Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
OK, I am a Dido fan (and I understand if you think she's a little dull) but this DVD is just fantastic - worth waiting for - and I think by far the best way to experience a recorded Dido - better than the CD's which is unusual. Her performance is fun enough, the band good also and a there's a great percussionist (the band is the percussionist, drummer, bass and guitar)...
Published on 22 Aug 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This is okey
I am not a big fan of Dido,but this DVD is nice ! If you are a fan,you will like this.
Published 20 months ago by nina larsen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 22 Aug 2005
By A Customer
OK, I am a Dido fan (and I understand if you think she's a little dull) but this DVD is just fantastic - worth waiting for - and I think by far the best way to experience a recorded Dido - better than the CD's which is unusual. Her performance is fun enough, the band good also and a there's a great percussionist (the band is the percussionist, drummer, bass and guitar). But three things make this DVD stand out: Firstly it is very well produced - both visually and audio. The tracks are not poor live renditions that would sound much better from the studio - but studio produced quality with the energy of a live production. Visually there's plenty going on and its very well put together (suround sound too). Secondly the performances are original and have something extra, plenty of life - so even if you have the tracks already you'll feel you've got something new to listen to. The whole performance builds in a crescendo of beat. Finally its great value - with the audio CD thrown in. You'll watch and listen to this again and again. OK there are no special features - but instead you get near DVD music perfection end to end. Well done to Dido and her production team for putting together something that really justifies the wait and makes the best of the format. If you're not sure about Dido - buy this and decide, if you like her - what on earth are you waiting for? Have fun...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dido Live At Brixton Academy, 29 Aug 2005
By 
Amanda Adams (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This is the ultimate DVD any Dido fan should not be without. It is worth buying just for the bonus audio CD alone. Brixton Academy evoked a lot of memories for her, which she often attended whilst growing up. During the concert, she gets to demonstrate her piano skills and introduces her band members, who also do a wonderful job. She tells us a bit about each song; how "White Flag" was a 'messy' song, which caused a whole heap of trouble in her life, "Hunter" being about wanting to be single "which happens to her every ten days" and how being temporarily homeless inspired her to write "Life For Rent", and her dream of wanting to marry a sailor, working in a bar and living on an island for "Sand In My Shoes".
It's clear as to why Dido's loved so much by audiences around the world for her unique vocal quality and the high energy she gives off during every live performance, leaves you feeling in a good mood even when you've had a bad day at work and whatever your favourite Dido song is you're bound to find it on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Night-In for Coffee-Drinkers Everywhere !, 26 Jan 2006
Having released two albums that have sold by the truckload - "No Angel" and "Life for Rent" - this is Dido's first live offering : a DVD and a CD looking back to three dates played at London's Brixton Academy in August 2004.
The DVD features 17 tracks - 9 of them lifted from "Life for Rent" while the remaining 8 appeared on "No Angel". With the exception of "This Land is Mine" and "My Lover's Gone", all my favourite Dido songs appear are here. It opens with "Stoned", and the Roswell High song, "Here With Me". The stories behind "See You When You're 40", "Life for Rent", "Mary's in India" and "Sand in my Shoes" are briefly told - though, where appropriate, the names have been omitted to protect the 'innocent'. Unfortunately, nothing was said on the story behind "Isobel" - I've always been curious about that one. Meanwhile, the famously sampled "Thank You" and, to a lesser extent, "White Flag" get the 'big song-along' treatment.
It may seem an odd thing to say, given that she is a professional performer, but Dido does seem to be very comfortable on-stage. Unlike some artists I've seen, there's no obvious signs of ego, general vanity or grumpiness - the intros and links between the songs seen more like an informal chat. The camera work and the lighting are excellent, while there are a couple of characters in the band - Keith Golden, the bass guitarist, appears to be one of those kids who likes doing his own thing. There's also (if you look closely) an appearance by Animal from "The Muppet Show"...
The CD features 12 of the tracks from the concert, and lasts for nearly an hour. "Don't Leave Home", "Do You Have a Little Time", "Hunter", "My Life" and (oddly, I thought) "All You Want" are the five songs that were dropped, while the intros also missed the cut. Without the 'distractions' of the stage show, the CD emphasises just how good Dido is live.
Neither the CD nor the DVD contain any new material, so I wouldn't expect this release to win any new fans - if you hated "No Angel" and "Life for Rent" there's really no point in buying this. However, if you're a fan, it's definitely recommended. Slip it into your DVD player, rest your feet on your coffee-table and enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 19 April 2007
By 
Simply put, this is one of the best live concert films I have seen for a long time. The picture and sound quality, lighting and camera work are excellent.

Dido is an amazing live performer and this comes across beautifully on this DVD. Every word and every note she sings is heartfelt and her songs seem to have much more gusto when performed live. I also have to say that her backing band is absolutely brilliant - is that Louis Theroux on the keyboards?

My favourite songs on this DVD are the sublime `Life For Rent', `Isobel' (I love the grungy guitar sound and keyboard effects on this) and the wonderfully intimate `Do You Have A Little Time', with just Dido singing and playing electric piano. To be honest though there is not a bad song on this DVD and I could happily watch it all from start to finish time and time again. There is also a bonus audio disc included featuring 12 of the 17 songs that are on the DVD so this is a vital item for all Dido fans to own and for those of you who aren't fans of Dido, you might be converted after watching this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming Dido keeps fans Enthralled, 12 Jun 2005
What started as a promotional tour for Dido's latest album release "Life For Rent", one stop at Brixton Academy captures a rare digital performance of Dido in front of live audience singing songs from both her old and new albums alike.
Superb audio video quality with some jolly comments about each song are great perks for all enchanted fans out there. Many of the songs' new renditions with very unique signature vocal work of Dido are simply very Dido-original!
DVD Track contains:
1. Stoned
2. Here with me
3. See you when you're 40
4. Life for rent
5. Hunter
6. Isobel
7. My Life
8. Honestly OK
9. Don't leave home
10. Mary's in India
11. Take my hand
12. Thank you
13. Sand in my shoes
14. White Flag
15. Do you have a little time
16. All you want
17. See the sun.
The bonus Live Audio CD contains dozen songs:
1. Stoned
2. Here with Me 3. See you when you're 40
4. Life for Rent
5. Isobel
6. Honestly Okay
7. Take My Hand
8. Thank you
9. Mary's in India
10. Sand in my shoes
11. White flag
12. See the sun.
Looking forward to her much-awaited new album!
Until then this would surely serve to delight old and new fans of this very unique artist, a 5 stars.
-The TreeClub Review Team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want MTV videos, then watch MTV, 9 April 2006
This is one of the best produced concert DVDs I've seen. Also not true that all the songs are just repeats of CD tracks. The arrangements are different (if you're a real fan, you'll notice and appreciate the differences) and the performance is spectacular. There aren't too many concert DVDs that stand up to repeated viewing, but this is one exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless Dido Performance & DVD Production, 4 Dec 2007
By 
Dm Blackwell "Dazmb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A brilliant show, from the opening titles which show her illuminated with bright white light from behind like a goddess, to the closing song with it's echoed vocals that reach an almost shattering peak of intensity....

A stunning performance, captured sonically and visually to perfection by the production crew. Sound mixing in particular is handled majestically by Bob Clearmountain (U2 - The Unforgettable Fire).

A total artistic triumph, with heart and soul and substance. Not a coffee table accessory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 23 April 2006
By 
I. Jelley "Jell" (Long Buckby) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was lucky enough to be in the audience in the Brixton Accademy for one of Dido's performances and was truely blown away at how well she mixed up her songs to twist them into something different. I would have been quite happy with the tried and tested Dido approach but what she tried and pulled off was fantastic and I only hope that her future releases have the variety which she showed live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class, 13 Jun 2005
By 
Graeme Morgan (Rugby, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Bought the DVD after going to the Brixton gig last summer and it was just even better than I remembered. Dido is a class act with an individual and stong voice, and is an artist who is popular with a huge worldwide following. The reproducation of the gig in DVD format is excellent and the audio CD is also a great bonus. All in all, for those of you who did not manage to see Dido on her tour last year and even those like myself who were there the DVD is the next best thing to a live performance, showing her amazing style and undeniable talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dido is a goddess!!!, 6 Aug 2005
By 
I first discovered Dido when I saw her video to Life for rent and I absolutely fell in love with the song. I now own her albums, but this DVD is a very special to me. She is fab on stage and her best performance had to be when she sang thank you, all I can say is that If you are a huge Dido fan you will love it. And if you aren't a huge Dido fan then by watching this you will become one, it is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dido: Live At Brixton Academy [DVD] [2013]
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews