Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turning the page
You might have expected Anoushka Shankar's first release after the loss of her father (Pandit Ravi Shankar) to be a solemn and pensive affair. However, while there's pathos running through some of the tracks (Fathers, Metamorphosis, Unsaid...), there's a generally upbeat and joyous feeling that predominates.
Straying from the fairly purist treatment she gave her last...
Published 9 months ago by Mark Brenner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Anoushka Shankar Traces of You
Enjoyable, but I rank Traveller much higher (5 star). The collaboration with Norah Jones is not the success that the collaboration with Javier Limon was in Traveller. The harder edges of Shankar's sitar music with flamenco works very well and better than the softer romanticism in Traces of You.
Published 26 days ago by Dr. Gary S. Shea


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turning the page, 9 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: Traces Of You (Audio CD)
You might have expected Anoushka Shankar's first release after the loss of her father (Pandit Ravi Shankar) to be a solemn and pensive affair. However, while there's pathos running through some of the tracks (Fathers, Metamorphosis, Unsaid...), there's a generally upbeat and joyous feeling that predominates.
Straying from the fairly purist treatment she gave her last album, Traveller, Shankar and her producer Nitin Sawnhey allow occasional glimpses of electronica into the mix, harking back to her "Rise" album, yet the best tracks shine when she lets her sitar, or her sister, do the talking.
The unusual hang drum gets plenty of the spotlight (you can bet we'll be seeing more of this instrument in the world music of the future).
Anoushka Shankar continues to push the boundaries of her instrument, while constantly aware of the enormous heritage she has been left to defend. Some purists may criticize her audacity, but listen to her virtuoso performance on Monsoon and you know the sitar is safe in her hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Bodhi Heeren (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Traces Of You (Audio CD)
For anyone who has followed Anoushka Shankar's career it seems evident that she has improved with each album. Going from higly talented to one of the planet's greatest musicians.

A strong composer, an excellent sitarist with a beautiful tone and most importantly an artist with a strong vision. Making a near perfect blend of East and West.

On this album she has cooperated with Nitin Sawhney on most tracks. And come up with a nice very diverse musical adventure. Most of the tracks are instrumentals with a few mantras shown in and really making Indian music that should appeal to a wide audience. And a young audience too. Music that is completely contemporary and at the same time made with deep reverence to the tradition.

Maybe the biggest attraction for most listeners is the fact that half-sister Norah Jones lends her husky voice to three of the tracks.

Visionary and accesible world music at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces Of You (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Anoushka Shankar Traces of You, 28 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Traces Of You (Audio CD)
Enjoyable, but I rank Traveller much higher (5 star). The collaboration with Norah Jones is not the success that the collaboration with Javier Limon was in Traveller. The harder edges of Shankar's sitar music with flamenco works very well and better than the softer romanticism in Traces of You.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful artis, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces Of You (Audio CD)
I saw Anouska Shankar live a few months ago. First time I had seen a sitar played live and with the RSNO it was absolutely amazing. The best concert I was at this year and Immediately had to buy CDs. I loved this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Traces of Youmade me think of lost loved ones of my own - very evocative and also lively., 13 Nov 2013
By 
dizzy pointed (northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces Of You (Audio CD)
I really enjoy listening to Traces of You. Track 10, which features both sisters, is especially lovely and enables me to remember my own lost, loved ones. I like all the tracks and 'river pulse' is a fast rhythmic weaving of piano and sitar which I
find very cheering, a good contrast to more contemplative ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS is World Music, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces Of You (Audio CD)
Warm, rich, soulful music from one of the most beautiful women in the world (and her equally wonderful sister!).Absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unique, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful CD which it is a privilege to listen to. Sitar tracks are waesome and the addition of Norah Jones's voice is inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces Of You (Audio CD)
Some tracks are a little bit trite, flat and dare I say it boring; shame really as I love some of Anoushka's other recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traces Of You [+digital booklet]
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews