Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Compilation
Since I have quite a large collection of Northern and soul tracks I was very pleased to find this particular compilation since it contained many tracks which were missing from my collection. The choice of content and the recording quality are absolutely first class and having compared a few of the tracks which I already owned on 45 vinyl it would seem that these CDs have...
Published 3 months ago by G. K. Griffiths

versus
55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At Lest SOME Of The CORRECT Tracklisting Would've Been Nice...Not Much To Ask For Is It Amazon???
First of all if this was being marked on the music alone - it would be getting a decent 4.5/5 out of 5! I think we all know - & love - this superb music that, looking thru the tracklisting, yes we've probably come across before am I right?
That's just it - am I right though? 'Cos the tracklisting above & on other buying sites is completely at odds with what you get...
Published 9 months ago by A. Foss


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At Lest SOME Of The CORRECT Tracklisting Would've Been Nice...Not Much To Ask For Is It Amazon???, 9 Oct 2013
By 
A. Foss "Andy 'Mod'Pie' Foss" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
First of all if this was being marked on the music alone - it would be getting a decent 4.5/5 out of 5! I think we all know - & love - this superb music that, looking thru the tracklisting, yes we've probably come across before am I right?
That's just it - am I right though? 'Cos the tracklisting above & on other buying sites is completely at odds with what you get on the item itself!!!

I'll waste no more of your precious time, the music is superb & the majority looking here will be familiar with it so, I'll complete what should have been done by messrs Amazon, ebay [who are useless compilers of tracklistings anyway!] etc....

Disc: 1
1. Tainted Love - Gloria Jones
2. Here I Go Again - Archie Bell and The Drells
3. Please Operator - Tony & Tyrone
4. You Got to Pay Your Dues - The Drifters
5. Crazy Baby - The Coasters
6. That's When the Tears Start - The Blossoms
7. Livin' in Love - Sheila Anthony
8. You Hit Me (Where It Hurts) - Alice Clark
9. Open the Door to Your Heart - Darrell Banks
10. I'll Be Loving You - Soul Brothers Six
11. I Love Her So Much It Hurts - David & Ruben
12. Don't Pity Me - Joanie Sommers
13. Catch Me I'm Falling - Esther Phillips
14. Change My Darkness Into Light - The Flirtations
15. Mean It Baby - Carl Hall
16. Satisfied - Ben Aiken
17. My Love Is Getting Stronger - Cliff Nobles
18. Slippin' Around With You - Jimmy Hughes
19. Think It Over You - Harvey Averne Dozen
20. Just Can't Live My Life - Linda Jones
21. Get Ready - Ella Fitzgerald
22. Somebody (Somewhere) Needs Me - Ike and Tina Turner
23. Can't You See (You're Losing Me) - Mary Wells
24. Man With the Golden Touch - Charles Thomas
25. Contact - The Three Degrees

Disc: 2
1. The Snake - Al Wilson
2. Send Him Back - The Pointer Sisters
3. [Your Love Keeps Lifting Me] Higher & Higher - Jackie Wilson
4. Aint Nothing But A Houseparty - Showstoppers
5. I'm Going to Run Away from You - Tami Lynn
6.Seven Days Too Long - Chuck Wood
7. Angel Baby Dont You Ever Leave Me - Darrell Banks
8. Dance Dance Dance - The Casualeers
9. Comin' Home Baby - Mel Torme
10. Breakout - Mitch Ryder and The Detroit Wheels
11. Don't You Even Care - Leslie Uggams
12. Skiing in the Snow - The Invitations
13. Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man - Ila Vann
14. Breakaway - Derek Martin
15. Condition Red - Baltimore & Ohio Marching Band
16. Mr Creator - The Apollas
17. You're Ready Now - Frankie Valli
18. Big Bird - Eddie Floyd
19. Number One in Your Heart - Herbie Goins & The Nightimers
20. Feels Good - Bobby Wilson
21. Ain't That Terrible - Roy Redmond
22. The Joker - The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band
23. Just Say Goodbye - Esther Phillips
24. Bar-B-Q - Wendy Rene
25. Baby Call On Me - Wilson Pickett

Disc: 3
1. Love Don't Go Through No Changes On Me - Sister Sledge
2. Both Ends Against The Middle - Jackie Moore
3. This Beautiful Day - Levi Jackson
4. If You Ask Me (Because I Love You) - Jerry Williams
5. Time Marches On - Lainie Hill
6. I'm So Glad - The Fuzz
7. What Shall I Do - Frankie and The Classicals
8. Serving a Sentence of Life - Carl Douglas
9. Call On Me - The Dynells
10. Something New To Do - Bobby Sheen
11. Got to Find a Way - Cajun Hart
12. Something Burning - The Marvellos
13. Some Kind Of Wonderful - Soul Brothers Six
14. Since You Said You'd Be Mine - Lou Ragland
15. A Last Minute Miracle - Linda Jones
16. Baby Help Me - Percy Sledge
17. Walkin' Up a One Way Street - Willie Tee
18. Can't Live This Way - Barnaby Bye
19. Frantic Escape - The Innocent Bystanders
20. You Say That Ain't Love - The Paterson Singers
21. Isn't It a Shame - Kenny Wells
22. Find Me Somebody - Bobby Womack
23. You Make Me So Hot - Barbara Lynn
24. Movin' Away - Kenny Lynch
25. After Closing Time - Hal Frazier

Cheers - Andy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Compilation, 6 April 2014
By 
G. K. Griffiths (Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
Since I have quite a large collection of Northern and soul tracks I was very pleased to find this particular compilation since it contained many tracks which were missing from my collection. The choice of content and the recording quality are absolutely first class and having compared a few of the tracks which I already owned on 45 vinyl it would seem that these CDs have used the original versions.

The compilation is extremely good value for the price and I would readily recommend it not just to lovers of Northern Soul but to anyone who favours black American music in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Soul - The Collection, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Ms. Tracy Henderson (Newark Notts England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
The cd was very good with loads of great tracks on. Absolutely love Northern Soul and the cd had old songs I hadn't heard for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good compilation of Northern sounds, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
Although I have heard a lot of these on many other of my NS collections, this is a great triple CD. Would recomend this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Tunes, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
Northern Soul - what else do you need to say. Very well put together album with a few surprises. Well worth getting for any Souly. I have been at it for 35 years and I still got a couple of nice surp[rises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
packaging high quality arrived very quickly the sound and quality was superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plain, 20 Jan 2014
By 
S. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
There is a vast array of cheaply-priced compilations available focussing on this largely uptempo and generally joyful soul music sub-genre. Unfortunately, there is a great deal of overlap in the song selection across these releases. This plainly-presented and plainly-titled 3CD box-set from Rhino proves no exception. It boasts a large number of tracks that appeared on the relatively well-received, pretty professional After Hours series of albums that the same label put out in the noughties. After Hours - Northern Soul Masters; After Hours 2 - More Northern Soul Masters, and After Hours 3 - More Northern Soul Masters showed professionalism (and good taste) in the way in the way that they raided the vaults of legendary labels like Atlantic; Atco; Loma; Reprise, and Warner Bros Records for relatively obscure but desirable material from the 1960s and 1970s. Northern Soul: The Collection cherry-picks some of the best from that bunch with selections like: The Apollas' 'Mr Creator'; Joanie Sommers' 'Don't Pity Me', Alice Clark's 'You Hit Me (Right Where It Hurt Me)'; Linda Jones' 'A Last Minute Miracle'; The Marvellos' `Something's Burnin'', and David & Ruben's 'I Love Her So Much It Hurts Me'. That finger-clicking, hip-shaking lot are supplemented by some stunning but predictable tracks that have graced 1001 other Northern Soul compilations: Al Wilson's 'The Snake'; Chuck Wood's 'Seven Days Too Long'; The Casualeers' 'Dance Dance Dance'; Jackie Wilson '(Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher and Higher', and Showstoppers' 'Ain't Nothing But A House Party'. And sadly some of the credits for the track listing when played on a Media Player are incorrect. Still, the sound quality is pretty good here considering the wildly varying sources and recording dates; and there are remarkably few clog-footed clunkers for a compilation that boasts 75 songs - though some of the mid-1970s offerings, such as Gloria Jones' re-recording of 'Tainted Love', and Barnaby Bye's 'Can't Live This Way', are a bit too slick for a genre that thrives on its ability to provide a rough-and-ready take on Motown music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
great reminder of great music, remember them all well and takes you right back there tothose good 'ol times' .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good start, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
this album has great songs on it ,if you are getting in to northern soul or looking for "those songs" they are on here ,,worth the money they are asking for ,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - love northern soul, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Collection (Audio CD)
Excellent - love northern soul. Keep the faith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Northern Soul - The Collection
Northern Soul - The Collection by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews