Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables
Being an ultra runner myself I love to read about other peoples experiences of running, and as I took part in the 28th MDS I was particularly intrigued to read Graeme's account of the race. For me it captured the real spirit of what I encountered in the Desert and was a great reminder of some of the things I had forgotten after a few months. I would recommend this to...
Published 22 months ago by Mr Paul L Burrows

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars direct, accurate and not self promoting
Good read for anyone thinking of completing the MDS, good simple advice, no real waffle and gives insights to the ethos of organisers and entrants.
Published 6 months ago by M Cuffe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables, 16 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables (Kindle Edition)
Being an ultra runner myself I love to read about other peoples experiences of running, and as I took part in the 28th MDS I was particularly intrigued to read Graeme's account of the race. For me it captured the real spirit of what I encountered in the Desert and was a great reminder of some of the things I had forgotten after a few months. I would recommend this to someone looking for information on the MDS as there arent too many books on it, this would definitely give you a great insight into what expect for the 7 days! Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and informative without the cliched embellishments typical to MDS books, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables (Kindle Edition)
A very good read for prospective MDS runners and a must read for all entrants. A great retelling of an 'ordinary' runners adventure in the Sahara; insightful, introspective and honest.

The book was brought into sharper focus for me having had the privilege of listening to the late Clive Gott speak and knowing Richard 'Legend' Lendon, through ultra marathon races.

The details given on kit gives me confidence that light can indeed be adequate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book, my only complaint was it was too short! There was a great balance of detail and a flowing journey. Good for runners and non runners alike, I a am thinking of doing the mds and this was a great and honest resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables (Kindle Edition)
I am not a runner however I found this to be an extremely entertaining and enjoyable read with a very positive message which can be applied in all aspects of life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories and friends forever! A great little handbook, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables (Kindle Edition)
I am the one they call Disco Stuart Rae in the book. It brings back great memories and the friendships forged. From a practical point of view it gives a really succinct and concise insight into the MdS which i can't think of anywhere else unless you want a long long read. Some great tips and hints all n one place that i think will make your adventure just that little bit easier should you choose to do the MdS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables (Kindle Edition)
Entertaining and informative read which assisted my preparations for MdS 2014. Read the book twice which is unusual for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't need to be super fit to enjoy a good read, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables (Kindle Edition)
Makes you think what you could achieve with a bit of determination and effort. A well written and sometimes inspirational account of Graeme's 'adventure' even for someone who has no intention of running 150 miles through the Sahara !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational read, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables (Kindle Edition)
Great read and this is coming from someone who finds the thought of running a few miles terrifying,I found this book to be quite inspirational and good on anyone who has completed this. If you are thinking of doing this race then I believe this book would have some great information, but even if not this is a great story and really quite funny in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book..., 16 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, whether you're interested in running the Marathon des Sables or you just enjoy running, it's a fab little read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running the Highway to Hell: The 28th Sultan Marathon des Sables (Kindle Edition)
This was an interesting and informative account of one guys preparation, participation and reflection on the marathon des sables. Am hoping to participate next year and found this to be very helpful and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews