Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lost in the dark
After releasing an enticing debut album, Fenech Soler were being touted for greatness. But then singer Ben Duffy was diagnosed with cancer, and for a time it seemed as if the promising electro-pop outfit from Northamptonshire would be derailed. So this album in many ways feels like the band have been given a second lease of life, and a sense of relief and euphoria courses...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. S. M. Davies

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars rituals
This is ok, but I have a feeling that something is missing here. Same thing, same quality and same problems like first album. Anyway, if you are in love with synth pop this is likable album.
Published 10 months ago by Arsen Solovka


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lost in the dark, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rituals (MP3 Download)
After releasing an enticing debut album, Fenech Soler were being touted for greatness. But then singer Ben Duffy was diagnosed with cancer, and for a time it seemed as if the promising electro-pop outfit from Northamptonshire would be derailed. So this album in many ways feels like the band have been given a second lease of life, and a sense of relief and euphoria courses through opening track, 'Youth', which is filled with bouncy rhythms and falsetto vocals. It's hard not to see this song, and the album as a whole, as a celebration of simply being alive. 'Youth' itself is a masterpiece, vocal loops intertwining with synth loops until finally a 4/4 beat breaks to the surface after about a minute.

Of course, Fenech-Soler have an amazing grasp of melody, and a clutch of songs on this album show off their 'poppy' side. 'All I Know' and 'Magnetic' are infectious and successfully meld the band's dance background with pop sensibilities. Critics may carp at the lack of lyrical wordplay ('All I know is I did you wrong, all I know is you'd be strong, without me' is nothing groundbreaking, to be fair), but there aren't many bands out their with Fenech Soler's knack for producing smart, modern pop songs. Only 'Last Forever' seems a bit of a let down for me, and it's made slightly redundant by it's prologue track (Rituals 1), a much more sincere and poignant track. This song seems pretty bland compared to the more edgy and vibrant uptempo tracks on their debut, such as 'Lies' and 'Battlefield'.

One of the great things about their debut was that there were songs that gave their dance sound an emotional impact. 'Stop and Stare' being the most obvious example. On this record, 'In Our Blood' and 'Two Cities' fulfill the need for something a little more serious. The former features trilling, carribean-esque keyboard sounds and is an ode to Friday night and getting lost in the emotion of a great night out. The latter is more downtempo, and might be a direction that Fenech Soler take in the future, with Ben giving an edgy vocal performance, pleading, 'I've been trying/to make you see, the good in me'. If there is some sort of 'gap' in this album, it's maybe for something a bit more bass-orientated and moody, as opposed to always going for the euphoric, uplifting chorus, but 'Two Cities' is one song that offers a definite change of tone. It's also the only song on the album to feature guitars.

There has been a little criticism that this album is nothing new, that it simply rehashes their debut album, but there are subtle differences. 'Somebody' is much more funkier than anything they've done before, while 'Glow', the closer, is a more dance-orientated song than anything they've done previously. It has these trancey synths underpinned by a rock beat. It seems unncessarily critical to call this derivative, it's just beautiful music and it's a million miles beyond anything Delphic have produced, and more convincing a fusion of dance than Friendly Fires managed on 'Pala'. It's an exhilarating close to the album, with Ben crooning, 'Where do we go?'

Elsewhere, you have the post-trance come down of 'Maiyu', a ballad-y song that basks in swathes of synths and chanted melodies, another song that sounds totally different to anything on their debut. 'Fading' is an attempt to write a huge electro ballad: it's good, but doesn't fully capture what they were aiming for.

The album's standout is definitely 'Magnetic'. Again, another song that seems to simply celebrate being alive, being able to make music. The lyrics speak of escape, 'the past will be erased', while the chorus just bounces and pulses. Make no mistake, the album sounds huge: it's bright and bassy, so many different sounds.

I guess if Fenech-Soler have a fault, it's that their music is sometimes too obvious, and that is why sniffy critics will rarely give them the credit they deserve. The lyrics are nothing new, the music strives brazenly for the big, uplifting chorus, but you cannot deny that they are undisputably good at writing music, and that they create gorgeous sounds. After going through what they've been through, this album really is all about the sheer joy of being able to do what you love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rituals (Audio CD)
This is on my headphones at every gym session... I love it & I want everyone else to be listening to it...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, so underrated!, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: Rituals (Audio CD)
This band are so underrated, their first album was great and this album is even better! Catchy songs that never get boring, could listen to it over and over. There isn't a bad song on this album. Seriously, fenech-soler deserve more recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome talent! The record of the year!, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rituals (MP3 Download)
Can't stop playing the download, humming the tunes and enjoying the amazing talent of the guys! I love this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A+, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rituals (Audio CD)
Possibly the Best album released in 2013, this band deserves so much more recognition! If you're a fan of electronic music that isn't hard-hitting but more smooth-listening, especially with the vocals, then this one if a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great second album, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: Rituals (Audio CD)
Every song has it place, there is no filler song. They really know how to mix electronic and indie music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One for the electro fans, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rituals (MP3 Download)
I gave this album 5 stars because the sounds are so uplifting and give a sense of freedom. Thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars rituals, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Arsen Solovka "Arsen" (Mraclin, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rituals (Audio CD)
This is ok, but I have a feeling that something is missing here. Same thing, same quality and same problems like first album. Anyway, if you are in love with synth pop this is likable album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic second album, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rituals (MP3 Download)
If you liked their first album then this is pretty much a bit more of the same high standards, with a bit of evolution in their step. Every element of their sound which made me enjoy the first record so much has been bought over to their latest works with a subtle expansion of the depth in their music, showing that they can play on their strengths without relying on them. The first self-titled album was great, and I am very much looking forward to seeing it all played live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love them., 24 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rituals (Audio CD)
I knew Daniel Soler as a child and I am so excited that his band is doing well. He has probably completely forgotten me since the last time I saw him he was 7 or 8 but I remember him.

I am really excited for this CD to be released. I understand there has been some stock problems with it but I am willing to wait for it.

I hope this is as great as their first album because I have had that thing on repeat since I got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rituals
Rituals by Fenech-Soler (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews