Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great gift
Lovely light, great gift for that hard to buy for son of mine! Also £10 more expensive in John Lewis
Published on 21 Nov. 2012 by The reviews

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value but not quite what's in the photo
The lamp is relatively well priced however the light is very warm (yellowish) rather than white like in the photo which is what I wanted. What you see in the image has been desaturated (color saturation was removed for a clean aesthetic effect). I would have preferred if the seller provided more accurate photo representation of the item. The wax is dark purple rather than...
Published on 1 Oct. 2012 by mysterious joe


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value but not quite what's in the photo, 1 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The lamp is relatively well priced however the light is very warm (yellowish) rather than white like in the photo which is what I wanted. What you see in the image has been desaturated (color saturation was removed for a clean aesthetic effect). I would have preferred if the seller provided more accurate photo representation of the item. The wax is dark purple rather than black which I don't actually mind that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved the colouring as it gives off a warm glow - Didn't love the fact that it stopped working after only a few uses., 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted a lava lamp that gave off a warm glow and this one certainly does. Amazon's website describes this as purple/yellow and on arrival when cold, it is visibly a yellow wax in purple liquid. However, reviewers had described it as purple/orange which is what I was looking for and once warmed up this lava lamp definitely gives off more of a warm red glow.

The purple liquid glows a purply red with the bubbles at the bottom glowing deep yellow through to a burnt reddy orange on rising. The bubbles in my photo look more orange when they are actually much more red than this.

It took about 1 1/2 hours from cold to start gaining movement, but was bubbling well in about 2 hours, but it really does depend on the ambient room temperature and if it has been in use hours before. On first use there appears to be no issues with my new 'lavalite' lamp and it is just what I was looking for.

Don't worry if the liquid sits short of the top cap level at first, this soon disappears as the liquid heats up and expands. WARNING! The lamp does become very hot so I advise caution with young children.

Update: However, after only a few uses the wax refused to bubble, no matter how long it was given to heat up. My daughter had to return 2 faulty Lavalite lamps to another seller before she got one that worked; one faulty lamp gave off a worrying electrical crackle and so was immediately returned, the other stopped bubbling after only a few uses, so I suppose it's a case of finding one that works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stops working after 5 minutes. Update added, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
Mark Edwards (Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As another reviewer says after 5 minutes the spinner in the bottom of the bottle starts to rattle and you loose the tornado effect. The only way to start again is to switch off and back on again, this is actually mentioned in the instructions.

Have seen these in shop displays which I assume are on all day without a problem.

Update.

Have received a replacement and it's slightly different in design.The faulty one has a spinner that's a rectangle block about 3cm wide and the bottle is filled with stuff that looks like white foam.Think the problem is the white foam filling is to dense for the spinner and as it's only held in place by magnets it gets dislodged due to the force on the spinner.

The replacements spinner is round and has fins attached to the top, the bottle is filled with glitter instead of the foam material. The combination of the glitter and new spinner design means it can be left on all day without any problems.

Only issue now is the old design was silent although didn't last longer than a couple of minutes, new design has a constant rattle that quiet loud. TV noise would probably drown it out but if it was in a silent room I think it may get quite irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely light, great gift for that hard to buy for son of mine! Also £10 more expensive in John Lewis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I loved this coloured lamp and I am gutted this happened, 10 Mar. 2015
I have had 3 of these same lamps since November '14. First, wax wouldn't melt after 2 weeks. Second, the purple faded to almost nothing after four weeks. The third, the purple lasted almost eight weeks!! I loved this coloured lamp and I am gutted this happened. I could not risk another of the same. Got another replacement, clear with black wax...I hate this new one but I hate more the fact that there was never an explanation as to why this specific one is a failure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great item, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love this. novelty item. not too noisy as some of these tornado lights are. bought as a gift and was worried that might have been damaged in transit, but it was well packed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely lamp, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would love this product but it arrived with a label on saying please remove - which I did and it left a glue mark, which I washed off and managed to remove the coloured film that surrounds the glass! This is not made from rainbow glass but a glass bottle coved in rainbow film. The whole effect is now ruined. But it has now been exchanged and when it's running it is really relaxing and great fun. Excellent exchange service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Buy, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son is 11 and loves this light and the colours change gradually so they blend into each other. Very relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't go near this!, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my son recently. Within only a few weeks it has stopped working and has become dangerous, just heating up until it becomes really hot to touch. Very very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice and bright and great value for money., 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this for my friend who had seen something similar in a top department store, she couldn't believe the price and once it arrived was very pleased she decided to go for it. The light is sturdy, bright and looked much more expensive than it was. Plenty of glittery bits and they move quite quickly unlike a lava lamp which takes ages to get warm enough. Easy enough to change the bulb if needed. Posting and packing excellent as usual from Amazon. Was tempted to go for one of these myself too at the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews