Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible
As soon as this arrived it ruined my day. My eyes kept glancing at that luscious cover with love and I could not help flicking through the pages endlessly. Ever since, I swear I have dreamt of nothing but frostings. This book includes all kinds of sweet things to cover cakes, cupcakes and more, such as different frostings including my favourite buttercream; ganaches and...
Published 12 months ago by K. Platt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
swift delvery books described in previous reviews
Published 2 months ago by Mary Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible, 12 Sep 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frostings (Hardcover)
As soon as this arrived it ruined my day. My eyes kept glancing at that luscious cover with love and I could not help flicking through the pages endlessly. Ever since, I swear I have dreamt of nothing but frostings. This book includes all kinds of sweet things to cover cakes, cupcakes and more, such as different frostings including my favourite buttercream; ganaches and glazes. Just when I thought I could give up cake. I'll let you into a secret - it's the frostings I love. Do you too? I know my son does and I have a secret feeling most people do. Do you peel off the icing on your Christmas cake and eat it first or save it until last? This is the book for you. Indulge in frostings galore. There are 26 frostings in this book; six ganaches and eight glazes. Did you know there are four types of buttercream and they are all in this book. Enjoy the tips and techniques to achieve the perfect finish to your cakes. The cake recipes are not included. Hardly any recipes for frostings contain flour, so are suitable for gluten-free. Warning - use this book wisely, too much sugar is not healthy, but I am sure it is harmful to not indulge once in a while. Courtney makes indulging a real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, 9 Sep 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frostings (Hardcover)
The author, in her introduction to this book, sets the scene very well indeed with "There are two kinds of people in this world. You're either a frosting person or a cake person. You can probably imagine which one I am. I was the little girl that ate the cake in my birthday cake slice first so that the delicious frosting was left last, and I could savour each bite of sugary sweetness."

This reviewer hadn't considered matters so deeply before, but there is an element of self-awareness here. Often the topping of a cake or a biscuit is the thing you want to have last... So there is no surprise in the fact that this book focusses on the topping, the exterior, the good and tasty bit. Through this fairly slim book you will get to learn the basics about frosting, how to decorate the underlying cake and a lot of inspiration for decoration styles.

This book leaves this reviewer in a bit of a quandary. There are a lot of "variations on a theme" but that is sort of expected too. Some of the frostings, or finishings, do look rather yummy and thanks to the excellent food photography you want to reach into the book, pull out the cake and start munching away. Some of the frostings look rather fussy and there for the sake of it, but that is perhaps the inherent charm and versatility of this book - you can see the variety of options and then make your own creations. Just don't be too down heartened if your attempts don't turn out like the author's picture perfect offerings. At least if they are tasty you have an excuse to try again afterwards.

Those on a diet might wish to pass this book by, solely for the sake of their waistline!

Each frostings recipe is clearly, simply written and browsing through the recipes reveals many typical things as well as a few more exotic, out-of-the-ordinary items such as Chai Vanilla Bean or a "Pupcake Frosting" which is something for the four-legged member of your family. It was a nice little touch to see consideration given to other members of your family that many such cookbooks and recipe books tend to ignore.

A couple of niggles exist such as the insistence of using sole U.S. measures (referring to a metric conversion chart at the end is a cop out) and some stylistic grumbles, but nothing earth-shattering. This book is by no means unique yet it manages to still carve out a bit of a space in a crowded segment and could be worthy of consideration if you are a beginner to this sort of thing or just need some inspiration. If your bookshelves are groaning already with this sort of book, maybe it won't be sufficiently unique to warrant a purchase. Yet if you are a frosting addict, perhaps you will convince yourself anyway that you need this book too. Regardless, it is worthy book in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostings (Hardcover)
swift delvery books described in previous reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cake icing ideas, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Gen (Yate, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostings (Hardcover)
As the name of the book suggests, a big book of frostings. Be aware it is an American book so you need American cup measures or a good conversion. One thing that might be useful that was missing is some idea of how many cakes the quantity produced would cover. Most receipes seemed to make 4 1/2 cups which seems like a lot but I have no frame of reference for how much cake that would cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lovly ideas, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostings (Hardcover)
Lovly book shame it's all in cups tho as in not the biggest fan of cups but te frosting ideas are wounder full x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frostings (Hardcover)
This was purchased as a gift for Christmas and as such cannot comment on it effectively The person who it was purchased for has made some stunning decorations on cakes so can only assume it has been put to good use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frostings
Frostings by Courtney Dial Whitmore
7.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews