Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up a gear
For the vast majority of TV series there is an unavoidable law of diminishing returns so that by the 3rd series the interest is often lost. Only the savvy few adapt enough & have good enough scriptwriters to last the course.
The first 2 seasons of DH were fun & interesting enough to keep you watching. Season 3 was always going to have to up the ante if audience...
Published on 20 Sep 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Do the writers really dislike women this much?
I have never watched a series that highlights so many negative personality traits - most of which belong to the women in this show.

I have to ask if the writers have a problem with females since the "stars" are manipulative, shallow, dishonest and controlling. I understand that the originator based this series on his mother - boy do I pity him and I also think...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by H. Richards


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up a gear, 20 Sep 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
For the vast majority of TV series there is an unavoidable law of diminishing returns so that by the 3rd series the interest is often lost. Only the savvy few adapt enough & have good enough scriptwriters to last the course.
The first 2 seasons of DH were fun & interesting enough to keep you watching. Season 3 was always going to have to up the ante if audience interest was to be maintained. So it is we are presented with far tougher story lines than seen in either of the previous 2 seasons. Toms daughter & her mother become a real problem as he & Lynette open a pizza restaurant, Carlos & Gabrielle's marriage ends, Bree finds herself imbroiled in all sorts of gran guignol style scenarios thanks to the new man in her life,(a brilliant turn from Kyle Mclaughlan as the spineless yet creepy mothers boy Orson),. New characters crop up, (Dougray Scott the only irritating performance as the wooden new man in Susans life Ian),.
As ever with DH the writers are not afraid to shake things up and so several characters meet with swift & unexpected ends. The standout episode is 'Bang' where a deranged jilted wife takes hostages in the local supermarket. This episode really illustrates how things have been 'moved up a gear', it's funny yet still shocks. This series is far more gruesome than those before yet is still very funny and above all the five main ladies continue to dominate.
The main themes of love, hate & the consequences of deception remain the central thread running through Desperate housewives. The pace my have changed but this remains a very likable programme that has still not outstayed it's welcome.
The sound is fine and the picture is excellent even if the colours are somewhat oversaturated,(giving Wisteria lane a kind of 'land of Oz' type feel),.
The extras look good but are a little bland. The deleted scenes are okay but the breakdown of the final episode is not much and the picking of his favourite episodes by Marc Cherry is just self indulgent filler.
Never mind it's the series that matters and this one doesn't fail to deliver as Bree, Susan, Lynette, Gabrielle & Edie continue to struggle to keep their composure through lifes misshaps to the sound of Mary Alice's smug commentary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 5 Jun 2007
By 
D Jones (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Well, we all thought it had declined in quality during Season 2 but with Season 3, Desperate Housewives is back to its old self and perhaps, is better than ever before. Witty, silly, dramatic, mysterious, complex, dark and shocking - this show has it all. It sort of went a bit lame during the second half but the ending of the season makes up for all that - it is simply the most shocking final scene ever and leaves you wanting more guaranteeing you'll be back for Season 4. If you haven't seen it yet, or simply want to relive it all again, then pre-order this box-set. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 July 2007
I have watched Desperate Housewives since the 1st series. It is a really compelling series, season three has to be the best though. Alot of things happen in this series, murder, teen pregnancy, marriage, divorce, suicide and a dramatic hostage situation. I have got to say this series was brilliant and I would recommend it for people who love interesting plotlines filled with romance, tragedy and hilariousness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
arrived on time, well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love desperate housewives. this was an excellent series, kept me gripped throughout. cant wait to watch the whole collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like desperate housewives and it had been a while since I'd watched them all. Once the 8th series had ended I decided to buy all the boxsets, used, and watch them all again, along with my flatmate who had never seen them. It is, by far, my favourite programme EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How could you not?, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Silly stuff, but very entertaining loved the plotlines and still good into season three. Definately recommed staying with the series. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My family was hooked on this series and watched it all, very entertaining and good value for money as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 April 2013
I was very happy with my purchase And the person I brought it for loved it too!! Great condition and works perfectly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 'easy' tv, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to watch while ironing. I wanted something 'mindless' to pass the time, but now I'm really hooked and have to make sure I do actually iron! More unexpected plot twists than previous series so good to keep you hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bang
Bang by Larry Shaw
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews