Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Appealing Feline
We first met Snow Lion, a rather delightful feline, when she was rescued and joined the house of the Delai Lama in The Delai Lamas Cat. This is the next book in what will hopefully be a series, although it is certainly not necessary to have read the first book to appreciate this one. However, it is undoubtedly a book worth reading if you have not already done so...
Published 15 months ago by Brett H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The sound of one claw scratching?
Initial review from my wife, as I haven't quite finished it yet.

"I found this book a little bit off-putting. It appears to be trying to introduce the reader to the principles of Buddhism via the thoughts of a cat. I have not read the first book, The Dalai Lama's Cat, which would possibly pave the way for this one, but taking it on its own it was disorienting...
Published 17 months ago by Bob Sherunkle


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Appealing Feline, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of Purring (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We first met Snow Lion, a rather delightful feline, when she was rescued and joined the house of the Delai Lama in The Delai Lamas Cat. This is the next book in what will hopefully be a series, although it is certainly not necessary to have read the first book to appreciate this one. However, it is undoubtedly a book worth reading if you have not already done so.

In the preceding book, this rather charming and observant cat was looking at the main tenets of Buddhism and applying them to her own life. This time round she is given a task by the Delai Lama, when he leaves her to travel which is `what makes you purr'. In other words, what makes individuals happy and how to create the circumstances for happiness. Snow Lion does this, in part by observing others and in part by taking these lessons and relating them to her own life.

The author has put together an interesting formula here which certainly works. This could certainly be categorised as a self help book, but the messages are delivered in such a way that the reader understands them without the rigid delivery of a self help book. On another level this is all about the main principles of the Buddhist faith which are certainly worth studying as they contain a great deal of common sense. However, perhaps most importantly, overall it is a charming and whimsical tale about an appealing cat which cat lovers everywhere will relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purr-fect sequel to the Dalai Lama's Cat, 10 Jan. 2014
By 
elsie purdon "reads too much" (dorset uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Art of Purring (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A wonderful light and easy read.
If you have read the Dalai Lama's Cat then you know how delightful HHC ( his Holiness's Cat) aka Rinpoche aka Snow Lion is. She was found by chance as a tiny thrown away kitten and through events described in the first book, she is now resident with the Dalai Lama. She also has her main hang out place in town at the Himalaya Book Cafe..... Hence her many names.
HHC is a clever and sensitive female cat who listens to the monks talking and is learning much wisdom from them, and from living with the Dalai Lama.
In this sequel some time has passed, and we find out that HHC has had a litter of kittens, but all have gone to new homes now.
There are some new human characters for HHC to delight with her feline beauty and for us the reader to enjoy in this magical blend of eastern wisdom and light heartedness.
I love the books, and will be happy to keep reading any more that Davis Michie writes as reading them lifts my spirits and hopefully some of the wisdom will rub off too. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The sound of one claw scratching?, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
Bob Sherunkle (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Art of Purring (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Initial review from my wife, as I haven't quite finished it yet.

"I found this book a little bit off-putting. It appears to be trying to introduce the reader to the principles of Buddhism via the thoughts of a cat. I have not read the first book, The Dalai Lama's Cat, which would possibly pave the way for this one, but taking it on its own it was disorienting to say the least. It is about a cat with many names who is the Dalai Lama's pet cat; when the Lama goes away for a few weeks, he instructs his cat to find out the reason why he purrs. I am not going to give the game away, as you will need to read it for yourself to get the full gist of the story. It is a pleasant, easy read if you do not delve too deeply into the philosophy that accompanies each experience the cat has , unless of course you want to."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, but also deeply reflective., 23 Feb. 2014
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of Purring (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the follow-up to David Michie's lovely 'The Dalai Lama's Cat' which told the story of how His Holiness came to give a home to the cat of the title. Like the first book, it is told entirely from the cat's viewpoint.
Also like the first book it also offers deep and meaningful reflection on Buddhist practice, presented in an enormously readable and charming format.
An ideal book for those new to Buddhism but it also offers much to think about for those of any faith, or no faith, in the way we interact with those around us, as it develops themes explored in the first book. It can also be read on its own for those not familiar with the predecessor.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cat's light hearted teaching of Buddhist principles, 6 Oct. 2014
By 
Lilly Penhaligon (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Art of Purring (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is essentially a soft psychology/intro to Buddhism combo - written from the point of view of Snow Lion the Dalai Lama's cat. So the fact that it's written from a cat's perspective and the cat is called Snow Lion was always going to get this book 5 stars from me.
I wasn't sure what to expect from this, not having the read the Dalai Lama's Cat, the first novel in this series but actually this book stands alone and one does not need to have the read the former to understand or enjoy this book.

Essentially this traces Snow Lion's journey on which she meets a number of people and lives through a series of events in her search to find out what brings true happiness. The characters are interesting and well-rounded and the various events dramatic and lively enough to sustain interest plus I really enjoyed the cat's perspective on things. Essentially the lessons learned from each person and event Snow Lion experiences, teaches something about the Buddhist view on what happiness is and why it is so elusive.

The way the stories are told and unfold are light-hearted and enjoyable - I think you could easily read this at face value and just enjoy the novelty of reading about a fictional cat because although the Buddhist teachings are interwoven, they are not intrusive or heavily preachy. This would be a nice book for teenagers and for people who want a lighter look at seeking happiness in their own lives.

All in all a good read and a quick cheer me up. I can see myself rereading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming, lovely and thought-provoking, 25 April 2014
By 
H Pedder "bookworm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Purring (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is 200 pages of loveliness! For cat-lovers and yoga-enthusiasts and Buddhist-curious alike, this book is a delight. From the perspective of the Dalai Lama's cat, we are privy to the comings and goings of Namgyal and McLeod Ganj, the Tibetan town of residence of His Holiness. Although there is a tale within it, it's more a book about life, attitudes and other such deep philosophical questions - but these messages and nuggets of wisdom are interwoven within the story of Rinpoche (one of the cat's many names) as he goes about his business while the Dalai Lama is oversees.

This book is neither assuming nor does it preach, but it merely entertains the reader whilst offering gems of spiritual advice. As a cat lover and somebody who practices yoga, it was a true delight to read. If you don't like cats, it might a) still appeal because of its spiritual content, and b) make you see there's more to a cat than a set of claws. If you aren't that 'into' yoga or Buddhism, this might a) still appeal to you because it offers a delightful insight into the narrative of a day-in-the-life-of-a-cat, and b) open your eyes to the profound effect that the simplest changes to your way of thinking or approaching things could have on your life.

The Art of Purring isn't a textbook or instructional manual on anything, nor is it mind-blowing with its spiritual enlightenment/poetic prose/multi-faceted characters. However, it IS a lovely little book that's a pleasure to read and one that might leave a positive lasting impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A winner!, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
Moonless (London Town) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Art of Purring (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second book ‘written’ by the Dalai Lama’s cat. However, you don't have to have read the first book to enjoy this one and get a lot out of it. I haven't read book one, and it didn't spoil my pleasure at all.

In ‘The Art of Purring’, the Dalai Lama is going to America for several weeks. He leaves his cat with a task - find out what the art of purring is all about. Why does she purr, what makes her happy that she wants to purr? The cat is known by several names but particularly HCC (His Holiness’s Cat). The story is told through her eyes, her experiences at the Dalai Lama’s residence and at the Himalaya Book Cafe, where she spends a lot of time.

HCC mostly hangs around humans. She observes their lives, the events that change them, their evolution, happy times, anxious times. She gives us her opinion on things that are happening, what she thinks of her human companions - and her canine enemies!

It’s a truly wonderful story, a work of fiction, layered with elements of the principles and tenets of Buddhism throughout. It’s not a preachy book, but rather one full of common sense. The characters are likeable - Serena and Sam at the Himalaya Book Cafe, Chogyal and Lobsang at the Dalai Lama’s offices, the yoga students and many more.

I would recommend this book for its story, thought-provoking idea, light-heartedness and overall feel good factor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure really..., 11 May 2014
By 
Mr. Simon Paddon "Simon" (Barnstaple, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Purring (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have read lots of the set help books, and I love reading about Buddhism principles. I can see the angle which the author was coming at with this book, from the guise of the cat, but I found it made it a bit harder to read, and it also lost the concepts a bit. I also found that it tried to incorporate wider themes of self help, not just religious ones; this spoilt it a bit for me. Shame. It is a still a good book though- if you can filter through all this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cute feline self help, 7 Feb. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of Purring (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was torn between 3-4 stars for this. I did sort of like it, but the decider was whether or not I would recommend it to anyone else. The answer is that I'd only recommend to someone who is both a lover of cats and general self help books (albeit with a Buddhist bias). I don't know a huge number of people who meet both criteria, but if you're one of them, then this may very well be the book for you (though I preferred the first one, The Dalai Lama's Cat)

The problem is that there isn't much of a story. There sort of is (um, cat wanders around learning and making observations about life with side story related to entrepreneurism and the restaurant trade), but mainly what the author's done is to pull the highlights out of say the top 50 best selling self help books - covering Buddhism, mindfulness, the psychology of happiness, and even a little about diet and the Secret - and then puts the cat into situations where she can overhear people talking about these concepts. Often the dialogue is glaringly expository, which gets a bit eye-rolling.

I'm a sucker for cats, so I sort of liked it :) - but I probably wouldn't recommend it to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars story well told, will not exercise your mental muscles overmuch, 20 Sept. 2014
By 
Adam Smith (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Art of Purring (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I find it difficult to say whether this is a book about buddhism (tibetan) or a story set in Dharamsala which has a buddhist thread. The story is good enough and amusingly told, through the eyes of the Dalai Lams's cat, and succeeds pretty well as a story, with romantic interest (both the cat and the humans) tension (cat gets chased by dogs, just survives, humans escape from burning building etc). There are discussions about the mind, the presience of animals, reincarnation, mindfulness and so on. The buddhism is pretty light weight and if you want a discussion about that, you would be better served than reading this book. The overall theme is about happiness, and the cat is given the job by the DL of investigating what that is, and why we (humans) singularly fail to achieve it. Living in the now, that sort of thing. Maybe it will whet your appetite for some more serious meditation/mindfulness exercises.. or maybe not. You can probably sense I am a bit underwhelmed, but its amusing enough, and would while a way the hours as you wait for your delayed flight or whatever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews