Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make it wonderful
With 'Snow Globe' Erasure deliver a seasonally-themed album of carols and classic Christmas songs, plus a handful of new compositions. Over the thirteen tracks, Vince Clarke's music is stripped right back, presenting an enticing pallet of warm, electronic minimalism. With this sparse backing, Andy Bell's wistful and soaring vocals are given plenty of space to shine,...
Published 15 months ago by GWM

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm Dreaming of a Synth Christmas
Overall, I did enjoy the new Erasure album. It is a bit of a mixed bag, though.

There are 5 new songs, which sound very much like `normal' Erasure songs and on first listen, not that seasonal/festive.

Where it works well, is on the older carols. Andy's voice and the minimal electronic backing sound effective. Silent Night is very nice, there is a...
Published 15 months ago by Neilo


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make it wonderful, 20 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Snow Globe (Audio CD)
With 'Snow Globe' Erasure deliver a seasonally-themed album of carols and classic Christmas songs, plus a handful of new compositions. Over the thirteen tracks, Vince Clarke's music is stripped right back, presenting an enticing pallet of warm, electronic minimalism. With this sparse backing, Andy Bell's wistful and soaring vocals are given plenty of space to shine, really cementing the heart and soul of the album.

Though there are a couple classic Erasure-style pop stormers ('Loving Man' and 'There'll Be No Tomorrow')- which could easily add sparkle to any Christmas party- many of the tracks featured here have a darker and almost eerie tone ('Sleep Quietly' and 'Bleak Midwinter'). However, you'll be pleased to know that nothing gets so sombre that you're left crying into your eggnog. Among the tracks there are also moments of quirky and refreshing experimentation: 'The Christmas Song' is rendered as an 8-bit chip tune and 'White Christmas' features vocals recorded live in a subway (complete with background ambience). A special mention should also to go to 'Gaudete', which turns a sixteenth century, Latin-sung carol into a no-nonsense electro stomp, complete with spectacular vocal harmonies and ominous, bell chimes.

If you want a Christmas album that has a traditional flavour, but with a slightly alternative twist, then 'Snow Globe' is definitely worth a purchase. Even if you're the sort of listener who avoids this sort thing, there's still plenty to enjoy beyond the Christmas motifs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing !, 11 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Snow Globe (Audio CD)
Dark, minimal and melodic ... just what i'm waiting for Vince Clarke and Andy Bell.
Snowglobe returns to primary essence of Erasure musical art. Really, amazing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkly seasonal synth anthems, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Globe (MP3 Download)
Interesting range of opinions here - I agree that there hasn't been enough promotion of Erasure releases in recent years, but to be fair musical taste is so polarised these days that bands such as Vince and Andy's are only going to be of interest to those of us who first encountered them in their 'chart-straddling' pomp of the mid to late 1980s, when synth-pop was the up and coming thing and when the pop charts were relevant to a greater section of society than pubescent girls.

Anyway, Snow Globe is a welcome release - Andy Bell's brand of angelic soaring vocals is perfect for seasonal music, whilst Vince Clarke's noodlings have always been sheer quality. The new songs are all pretty strong, whilst the covers of Gaudete and White Christmas in particular are sublime. Clarke retains his ability to underscore ostensibly cheerful tunes with a brooding darkness, and Gaudete is practically sinister with its hypnotic rythmn and chiming bells. Yes there are a couple of forgettable tracks, but overall this is a return to form for the guys after a fallow few years, and a reminder of why they were so loved in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mix of the wonderful with a dab of the pap, 11 Nov. 2013
By 
D. Bloomfield "a music fan" (coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Globe (MP3 Download)
Some presents are hugely welcome whilst others can leave a bad taste in your mouth. I remember as a child getting hold of my Christmas sack and rummaging through it getting all my presents out and being aghast at the brilliance of what Santa had brought me.

This album reminds me of those days - the anticipation of the wait coupled with the quality of the tracks. The problem with this album is that it also reminds me of the fruit and nuts that were at the bottom of my Christmas sack; dry nuts that were difficult to crack and satsumas that were tasteless and slightly 'off'.

The album really is an EP. Five newly penned tracks of which three are excellent and two are utter pap. Bells Of Love, Make It Wonderful and Loving Man are high quality Erasure and any of these three could be singles. The other two - Blood On The Snow and There'll Be No Tomorrow do absolutely nothing for me and would have been track three of a 12" record in the heady days of hit-after-hit in the 1980's and 1990's. Hell - Blood On The Snow wouldn't have even made the grade as track three.

The rest of the album is made up of Christmas classics done in the Erasure-Style. Some of these are astoundingly beautiful or quirky whilst others shouldn't be on an album... Gaudete is a brilliant piece of 16th Century Latin pop, Silent Night is an incredibly sparse and stunning piece of Vince Clarke re-imagining whilst Bleak Midwinter is synth-rejigged to almost spotless effect with all three tracks creating the right notes for Andy Bell's sweet and occasionally soaring vocals. Midnight Clear is fantastic if a little short whilst White Christmas took me a good few listens until I understood what they were trying to do with it - they've darkened it considerably. I'm lost as to why The Christmas Song has found its way onto this CD as it spoils the atmosphere though...

For me, this should have been a half-and-half - three or four new tracks, a re-working of She Won't Be Home and a re-vamped Home (from Chorus) on 'side 1' and five or six classics re-imagined in the Erasure style on 'side 2' rather than the eight we have here. I've re-ordered the tracks myself, added She Won't Be Home, Am I Right? and Home to the mix and removed the pap! You're welcome to do the same if you wish!

As an aside - the re-working of God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen on the boxset is awesome and worth the massive amount of extra cash just for this version (plus the instrumental versions of Silent Night and White Christmas). Some of the synth work throughout is reminiscent of Vangelis at his very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loving Man being my favourite, but it's the classic Christmas songs that really ..., 9 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Snow Globe (Audio CD)
This isn't your usual tinsel and sleigh bells Christmas album. Thank goodness Erasure have taken a different approach to the classic songs covered on this album.

The original tracks on here are decent, classic Erasure sounding songs, Loving Man being my favourite, but it's the classic Christmas songs that really grabbed me on this album. The much darker, haunting take on the songs have made them unique, and beautiful. Silent Night and Bleak Midwinter almost bring me to tears with the superb vocals from Andy Bell and Vince Clarke's minimalist orchestration. Sleep Quietly could easily fit into any Tim Burton movie, such is it's quirkyness. Andy said that Silver Bells is a cover of the Jim Reeves version, and after hearing the record played for years by my father I can appreciate this slower, almost melancholic version. White Christmas was recorded in a subway station, and on hearing it I can't help but think this could be a homeless person singing it to himself, longing to be with family.

There's only one track I skip on this album....The Christmas Song. It's never been a favourite of mine, and this version does nothing to change that. The 8-bit music doesn't help the track in any way.

Apart from that , this album is one to listen to if you're in a quiet, reflective mood over the holidays, or if you're just fed up of hearing the same songs done the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Erasure then you'll love this!, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Globe (Audio CD)
Reviews about music are subjective to the reviewers taste - if you don't like Erasure then you probably won't like this! I however, love them and love this. It's basically their reworking of some Christmas carols and classics, with a couple of original songs thrown in. My particular favourites are 'Gaudette' and 'Silent Night', which I find eerily beautiful. I also bought Annie Lennox's Christmas album, and although I think she's a fabulous singer, I much prefer the Erasure offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trad. arr. Bell & Clarke, 11 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Globe (Audio CD)
A mixture of traditional Christmas songs and new Erasure tracks, all with the trademark Erasure sound. As another reviewer has said, this is quite a dark album. Rather than go for a bright, cheery sound, Andy and Vince have done a wonderful job of tempering the joy with offbeat rhythms, discordant bells and the arrangements trimmed down to the essentials. It makes the Christmas album that most artists release at some point in their careers rather different, and it works very well.

Interestingly, my favourite tracks on this CD are the traditional songs and carols that Erasure have arranged in their inimitable style. "Bleak Midwinter" has never sounded better. "Gaudete" is a good choice for a single, with Maddy Prior in the mix (must be a sample as she is not credited). I usually play A Tapestry of Carols when I put up my decorations, but this year, it'll be Erasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Globe (Audio CD)
I love this album. Especially the original Erasure songs and the cover of Bleak Midwinter. Personally I would have liked the cover artwork to have gone down a more serious and slick route (it looks like the cover of a karaoke album), but that's a minor gripe. Highly recommended. I've been listening to it all Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Christmas with an Erasure touch, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Globe (Audio CD)
If you love Erasure you'll love this album. The Festive songs all have that sound and feel that typically embody Erasure - imagine wanting to dance to Gaudete!! No? Believe
I listened to the samples and have to say I wasn't impressed - you have to get the album and listen to the tracks fully to appreciate them.
Such a lovely bit of fun for the festive season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Globe (Audio CD)
Just a beautiful combination of Andy, Vince and Xmas - fabulous. This is not just for Erasure fans, this is for everyone :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow Globe
Snow Globe by Erasure (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews