Customer Reviews


219 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambition and life below stairs - from skivvy to queen of the kitchen
Mollie Moran's entertaining account of life in domestic service is a must for those who enjoy social history. Written by a vibrant author - Mollie's accounts of scrapes, averted disasters and her fierce determination to improve herself are amusing and inspiring. Usually these memoirs are a dull social monologue about "not for the likes of us" but not Mollie - who believes...
Published 17 months ago by L. S. Sinclair

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
I quite enjoyed this although I didn't think it was memorable. Very easy reading but I think there are too many books around that are similar.
Published 12 months ago by Cassie


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambition and life below stairs - from skivvy to queen of the kitchen, 19 Mar 2013
By 
L. S. Sinclair "louise318" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mollie Moran's entertaining account of life in domestic service is a must for those who enjoy social history. Written by a vibrant author - Mollie's accounts of scrapes, averted disasters and her fierce determination to improve herself are amusing and inspiring. Usually these memoirs are a dull social monologue about "not for the likes of us" but not Mollie - who believes in aiming high.
This talented author is 96 years old and shames many younger writers with her refreshing vitality. I turned the pages and could not put down this wonderful account of Mollie meeting a Blackshirt , her glimpse of Wallis Simpson and the touching account of cooking for Ambassador Nevile Henderson just before he visited Germany in an attempt to prevent World War II.
Kitchen skivvy at 14 to cook aged 20 - Mollie is clearly a talented intelligent person who can also write a book which evokes the memories and culture of the 30's as though they were only yesterday.
I hope this gifted author will write a sequel about her fascinating life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHarming, 19 Mar 2013
I finished the book yesterday, and then saw Mollie on This Morning. She's just how I imagined!! She's such a sweet and lively lady, and I really can't believe that she's 96! She's so switched on and she remembers everything! She's had such a fascinating life which i s so different to anything any of us will ever experience, from a time when there were no fridges or cleaning products. If you have any interest in the past or just in lovely stories, then I would really recommend this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fabulous, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed every page of this lovely heart warming book. I saw mollie on this morning and downloaded book straight away and couldn't put it down. My own mother was born the same year as mollie and lived until she was 93.i cannot believe the changes that generation had in their lifetime. What a great read. I'm am now going to read her great friend Flo's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow upstaires and downstares brill, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (chasetown england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldnt wait to obtain this copy absolutly well worth the wait, Im still in mid way of this book and if you want to experience what these workers went through, this is the book for you, from leaving her family at the age of 14, not knowing anything of the outside world, the difficulties she faces,home sickness, starting at the very bottom,and I mean the very bottom, she tells and shows you what it was like, and some fab genuine photo,s of the house and people she met on her way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a five star read. didn't put it down the whole time. so warm and well written. impeccable. definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a delightful read! If you are interested in history and how people lived whilst in domestic service then this book is a must! Mollie has lived a remarkable life and at the age of 96 she is a true inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly wonderful, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a refreshing insight into life `below stairs` during the 1930s. But there is so much more as well. Mollie lets you into her own personal life and experiences in a way that makes you feel you were there with her, every step of the way. Once I started reading, I could not put it down. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aprons and silverspoons, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I laughed and cried though out this wonderful life story Mollie has shared with us. A truly heart warming adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed this book enormousley and I am sure everyone who reads it will also. what else can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars APRONS AND SILVER SPOONS, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a REALLY GOOD BOOK WHICH GIVES GREAT INSIGHTS INTO HOW IT WAS TO BE IN SERVICE, THE WRITERS MEMORIES ARE FASCINATING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews