Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Surprise!
I didn't quite know what to expect with this book, having been recommended it, but found myself being pulled willingly into the author's journey and experiences to a point where I simply had to finish the book. The style is refreshing and jolly, and at times really very funny. What's more, you don't need to know anything about boats to enjoy it - in fact that's probably...
Published on 11 Oct 2001

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter twaddle
How would I describe this author? Whinging patronizing Southern git? Decidedly inaccurate. Bank Newton is called Newton Bank. Kirkless Hall is called Kirklees. Lichfield is called LITCHFIELD! He "DESCENDS" to a tunnel and stays at the rear of the lock....Lethal (although the tunnel will be full of canal, so does it matter that the boat is hanging on the cill?) Having...
Published 4 days ago by K.E.C


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Surprise!, 11 Oct 2001
By A Customer
I didn't quite know what to expect with this book, having been recommended it, but found myself being pulled willingly into the author's journey and experiences to a point where I simply had to finish the book. The style is refreshing and jolly, and at times really very funny. What's more, you don't need to know anything about boats to enjoy it - in fact that's probably an advantage. I am going to stock up on copies for presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable saunter through middle England, 20 Mar 2001
By A Customer
The book is well researched and well observed. Nick's account of England and its waterways today is basically sympathetic, avoiding the cynicism, dyspepsia and exaggeration for effect that travel writers sometimes indulge in. It is humorous without being silly, and many will be able to relate to Nick's journey and his musings on the past, present and future. I enjoyed his portraits of his fellow crew members and their foibles. This book certainly stands comparison with Nicholas Crane and John Hillaby, to name two other wanderers about the UK. It is also entirely accessible to landlubbers like myself; don't pass it over because you don't like boats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating reflections - a good read, 8 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Excellent writing - there are at least three threads interwoven in this book - detail account of narrowboat maintenance and navigation, historical review of parts of England that have seen better days and some very personal reflections. Not without some truly comic moments but biting at times - this is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Utter twaddle, 19 July 2014
By 
K.E.C (Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on Water: Exploring the Arteries of England (Kindle Edition)
How would I describe this author? Whinging patronizing Southern git? Decidedly inaccurate. Bank Newton is called Newton Bank. Kirkless Hall is called Kirklees. Lichfield is called LITCHFIELD! He "DESCENDS" to a tunnel and stays at the rear of the lock....Lethal (although the tunnel will be full of canal, so does it matter that the boat is hanging on the cill?) Having produced this work in various forms, maybe a little proof-reading would not go amiss.
The book has passages of what appear reasonably researched historical fact about canals, but given the geographical mistakes, I was unsure about believing
I thought the author mean-spirited, not wishing to pass on information to fellow boaters and found the occasional innuendos rather creepy and inappropriate, particularly the sexual analogy to entering a lock......Possibly he has not experienced a GUILLOTINE LOCK! Finally the postscript philosophical thesis comparing differing areas of England is beyond belief, after basically less than a day trip to towns he either praises or condemns. HUMPH!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy, read, relax, enjoy!, 9 Feb 2014
This review is from: Walking on Water: Exploring the Arteries of England (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this onto my Kindle and found it an easy and fun read, evocative of canal holidays when I was a child - both the ups and the downs! I thought the author really allowed us to see what he was thinking as he tried to master his new boat and enjoyed learning with him. There's a good sense here of what it takes to operate a canal boat - it's not all about drifting along without a care in the world - but also the joy when it does go right. I felt I shared the journey with him.

The book also provides an insight into the country we live in - okay, it as his insight, but he is the author after all! Must say I don't quite understand the negative reviews here, which sound like the crusty moans of self-appointed experts who live to pick holes in other people's opinions, just because they don't happen to share them. By his own admission, the author doesn't set himself up to be an expert.

Ah well! My advice is buy, read, relax, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as entertaining as I'd of liked, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on Water: Exploring the Arteries of England (Kindle Edition)
This book is quite informative but tends to become a little bereft of the entertainment factor once you have read a few chapters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on Water: Exploring the Arteries of England (Kindle Edition)
A good read.well written. Interesting, informative and humorous . A must read for all canal lovers or anyone who wants a different view of the country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on Water: Exploring the Arteries of England (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book very much ,knew his subject well.You could shut your eyes and picture his adventures in your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Walking on water, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking on Water: Exploring the Arteries of England (Kindle Edition)
Having lived &worked on the canals for many many years, l was disappointed with this book & angry at times. I found the author smug, snobish & too ready to pigeon hole people . Many of the pages were incredibly boring as he rambled on & on. Not to mention that because a place he was travelling through didn't sell broadsheet newspapers, just laughable. Try steering a fully laden work boat & butty. That might be worth reading how you got on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A know all on a badly designed boat..., 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A know all on a badly designed boat...I wish I hadn't bothered. He didn't seem to take on any of the enjoyment the majority of people who have boats take from the inland waterways these days and as for meeting new people look out for the stereotypes on every page. Doesn't know his uphill locks from his downhill, I was very glad to finish it so I never had to see it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews