Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great History of Thor
I really enjoyed this! I'm somewhat familiar with Norse Legends having read several collections over the years but knew nothing of the history of the worship and religion attached to the Vikings themselves. I found this very entertaining. The book is informational in content and starts out with historical information on Thor as a god of Viking religion and where the...
Published 16 months ago by Nicola Mansfield

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Myths and Legends
The book is a bit dry as it only gives a summary of the myths and legends rather telling them. Still, I know more after reading the book than I did before, so it served its purpose.
Published 14 months ago by Karl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great History of Thor, 7 Dec. 2013
By 
I really enjoyed this! I'm somewhat familiar with Norse Legends having read several collections over the years but knew nothing of the history of the worship and religion attached to the Vikings themselves. I found this very entertaining. The book is informational in content and starts out with historical information on Thor as a god of Viking religion and where the myths and legends we know today came from. Then the main part of the book is a retelling of those myths which concern Thor. They are not told in a storyteller's voice but keep to the main points while still managing to be entertaining. Throughout this section, blocks of text are highlighted to bring historical context, definitions of customs and words, etc. Finally the book ends with a look at Thor after the Vikings to modern day; his use as a legendary hero figure, his symbolisms confiscated by the Nazis and of course, the Marvel Superhero. Very informational and entertaining! I did however think that the illustrations by Coimbra, which are lovely, were superfluous, as there are plenty of images of artwork and relics from the ages; pictures of actual Viking stonework, children's book illustrations, etc. The book is unassuming in appearance, and brief but the text is somewhat academic and I'd say the intended audience is senior highschool if not even adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars spot on, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: Viking God of Thunder (Myths and Legends series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
spot on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
S. Cook "stevetygertiger" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: Viking God of Thunder (Myths and Legends series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting book following the stories and beliefs behind the worship of the god Thor, (Thunor) nicely illustrated through out good read for those who's interest has been peaked by the recent Marvel films and are wanting to know a little more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good intro, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. D. A. Risch (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: Viking God of Thunder (Myths and Legends series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I liked this book generally as I'd made repeated 'pop-cultural' contact with Thor, and wanted to know a little bit more about the original (so to speak).

Covers all the bases and I didn't feel anything was missing - although a few more questions are raised than answered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Myths and Legends, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: Viking God of Thunder (Myths and Legends series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
The book is a bit dry as it only gives a summary of the myths and legends rather telling them. Still, I know more after reading the book than I did before, so it served its purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hammering it home, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: Viking God of Thunder (Myths and Legends series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I came across this Osprey book in the Children's section of the Twelve,Days of Kindle, but really this is one for the adult or young adult being full of research, great variety of illustrations including some presumably commissioned for thus work, which for adults should perhaps be renamed, "A hundred things you always wanted to ask about Thor but never did?" This will make a good companion, with scenario ideas and plenty of detail, for those wargames using Osprey's myth based rules, "Of God's and Mortals" I heartily recommend this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book to sit back and savour, 14 Sept. 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thor: Viking God of Thunder (Myths and Legends series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
With all the interest in the Norse god since his recent film exploits, its always good to get to see the source material as well as having the tales explained to make sense to not only the modern reader but also gives you some solid factual information without th need for an info-dump. It's well written, the method of bringing it over methodical and when added to a whole host of illustrations really make this a book that is one that's going to be hard to beat. All round a great book and I really can't wait to see what else Osprey will bring to the table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For my 9 year old grandson, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read for my 9 year old grandson who lives in British Columbia, a step forward from just reading Thor comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: Viking God of Thunder (Myths and Legends series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thor: God of Thunder, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: Viking God of Thunder (Myths and Legends series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book but it's the pictures that I enjoyed the most. It could be improved by making the language less tricky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews