Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous. Most enjoyable.
This is great. Well worth a tenner. For me it's worth it just for getting the new version of Stallions of the Highway alone, particularly when it takes off from 1min2sec onwards.

To point out even if you think you have the 'orchestrated versions' (because they were some on the Sacrifice double CD) I've compared the two over and over and some of these sound...
Published 9 months ago by midnightrider

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT 4 CD BOXSET? THERE IS NO SUCH PRODUCT!!
As previously stated there is nothing wrong with the Unplugged album but this is definately only the single disc version, NOT a 4cd box set as described - I'm hardly surprised as the price was cheap and nowhere else on the internet is a 4cd boxset mentioned as being available!
Published 9 months ago by G. McMillan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous. Most enjoyable., 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
This is great. Well worth a tenner. For me it's worth it just for getting the new version of Stallions of the Highway alone, particularly when it takes off from 1min2sec onwards.

To point out even if you think you have the 'orchestrated versions' (because they were some on the Sacrifice double CD) I've compared the two over and over and some of these sound slightly different newer 'orchestrated versions' to me. The Orchestrated version of Crusader in particular sounds quite alot better than the orchestrated version that came with the Sacrifice album.

The Orchestrated version of The Eagle has Landed works particularly well, makes it something different to the original.

Militia Guard appears to be a complete re-recording (although it doesn't make that clear on the listing on the rear) and is fabulously done, so you're getting abit more than it may seem at first glance.

Inevitably some versions work better than others, Just let me Rock was pretty bad originally and doesn't get any better no matter how it's re-recorded!, but others may have their own likes and dislikes.

The only real dissapointment is the artwork which is shockingly awful, you would have thought they'd been around long enough to come up with something better than a leaking barn roof!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still rockin, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
great idea by a great band works realy well crusader sounds just fantastic buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly worthwhile release...., 8 Mar 2014
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
Some times when bands release discs like this,its because they have run out of ideas,not so Saxon,they're last couple of albums have been excellent,they're still doing the business live,so its either a contractual disc or something Biff and the boys have been thinking about for a while,i'll go for the latter

The first thing you realise,is that its not overrun by the classics and hit singles,several tracks are exceptional album tracks such as 'Eagle has Landed'/'Crusader''Red Star Falling' and 'Broken Hereos'

Rerecorded versions of the likes of 'Stallions of the Highway/Militia Guard & Forever Free are excellent while the standout track is a superb version(acoustic) of long lost track 'Frozen Rainbow'.

Its something different and its great,sounds excellent,production big and beautiful,ballsy when required,lush and melodic when it needs to be,. Well done boys.

Ps .. if you never bought the excellent 'Heavy Metal Thunder' album from 2002,then get the ltd edition release, as its included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
Always difficult to remake established tracks, but fairly successfully done here. One or two dodgy interludes, but overall pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT 4 CD BOXSET? THERE IS NO SUCH PRODUCT!!, 27 Nov 2013
By 
G. McMillan (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
As previously stated there is nothing wrong with the Unplugged album but this is definately only the single disc version, NOT a 4cd box set as described - I'm hardly surprised as the price was cheap and nowhere else on the internet is a 4cd boxset mentioned as being available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars COULD have been great !, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
So so so disappointed with this album. Not enough acoustic songs ( the albums title is "unplugged" for heavens sake.) The orchestrated versions of songs have very little orchestra in them ! IF it had been done properly this album COULD have been an absolute classic. As it turns out , i wish i had not bought this album and saved my cash !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed !, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
I was expecting better from this release. It's a poor choice of songs...I'd have like to have heard the classics 'unplugged' not some songs that have already been released !. 2 out of 5 (must do better).

This was originaly advertised as a 4cd set as well.....Thought it was too good to be true !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saxon, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
We love saxon , so we liked this also , still got that magic that makes you want to get up and head bang .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT a 4 CD box set!, 24 Nov 2013
By 
C. J. Gornall (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
There is nothing wrong with the Unplugged album in & of itself, but have a care - this is simply the single disc version, NOT a box set as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking alternative effort, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this on vinyl so obviously that's what my review relates to. I've been a fan of Saxon since I saw them live on tour supporting the first album opening for motorhead if memory serves. I'm not a completest but own several albums by saxon so have a reasonable grasp of their music.
Firstly the album art work. What a let down. Even the Vinyl size sleeve doesn't help. In some cases artwork looks so much better when enlarged. In this case the subject matter does nothing in my opinion to persuade a purchase to part with their cash. Even the inner sleeves are rank offering next to no information.
Now the important part, the music. As the title suggests there are both acoustic and orchestrated versions present. To my ears the sound quality is excellent, well engineered and produced. Biffs voice has matured nicely over the years and the playing is top draw. The stand out tracks for me are the orchestrated Crusader, Call To Arms, and Broken Heroes and acoustic Frozen Rainbow, and Militia Guard originally on the first album.
The track selection wouldn't have been my first choice but they work well together. I would be interested to hear this on cd to see if it grabs my attention in the same way, I think it would.
The only down side is the cover, hence the lose of a star, otherwise I recommend this to those of an open mind that love rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unplugged And Strung Up
Unplugged And Strung Up by Saxon (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews