Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parsifal Perfection
The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal by Damian Stevenson has done the impossible - it has actually improved upon the first book which I thought could not be bettered. I was wrong! Book 2 in the life of Ian Fleming is quite simply one of the best war thrillers I have ever read, and I've read so many of the greats - MacLean, Hassell, Hemingway to name a few...
Published 6 months ago by tassy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars First half of book fairly good and interesting allowing for Flemings tongue in cheek attitude ...
First half of book fairly good and interesting allowing for Flemings tongue in cheek attitude etc. But second half was like something out of "Boys Own" schoolboy adventures brought back memories of The Wizard,the Hotspur and Roy of the Rovers(giving my age away now) bunkum.
Published 3 months ago by David1947


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal (Kindle Edition)
Whether you're a fan of James Bond or Ian Fleming or just love a well-written thriller, this book is definitely a 'must read'.
Set during the second world war, the novel follows the exploits of Ian Fleming as he battles against situation and foe in an attempt to save the life of Hitler.
The action is fast-paced and the attention to detail is exquisite as the reader is led through a plot which feels like a cross between a Bond film script and a real Ian Fleming novel.
It is easy to see where Ian Fleming got his ideas for the adventures of his world famous hero and Damian Stevenson is like the master himself as he weaves his tales of espionage across continents and in dangerous situations equal to any best-selling thriller novel of past or present.
A wonderful winner in the excitement stakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel to `Operation Armada', 13 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal (Kindle Edition)
It's five years after the first `Ian Fleming Files' adventure (`The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Armada') and 17F has been called into action in the final stages of the war. Hitler is destroying himself and Germany faces imminent defeat. Only a secret society of anti-Hitlerian Nazis named Parsifal have other plans. They want to assassinate the Fuhrer and replace him with Rommel. Britain's Naval Intelligence dispatches Ian Fleming to Cairo to meet with Peter Ugarte, Parsifal's treasurer who has defected and absconded with the head of Parsifal's fiancee... It's a terrific set-up and the rest of the plot is a whirlwind ride. I think this book marks an improvement on `Operation Armada.' The action has been toned down to be more credible and the characterizations have more depth. Ian Fleming feels fully dimensional and there's a lot more going on than just fights with Nazis and bedding beauties (tho there's plenty of that too!). `The Ian Fleming Files' is shaping up to be a meaty series, one readers can really sink their teeth into. I was very impressed with the overall writing. A solid entertainment up there with the best spy and World War 2 fiction. Recommended to fans of Daniel Silva, Laura Hillenbrand and of course Ian Fleming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME THRILLER, 13 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal (Kindle Edition)
A great follow up to `Operation Armada.' Ian Fleming voyages around the world seducing dangerous women and fighting Nazis. Love it! I really enjoyed the chapter in the submarine and the Cairo sequence. The ending was poignant and has me hooked for `Operation Uncle Sam.' This series is recommended for anyone who loves a good spy thriller. It's like `Raiders of the Lost Ark' meets the James Bond books. Very well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first rate spy thriller., 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal (Kindle Edition)
The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal immediately grabs the reader and thrusts them into a high speed car chase through bomb torn 1944 London. Ian Fleming, agent 17F, has been summoned to intelligence headquarters. But first he must elude two Nazi agents intent upon his demise.

Author Damian Stevenson has an eye for detail and the literary skill to transform that detail into a gripping WW2 spy thriller. He has captured the spirit of Ian Fleming's James Bond and transferred it to Bond's creator. From a literary point of view, Stevenson has undertaken a dangerous challenge and pulls it off with Bond like aplomb.

Damian Stevenson is a up and coming talented author. I look forward to the next installment of the Ian Fleming Files.

Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Bond thriller! Ian Fleming is the real Bond., 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal (Kindle Edition)
As a WWII and James Bond fan, I was simply delighted to come across this superbly written espionage thriller. The realistic settings of WWII and covert operations that may or may not have happened came to life in this thriller. This historical fiction is a must for any WWII and/or Bond fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WW II Thriller, 7 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal (Kindle Edition)
Damian Stevenson does a great job with The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal. The attention to detail is refreshing. Well written, fast moving story line. My first Stevenson novel but not my last. Highly recommended to the historical thriller fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Great Read!, 6 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal (Kindle Edition)
I'm quickly becoming a huge fan of Ian Fleming! Once again I had planned my week to read this each night and once again I could not put it down. There is some interesting irony in this thriller involving Hitler. Stevenson's words make you feel, hear and experience all of the action. Simply awesome.

This is another must read for anyone...you'll enjoy all of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Bond, 13 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal (Kindle Edition)
Damian has done it again managed to take us on a great adventure including Adolf Hitler of all people!
Like the last book the action scenes are top notch and not over the top but you get a great sense of it as if watching it unfold before you. As well as setting the tone and scene just as well hope he keeps writing these and we keep swapping for honest reviews as i enjoy these files so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Spy Thriller, 10 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal (Kindle Edition)
A first-rate historical novel. I enjoyed it immensely. There is a lot here for Bond fans and World War 2 enthusiasts. A great read. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great concept well executed, 9 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal (Kindle Edition)
"Operation Parsifal", Book 2 in the Ian Fleming Files series is a remarkable achievement both in terms of historical accuracy and as a "Bond" / spy thriller.

Ian Fleming acts as a spy in her majesty's service and is sent to Egypt to recruit a German deserter and the mistress of a German industrialist to the British Intelligence. Parsifal is a secret organisation to bring down Hitler and replace him with a new Chancellor and naturally the Allies take an interest in this internal power battle and its consequences for Europe.

As writer of historical fiction about the era I was stunned at the detailed research and the accuracy of the people, places and the times: The physical descriptions of the Nazi big wigs and industrialists, the scenes set in a bombed and semi-destroyed London and the feeling amongst the German nation so briefly before the end of the Reich to name but a few, all are portrayed with competence and perfection.

The story itself also held great interest for me. I have seen all Bond films and very much enjoyed that Parsifal is written in a similar style but with a real historical connection rather than the invented villains with no connection to reality. For me that concept really worked and I found myself quite glued to the pages, wondering where the story line would take us next: Berlin, the Eagle's Nest or Fort Alderney in the channel islands.

Not only does Stevenson know his Bond and Fleming, he writes eloquently and with appropriate pace. There were no redundant stretches in the story line, dialogue and characters were well composed and made this a very enjoyable read. Now I'd like to know more about Fleming and his life so I could figure out how much of this is true and what was added as fiction.

An intriguing and worthy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ian Fleming Files: Operation Parsifal
£5.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews