Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric still shines
Yet another Eric Bibb CD that has blown me away.
Not only the music content but the production and quality of this CD is second to none.
From the first bar of 'Drinkin' Ground' to the last of 'One Day at a Time', this album is superb.
If you are looking to buy your first Eric Bibb CD then try this one, it's a little cracker.
In my mind Eric is a man...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. Philip Mitchell

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit slick for my taste
I think this album sails down the middle of the road . you could put in on when an elderly relative comes round and it wont offend not so much there s a hellhound on my trail as there s a cute puppy asleep on the carpet
Published 13 months ago by ian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric still shines, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. Philip Mitchell "philjimi" (Valley Of Neptune) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jericho Road (Audio CD)
Yet another Eric Bibb CD that has blown me away.
Not only the music content but the production and quality of this CD is second to none.
From the first bar of 'Drinkin' Ground' to the last of 'One Day at a Time', this album is superb.
If you are looking to buy your first Eric Bibb CD then try this one, it's a little cracker.
In my mind Eric is a man that should have a lot more recognition than he has for his song writing, singing and playing guitar in his own wonderful style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAKE TO THE ROAD WITH ERIC BIBB..., 25 Oct. 2013
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jericho Road (Audio CD)
Just how does he do it, Eric Bibb has an amazing voice, plays superb guitar, but that is only the beginning. Very few artists consistently produce such brilliant albums, and this is again proof of his talent. The recent three albums have I thought impossible to equal, in the wonderful 'Booker's Guitar' ,he gave us the true art of acoustic blues in an album that was among the best of 2009, then in 2010 'Blues, Ballads and Work Songs', a celebration of hislove of the blues and the songs he grew up with, apart from a few tracks at the end a wholly solo affair, then last year we had 'Deeper In The Well', a slight change indirection in bringing in musicians he'd not recorded with before and peoducged another classic recorded down in Louisiana. Now in 2013 he's produced an album of what is going to be one played and rereleased for years to come. Bringing in producer Glen Scott, adding some African musicians,a horn section here and there, not to mention the strings alongside his voice and guitar on 'They Know', one highlight of so many in this stunning set. Gospel flovoured songs like 'The Lord's work',benefit by having some horns added, the really funky blues beat of 'With My Maker I Am One', will get those toes a moving, as will'Can't please Everybody', the driving rhythm's of 'Freedom train', the more traditional blues style of 'Death Row Blues', even this sounds so fresh and full of new ideas. This does not ever take away that we love so much about his music, Scott adds a new and exiting dimension to produce surely an album worthy of the highest awards going, it must be in there for Grammy's and the major blues awards come next year. It's one album you can't praise highly enough, it's one you've just got to hear for yourself. Eric bibb is one of the great singer/musicians of his generation but this album is just like having the cherry on the cake. Warm, wonderful and utterly enjoyable, every secongd of it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've only just discovered Eric Bibb and I can't believe that I've never heard him before.
This is a sublime LP. There isn't a weak track and there are so many highlights it's hard to single one out. Personal favourites are 'Let The Mothers Step Up, The Right Thing', 'They Know' and 'Now'.
If you enjoy blues, country, soul you should hear this.
Production is excellent by Glenn Scott (a British multi-insrumentalist), it just oozes class. Eric Bibb's singing and guitar playing are up there with the best. The last blues LP I enjoyed as much as this was John Lee Hooker's 'The Healer' and that was released in 1989!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eric Bibb at his best!, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jericho Road (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as a result of seeing Eric Bibb live recently. It is smooth, laid back and would highly recommend this any lovers of easy blues music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jericho Road (Audio CD)
Thoroughly recommend a listen to this as its easy listening and the guy has a really great melodious voice. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The lad has great potential, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. M. R. L. "M.L." (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jericho Road (Audio CD)
Great voice, really good guitar player, some tracks hit an excellent groove. I think that Eric Bibb is best when he is playing songs from his blues roots.

However, on this album (which is the first that I have heard from him) he doesn't get the balance right between getting the ideas of the song over artistically and preaching his (obviously Christian) ideas and ideals. Irrespecive of whether one agrees or disagrees with his lyrics, it's a bit "in your face" and, because he sees things so strongly and exclusive from a certain perspective he pehaps doesn't reach those who don't see things in exactly the same way.

There are also a couple of songs nearer the end on the CD that are a bit on the cheesy side which invoke the "cringe" factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit slick for my taste, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jericho Road (Audio CD)
I think this album sails down the middle of the road . you could put in on when an elderly relative comes round and it wont offend not so much there s a hellhound on my trail as there s a cute puppy asleep on the carpet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jericho Road (Audio CD)
Great but not as good as seeing him live, which we did at Oran Mor in Byres Road Glasgow a few weeks ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jericho Road (Audio CD)
Perfect!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jericho Road (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jericho Road
Jericho Road by Eric Bibb
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews