Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality collection of classics and rarities.
Definitely worth having on the shelf of Northern Soul classics.

This collection represents colossally good value. Three CDs packed with those floor fillers and also a good sprinkling of gems that we haven't already tracked down. The quality of the recordings is such that it seems the original masters were used to curate these discs, as there is that fresh sound...
Published 2 months ago by Whitehatter

versus
80 of 83 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At Lest SOME Of The CORRECT Tracklisting Would've Been Nice...Not Much To Ask For Is It Amazon???
First of all if this was being marked on the music alone - it would be getting a decent 4.5/5 out of 5! I think we all know - & love - this superb music that, looking thru the tracklisting, yes we've probably come across before am I right?
That's just it - am I right though? 'Cos the tracklisting above & on other buying sites is completely at odds with what you get...
Published 14 months ago by A. Foss


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 83 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At Lest SOME Of The CORRECT Tracklisting Would've Been Nice...Not Much To Ask For Is It Amazon???, 9 Oct 2013
By 
A. Foss "Andy 'Mod'Pie' Foss" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
First of all if this was being marked on the music alone - it would be getting a decent 4.5/5 out of 5! I think we all know - & love - this superb music that, looking thru the tracklisting, yes we've probably come across before am I right?
That's just it - am I right though? 'Cos the tracklisting above & on other buying sites is completely at odds with what you get on the item itself!!!

I'll waste no more of your precious time, the music is superb & the majority looking here will be familiar with it so, I'll complete what should have been done by messrs Amazon, ebay [who are useless compilers of tracklistings anyway!] etc....

Disc: 1
1. Tainted Love - Gloria Jones
2. Here I Go Again - Archie Bell and The Drells
3. Please Operator - Tony & Tyrone
4. You Got to Pay Your Dues - The Drifters
5. Crazy Baby - The Coasters
6. That's When the Tears Start - The Blossoms
7. Livin' in Love - Sheila Anthony
8. You Hit Me (Where It Hurts) - Alice Clark
9. Open the Door to Your Heart - Darrell Banks
10. I'll Be Loving You - Soul Brothers Six
11. I Love Her So Much It Hurts - David & Ruben
12. Don't Pity Me - Joanie Sommers
13. Catch Me I'm Falling - Esther Phillips
14. Change My Darkness Into Light - The Flirtations
15. Mean It Baby - Carl Hall
16. Satisfied - Ben Aiken
17. My Love Is Getting Stronger - Cliff Nobles
18. Slippin' Around With You - Jimmy Hughes
19. Think It Over You - Harvey Averne Dozen
20. Just Can't Live My Life - Linda Jones
21. Get Ready - Ella Fitzgerald
22. Somebody (Somewhere) Needs Me - Ike and Tina Turner
23. Can't You See (You're Losing Me) - Mary Wells
24. Man With the Golden Touch - Charles Thomas
25. Contact - The Three Degrees

Disc: 2
1. The Snake - Al Wilson
2. Send Him Back - The Pointer Sisters
3. [Your Love Keeps Lifting Me] Higher & Higher - Jackie Wilson
4. Aint Nothing But A Houseparty - Showstoppers
5. I'm Going to Run Away from You - Tami Lynn
6.Seven Days Too Long - Chuck Wood
7. Angel Baby Dont You Ever Leave Me - Darrell Banks
8. Dance Dance Dance - The Casualeers
9. Comin' Home Baby - Mel Torme
10. Breakout - Mitch Ryder and The Detroit Wheels
11. Don't You Even Care - Leslie Uggams
12. Skiing in the Snow - The Invitations
13. Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man - Ila Vann
14. Breakaway - Derek Martin
15. Condition Red - Baltimore & Ohio Marching Band
16. Mr Creator - The Apollas
17. You're Ready Now - Frankie Valli
18. Big Bird - Eddie Floyd
19. Number One in Your Heart - Herbie Goins & The Nightimers
20. Feels Good - Bobby Wilson
21. Ain't That Terrible - Roy Redmond
22. The Joker - The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band
23. Just Say Goodbye - Esther Phillips
24. Bar-B-Q - Wendy Rene
25. Baby Call On Me - Wilson Pickett

Disc: 3
1. Love Don't Go Through No Changes On Me - Sister Sledge
2. Both Ends Against The Middle - Jackie Moore
3. This Beautiful Day - Levi Jackson
4. If You Ask Me (Because I Love You) - Jerry Williams
5. Time Marches On - Lainie Hill
6. I'm So Glad - The Fuzz
7. What Shall I Do - Frankie and The Classicals
8. Serving a Sentence of Life - Carl Douglas
9. Call On Me - The Dynells
10. Something New To Do - Bobby Sheen
11. Got to Find a Way - Cajun Hart
12. Something Burning - The Marvellos
13. Some Kind Of Wonderful - Soul Brothers Six
14. Since You Said You'd Be Mine - Lou Ragland
15. A Last Minute Miracle - Linda Jones
16. Baby Help Me - Percy Sledge
17. Walkin' Up a One Way Street - Willie Tee
18. Can't Live This Way - Barnaby Bye
19. Frantic Escape - The Innocent Bystanders
20. You Say That Ain't Love - The Paterson Singers
21. Isn't It a Shame - Kenny Wells
22. Find Me Somebody - Bobby Womack
23. You Make Me So Hot - Barbara Lynn
24. Movin' Away - Kenny Lynch
25. After Closing Time - Hal Frazier

Cheers - Andy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality collection of classics and rarities., 9 Oct 2014
By 
Whitehatter "Roy Ellor" (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
Definitely worth having on the shelf of Northern Soul classics.

This collection represents colossally good value. Three CDs packed with those floor fillers and also a good sprinkling of gems that we haven't already tracked down. The quality of the recordings is such that it seems the original masters were used to curate these discs, as there is that fresh sound one would expect from first generation copies.

Keep the faith and invest a relatively small amount in this 3 CD collection. You won't be sorry. It's not a bargain bin collection by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good compilation of Northern sounds, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
Although I have heard a lot of these on many other of my NS collections, this is a great triple CD. Would recomend this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Compilation, 6 April 2014
By 
G. K. Griffiths (Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
Since I have quite a large collection of Northern and soul tracks I was very pleased to find this particular compilation since it contained many tracks which were missing from my collection. The choice of content and the recording quality are absolutely first class and having compared a few of the tracks which I already owned on 45 vinyl it would seem that these CDs have used the original versions.

The compilation is extremely good value for the price and I would readily recommend it not just to lovers of Northern Soul but to anyone who favours black American music in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Soul - The Collection, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Ms. Tracy Henderson (Newark Notts England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
The cd was very good with loads of great tracks on. Absolutely love Northern Soul and the cd had old songs I hadn't heard for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one Northern Soul Compliation to own, 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
If you never not buy another Northern Soul Compilation CD then this is the one to own. 75 great original songs at an amazing price. Just listen and dream the time away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Good Collection, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
Great value collection. Inevitably their are tracks that i have on other CD's but some new songs are included I don't have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
great reminder of great music, remember them all well and takes you right back there tothose good 'ol times' .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with some tracks, 11 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
Not one of my fave CDs I'm afraid there is a lot better on offer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth every penny for Cajun Hart !!, 17 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
Great selection - worth every penny for Cajun Hart !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Northern Soul - The Collection
Northern Soul - The Collection by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews