Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Blind Man's Bluff...
Great story, well told. Diplomacy is like a poker game sometimes. Always play your opponent, never your cards. The Breen don't stand a chance against Admiral Riker or the crew of the U.S.S. TITAN!! :-D
Published 8 months ago by Alex J Harman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All action, little character
I'm sad to say that this Star Trek Titan novella was something of a disappointment. Unlike other recent novellas from the Trek line, it's not a character-focused story but is heavily plot and action driven (like a weaker TNG episode) and doesn't really add anything to the overall Trek universe.

The plot follows Riker and his crewmates as they are randomly...
Published 8 months ago by Jim J-R


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way too short., 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies (Kindle Edition)
Disapointingly short. This story lacked depth for me and could have featured more plotlines running alongside the main narrative. Not STT'S strongest offering by a long shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies (Kindle Edition)
After the recent Fall series I was looking forward to see what was next for Will Riker and the crew of the Titan, but this was quite a letdown. The characterizations are off and there are a number of glaring mistakes when the author refers to past events which put me off straight away. Get this is if you are a want a complete collection only. Miller has been contracted to write a novel for next year featuring the crew of the Aventine, if its anything like this I'll give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All action, little character, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies (Kindle Edition)
I'm sad to say that this Star Trek Titan novella was something of a disappointment. Unlike other recent novellas from the Trek line, it's not a character-focused story but is heavily plot and action driven (like a weaker TNG episode) and doesn't really add anything to the overall Trek universe.

The plot follows Riker and his crewmates as they are randomly dispatched on a repair mission. There's a bit of a mystery to solve but by necessity the solution is hinted at so heavily that it's hardly a surprise when you reach the reveal. Some of the characters come across as having forgotten everything that's happened to them in recent stories, and that's a little frustrating.

Because of the action orientation of the plot, the story seemed to pass much more quickly than a character-driven tale of similar length, making it seem much shorter than other similarly-lengthed novellas, which was disappointing given the price. I'm not really an ebook person and so on the odd occasion that I'm forced into reading one so I don't feel I've missed out on something, I really want to feel it was worth it at the end - in this case I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not to the Normal trek novel standard, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies (Kindle Edition)
This Titan novel was a follow up from the fall series and was John Jackson Millers first jaunt into the Star Trek universe and to be honest It didnt really read well at all! His version of the characters seemed very different to most other authors, especially Captain Dax and the Aventine who could just have easily been replaced by just about any other ship. There were stupid errors as well, one characters was addressed as ensign when he was promoted to Ltnt junior grade in an earlier novel and the word teleport was used instead of beam. These are all small things however 99% of other recent trek books have always got this correct. It seems to me that the author has come in from the Star Wars universe and either not done the proper research or was just very sloppy. Apart from the very small mentions of events in the fall and the inclusion of the Aventine this is very much a stand alone title so this one could be skipped if necessary. Sadly I think the author should stick to the Star Wars Universe.

PS for those complaining about the length of the book .... Amazon make it very clear that this is an ebook, they even put the number of pages on the product page, so people shouldnt moan and give it lower stars due to the length of the novella
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entreating diversion, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies (Kindle Edition)
After the truly epic The Fall series I was intrigued too see where this Ebook would take the crew of the Titan. Unfortunately they don't manage to go anywhere exciting or get any major character or plot development for the larger story arcs in place. Very much a filler story that will entertain for a few hours and then be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies (Kindle Edition)
I have read quite a few Start Trek books and this is a notable drop in quality from the others i have enjoyed. The story tried to close a few of the glaring loopholes in a TNG episode that i wont name as it would give away some of the plot. In doing that it came across as clunky and ham-fisted.

The events in the book followed on directly from the 'Star Trek: The Fall' series, but aside from a few throwaway references at the start nothing was done to integrate the book into existing storylines.

The writing itself was fine (though the use of the word teleport will surely annoy trek fans), but the premise and plot were too weak to be saved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the other Titan books, 13 May 2014
By 
Emma C "Emma" (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies (Kindle Edition)
I've really enjoyed all the Star Trek Titan books to date but Absent Enemies left me cold. It needed fleshing out some more (seemed like it was lacking a B plot) and had a couple of obvious errors - in Star Trek they move from place to place by transporting but this was teleporting in at least one part of Absent Enemies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pants., 31 Mar 2014
By 
C. Wadsworth "anyankathevengeancedemon" (Bradford, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies (Kindle Edition)
I could not finish this book. I didn't recognise the characters, and I have read them all! I found myself thinking "he wouldn't say that" or "that's not what she would do" so eventually I just stopped reading it. I felt like I had been robbed of a good book. Considering the high quality of the books of recent years from people like Una McCormack and James Swallow this book rinded me of some teenage fan fiction. I would give this a miss of I were you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fine but short, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Martin Jay (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the book. Some of the plot twists surprised me. I want more Titan books especially if Electric blue, revived in Peaceable kingdoms comes back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blind Man's Bluff..., 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies (Kindle Edition)
Great story, well told. Diplomacy is like a poker game sometimes. Always play your opponent, never your cards. The Breen don't stand a chance against Admiral Riker or the crew of the U.S.S. TITAN!! :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies
Star Trek: Titan: Absent Enemies by John Jackson Miller
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews