Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant debut can't wait for more.
Thank you so much to Eva Dolan and Alison Hennessey for the copy of this book to review.
Peterborough is changing. Migrant workers, both legal and illegal, are working in the fields, the factories and the pubs of the town. When a man is burnt alive in a suburban garden shed, it brings an unwelcome spotlight on to that world, and two detectives are faced with...
Published 7 months ago by Liz Wilkins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good first novel.
I was given this book by someone who reviews books for a living. It is nicely presented and written about my home town - Peterborough. Actually it is all rather dark and sad. I liked the story though and it is well written - a first novel I understand.
Published 1 month ago by prziloczek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant debut can't wait for more., 4 Jan 2014
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Long Way Home (Zigic & Ferreira 1) (Kindle Edition)
Thank you so much to Eva Dolan and Alison Hennessey for the copy of this book to review.
Peterborough is changing. Migrant workers, both legal and illegal, are working in the fields, the factories and the pubs of the town. When a man is burnt alive in a suburban garden shed, it brings an unwelcome spotlight on to that world, and two detectives are faced with investigating a murder in a community that has more reason than most not to trust the police.

So, a debut novel and the start of a new detective series, you may ask, well, do we need anymore? My answer would be a resounding YES especially if they are going to be of this quality and standard. You always know you are onto a good thing when you pick up a book during a spare ten minutes then look up dazed an hour or so later and realise you missed your bus....

DI Zigic and DS Ferreira are the very definition of a perfect yin and yang working detective team - well drawn, intriguing personalities, well rounded backgrounds and sitting well in their surroundings, the reader has two perfect, yet often contradictory, sets of eyes with which to follow the action..

Tightly plotted and intelligently written, with a definite eye towards current affairs, I was intrigued and fascinated by this world of which I know little. There is a high degree of authenticity and an extremely realistic feeling to the whole story. Cleverly done indeed.

In the world of crime and mystery fiction this series is going to be one to watch...certainly when the next one becomes available I shall be knocking hapless book shop goers out of the way in my resolve to obtain a copy...

Happy Reading Folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazingly accomplished first novel, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Home (Zigic & Ferreira 1) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this after hearing Eva Dolan interviewed on Woman's Hour. Had I not heard the interview, I would never have thought this was a first novel, so assured is the writing. It's a bleak story in many ways, looking beyond the UKIP rhetoric to paint a true picture of exploited migrant labour. Some of the characters act badly because their life circumstances have left them with little choice; in particular, the awful inevitability of what the young women face is very distressing.

Through it all, though, there is a vein of humour, largely because Zigic and (especially) Ferreira are so warmly and sympathetically portrayed. I for one am hugely looking forward to reading more about them.

The book is quite long, which for me is a plus (I am a compulsive reader, and feel shortchanged by books I can get through too quickly) but might not please some people. Eva Dolan maintains the momemtum throughout, though, and I found this to be a real page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gritty, thoughtful read with a compelling plot, 13 July 2014
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Long Way Home is the antithesis of the classic English cozy. Rather than the amateur detective solving a dastardly crime in some middle/upper-class idyll, Dolan presents the rotten underbelly of modern Britain -- everyday racism, anti-social behaviour, poverty, and exploitation -- investigated by a police force under resource constraints and media pressure, who are mistrusted and little respected. The story is set in Peterborough, a place where there is an uneasy relationship between locals and new immigrants, many of whom are indentured to gang bosses, are poorly treated, and are kept in line with the threat of violence. The tale itself focuses on the investigation into the torching of a shed in which an immigrant slept by Detectives Zigic and Ferreira. The former is a second generation immigrant who worries he’s not spending enough time with his wife and two boys, the latter a feisty, headstrong young woman with a chip on her shoulder, who moved to Britain when she was seven. The real strength of the book is the plot, which is a cleverly worked police procedural with a couple of nice twists and turns, and the contextualisation and gritty social realism with respect to working class neighbourhoods and the treatment of some immigrants to Britain. There’s are fine lines between hectoring, moralising tale and searing, gritty social realism, and between lived lives and criminal/immigrant stereotypes and caricatures. Dolan understands the difference, managing to find the right balances and letting the injustice and morals of the tale speak for themselves. Overall, a gritty, thoughtful read with a compelling plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Paul D Brazill (Bydgoszcz, Poland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Long Way Home (Zigic & Ferreira 1) (Kindle Edition)
Eve Dolan's deftly written debut novel is a meaty murder mystery that uses a police investigation to cast a sharp eye below the surface of modern Britain and the barely visible world of its immigrant workers - legal and illegal. Long Way Home is gritty but never grim, realistic but paced as breathlessly as a tightly written thriller. Gripping, involving, sad and quite terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very promising, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gloomy look at immigrant workers, criminal gangs and two detectives (both from immigrant families) who try to solve the crimes.
But this is brilliantly written and can't wait for the follow up story. Eva Dolan is a writer to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start of what looks to be a promising series, 15 Jan 2014
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Long Way Home (Zigic & Ferreira 1) (Kindle Edition)
One of the 2014 debut books I was really looking forward to reading was Long Way Home by Eva Dolan so when I saw it was available to review on NetGalley I instantly requested a copy and I'm so glad that I did.

Long Way Home is the start of what looks to be a promising series featuring DI Zigic and DS Ferreira from the Hate Crimes Unit in Peterborough. When they are called to investigate the death of a migrant in an arson attack on a garden shed, it looks at first to be an open and shut case of the owners trying to evict their unwanted tenant by destroying the shed he'd been living in not realising that he was in there.

But as they try and investigate they come across resistance from the migrant population, both legal and illegal, who are reluctant to get involved and answer questions as worried about their own safety. One thing's for sure their open and shut case is not quite as straightforward as it first seemed...

I really liked the partnership between Zigic and Ferreira who on paper appear to be the complete opposites of each other but their styles seem to mesh so well to get the results needed.

Even though I found some of the scenes hard to read, and I'm sure there is far worse that goes on in this world that I know little about, I still found myself hooked and wanting to keep on reading. This was a brilliantly written story that drew me in from the start, I knew it was a winner for me when I sat down to read one chapter whilst cooking my tea and half an hour later the tea was burnt!

I'm already looking forward to the next book in the series, no pressure Eva, as I want to see what's in store for them next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific debut novel with an intriguing cast of characters, 13 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Long Way Home (Zigic & Ferreira 1) (Kindle Edition)
What initially seems like a case of racist white couple pushed too far, soon unfolds into mystery and intrigue, from the tortured lives of the eastern European girls working in the pub serving `drinks with extras', to the hidden slaves entrapped by brutal ganglords wanting cheap labour at any cost.

It's a harrowing read at times, but never less than fascinating - it's clear that the author has done her research as it feels hugely authentic. The prose has a somewhat hypnotic tone, carrying the reader along, and you can't fail to empathise with both 'criminals' and victims alike, as it is clear the most of the behaviour described is borne out of poverty and desperation.

Full of twists and turns with an excellent sense of place, this is one of these books where you want to devour it in one go, yet the unsettling nature of the various interwoven tales makes it a novel that you'll want to savour.

[Thank you to the publisher for the advance copy of this novel]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great debut, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Home (Zigic & Ferreira 1) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book after listening to an interview with the author on BBC Cambridgeshire a day after the release of the book. Interesting interview, Eva Nolan has obviously spent a lot of time researching the topic, Excellent read, I've recommended it to friends and would definitely recommend it to those with prejudices against migrant workers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Home (Zigic & Ferreira 1) (Kindle Edition)
An immigrant is squatting in a family's shed when it is burnt to the ground. This is the background to what I found to be quite a harrowing and distressing police procedural. I don't doubt that it is all factually correct but man's inhumanity to man, regardless of race is brutal and shocking when you see it at close quarters.It was all a bit too real for me.
I thought this was an exremely powerful first novel, not just for the plot which has all the required twists and turns, but for brilliant, acute portrayal of human nature at its best and worst. I think the Zigic and Ferreira characters will develop as the series continues as they are not particularly well developed in this novel and play second fiddle to the searing social commentary.
I read this book in one sitting as I wanted to know what happened but I found it an uncomfortable read, due to the aforesaid inhumanity of it. Yes, you should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More from Eva Dolan please!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Home (Zigic & Ferreira 1) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent debut novel - can't wait for more to come in the series.
Having lived in Peterborough, where the book is set, all my life I am familiar with virtually every location in the story and they are accurately portrayed (apart from one tiny little niggle that only a Peterborian would notice - King's School uniform blazers are burgundy coloured, the blue ones are Thomas Deacon Academy). The background of immigrant workers from different countries over the years is also accurately & sensitively handled.
Looking forward to reading more about Zigic & Ferreira.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews