Customer Reviews


17 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A luminescent, scintillating tale, 13 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Phoenix (Hardcover)
I have just finished reading Phoenix. I am glowing.

Such is the warmth, poignancy and power of this remarkable book. It is a wonderful read; I was thrilled by many genuine goose-bumping, spine-tingling moments.

To read Phoenix is to be enthralled and absorbed - and to be transported, giddily across the galaxy.

To reflect afterwards is to marvel at how reading Phoenix is such an extraordinary, enchanting experience and to begin to appreciate that SF Said has somehow crafted a terrific, pure narrative that is steeped in myth, legend and the greatest stories in the universe. A tale that is written so clearly and with a tremendous, potent simplicity. A book the shines with great humanity*.

(*Though readers - and I suspect the author - may rightly quibble with the word `Humanity'....)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless message for any age that will change the way you look at the stars., 17 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Phoenix (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful story that takes you on a journey from the heart and emotions of a young guy to the fate of the universe. Dave McKean's wonderful artwork expands across the pages - a perfect match to SF Said's visual imagination where stars sing to each other. Kick ass characters with a pacifist ethic. Environmental destruction and war. A story about love and sacrifice. 'Phoenix' has a timeless message for any age that will change the way you look at the stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phoenix (Hardcover)
I thought that this book was one of the best books that I have ever read and I've read a hell of a lot a books. I honestly don't know where s.f. said gets his ideas from. This book has an insane twist which will leave everyone who reads it open-mouthed. This was a real page turner, I could not put it down.

I recommend this book to anyone who likes books, sci-fi and adventure.

Surge99 (14 years-old)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find out if one boy can save the galaxy, 26 April 2014
This review is from: Phoenix (Hardcover)
Phoenix is so good, it shot straight up into my list of 20 best books of all time. SF Said manages to cover life, death and the meaning of the universe in one story, with big dollops of humour and pathos thrown in. Lucky is one of the most interesting and unusual protagonists in MG fiction, and the truth about his clothing's unfortunate tendency to spontaneously combust in a crisis makes for a fantastic reveal at the end. Populated with wonderful characters, Phoenix explores everything from the pointless nature of war to the music of the spheres. It struck such a deep chord, I found myself listening hopefully to the night sky afterwards - just in case I could hear the stars...

PS Buy the book rather than ebook edition if possible. The illustrations by Dave McKean are extraordinarily good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Power, 2 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: Phoenix (Hardcover)
If you've ever dreamed about the stars, then you will love Phoenix, the story of a boy who does just that -- and finds himself flying among them, on an alien spaceship and through the power of his father's astrolabe, haunted by the songs of star beings called the Astraeus. Dave McKean's illustrations are literally out-of-this-world, taking the reader right into the heart of the stars, which is where SF Said's wondrous story begins and ends.

Leaving his home planet Phoenix after the stars sing to him, Lucky encounters travel at the speed of dark, star-worshipping aliens called the Axxa, almost-invisible government stealth ships, astrological martial arts, and whispers of a terrible threat, the wolf that eats the stars. The more he sees of the galaxy, in the company of his new Axxa friends Bixa Quicksilver and Frollix, the more he loves it -- and the more he wants to save it from the terrible war between Humans and Aliens that's thrown a great wall across space. But even neon-needled Bixa, the greatest fighter in the galaxy, doesn't know how to stop the war. When Lucky meets the Startalker of the Future, he learns that saving the galaxy may mean losing everything he loves. But -- even at the frozen edge of space, on a planet that shouldn't exist under the command of ferocious King Theobroma -- Lucky has Bixa and Frollix at his side, and together, they reach for the stars.

Phoenix thrills with the inventive, adventurous brio of the best of science fiction -- but Lucky's travels with the aliens with horns, hooves and glowing eyes tell a moving, accessible story about what matters most in our own world. This book has the power of a star to illuminate and inspire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Are Stardust..., 16 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Phoenix (Hardcover)
I'd enjoyed reading the two Varjak Paw books to my kids,and on the strength of that, thought I'd give Phoenix a go. So glad I did. It's a fantastic read.

It's sci-fi novel, as the words on the back cover make clear. 'One boy alone can save the galaxy.' It sounds like a pretty tall order and yet, in SF Said's capable hands the gradual unfolding of the plot is entirely plausible - as well as immensely imaginative and loads of fun!

I'm not going to talk about that plot as the information is drip fed to the reader, and a summary would spoil things. So what is it about? Well, everything really! Good and bad - and the grey bits in between. Life and death. Love and hate. War and Peace. Creation and destruction. The universe. Life itself...

And with such immense themes at play, it is to Dave McKean's credit that the illustrations manage to convey so much so beautifully. Whole chunks of the book are a coming together of the text and the illustrations, almost like a graphic novel, and give the reader the feeling of careering through space.

There is a lot of high quality fiction around for kids at the moment. But for me, Phoenix stands out as one of the best. SF Said is a star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars visionary and beautiful. S F Said has written a classic which ..., 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phoenix (Hardcover)
Epic, visionary and beautiful. S F Said has written a classic which every part of what it is to be alive and what it takes to be part of the universe. Dave McKean brings his unique view to bear through the most remarkable illustrations of his career. Spread the word, Phoenix deserves a wide audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phoenix (Kindle Edition)
Brilliantly written - a real page turner! You will love Lucky and Bixa and their story in the stars. Magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phoenix (Paperback)
Brilliant world building and characters you really care about. A gripping plot and such beautiful writing. This book is wise, original and so full of fresh ideas. I found it thought provoking and moving. I loved it. Great illustrations by the amazing DM too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phoenix (Hardcover)
Definitely on par with Varjak Paw books.
The characters are fun and interesting and the plot is
AWESOME! My kids loved the story and, being honest,
when the kids fell asleep, I kept reading and couldn't put
it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Phoenix
Phoenix by SF Said
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews