Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing hard-SF puzzles expertly solved, with good humour
A very rare and precious book, this one, and long out of print; nobody is selling their copy! Colin Kapp was one of the best hard-science SF short-story writers of the lot; sadly, he died just a couple of years ago.
This collection of little gems poses intriguing puzzles to the Engineers who are exploring new planets and new technologies. Morals are carefully...
Published on 16 Aug. 2009 by R. F. Stevens

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dull. Unimaginative
Dull. Unimaginative.
Published 3 months ago by Chief of SInners


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing hard-SF puzzles expertly solved, with good humour, 16 Aug. 2009
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
A very rare and precious book, this one, and long out of print; nobody is selling their copy! Colin Kapp was one of the best hard-science SF short-story writers of the lot; sadly, he died just a couple of years ago.
This collection of little gems poses intriguing puzzles to the Engineers who are exploring new planets and new technologies. Morals are carefully hidden, but still there, like in The Subways of Tazoo where a wonderful technology wipes out its alien creators because they were too dependant on it and did not see the consequences of adopting it. The Engineers, of course, always solve the riddle.
The clever bit is that people remember these highly original little stories for years afterwards, and they are often quoted in other books!
I just wish there were more like these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful classic sf, 3 April 2011
By 
S. Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just, really, to echo the first reviewer. I read these stories in my teens in the New Writings in SF series and sourced this book for my own teenaged sons 30 years later. We are all still fans of these intriguing, well-written and memorable tales. If you are a fan of science or sf or engineering or just good yarns - and can find this book - buy it. (p.s. I'm a female English teacher - this IS relevant as some might think engineering sf is just for males on the obsessive end of the spectrum!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Obscure, but deserves to be called a Masterwork., 9 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. Jamie Thomas Durbin (Pembrokeshire, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unorthodox Engineers (Kindle Edition)
An obscure, but enjoyable read, Colin Kapp's "The Unorthodox Engineers" is, make no mistake, hard science fiction. For all the mentions of hyperdrives and aliens, the real focus here is on two things: The eponymous UE Cadre and the odd engineering problems they face, from a rogue planet where gravity shifts completely once every seven minutes, to a nickel-iron asteroid worn smooth by a miniature singularity.

It's very well written, and although the characters are not the most fleshed out, the clever foreshadowing of eventual solutions and the charm of the writing definitely wins me over on this one, and I would agree that this is, indeed, an SF Masterwork. Well, technically five... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Expect the unexpected., 25 April 2013
Fritz Van Noon and his motley crew are the most inventive engineers in the universe. They look at a problem from a sideways back-to-front viewpoint, shake the facts out of it and then use anything from bombs to harp strings to solve it. Usually driving their superiors crazy in the process and Van Noon is the worst of them all! These stories are fantastically entertaining and stand the test of time and science. Enjoy, and if you find out where to sign up for the UE let me know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've been looking for this for years!, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unorthodox Engineers (Kindle Edition)
I remember reading this from the library many years ago. It clearly made an impression since I've been looking for a copy since. A very amusing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MASH for Science Fiction, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unorthodox Engineers (Kindle Edition)
The story of a bunch of space force engineers who break every rule in the book and take 'out of the box' thinking to a whole new level this is a cracking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At least the Kindle version was affordable, 9 May 2014
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unorthodox Engineers (Kindle Edition)
I got this in Kindle (not my favourite format) viewing on a Tesco Hudl because of the horrendous price on the print version.
I got it because I was reminded of "The Subways of Tazoo" in SFX magazine (recommended!) and I recalled "The Pen and the Dark" vaguely from my college days.
What can I say? The stories are brief and to the point, and it's interesting to see how unorthodox engineering problems need unorthodox engineering solutions.

Yes, I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old favourite short stories in anthology, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unorthodox Engineers (Kindle Edition)
The late, great, Colin Kapp, taking a humorous look at lateral thinking in unusual engineering problems - starting nearly decade before de Bono coined the term...

Under-plotted and under-characterised .... or stripped back to a basic premise and unexpected resolution.

You'll either love it or hate it.

I loved it as a kid, and love it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British take on space - read it, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unorthodox Engineers (Kindle Edition)
I looked for this book for years, having read it 30 years ago. It is funny, clever and just brilliant. Classic style of short story set in the technology of the space age. Read it and be prepared to laugh out loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic SF, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unorthodox Engineers (Kindle Edition)
I came across the UE far too many years ago! By today's standards its wildly dated but, there's the charm. I intend to get a lot more of these older stories. If you read them many years ago, they still have that sense of mystery and wonder. If you have stumbled on this for the first time.... Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unorthodox Engineers
£2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews