next part of the epic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frightening and convincing, 14 May 2014
By 
Mr. B. Norton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A chilling, and intelligently expressed, view of post-humanity as minds are freed from bodies. All too plausible reaction by governments and their secret services.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most provocative book ever. Involves, stretches the mind, challenges the normal moralities forces one to accept possibilities all within a fast moving action packed thriller. Not yet at the height of story telling defined by Asimov and Iain M Banks but who knows what will come soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews