Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting
Kenneth Grahame’s classic novel has lent itself to many film and television adaptations over the years and like most people I have probably seen most of them, but this one is quite possibly my favourite version. Of course there are slight variations between the story as told here and the book version, but you don’t really notice that as you get carried away...
Published 4 months ago by M. Dowden

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality very disappointing
I had this film on VHS video and jumped at the change to buy it on Blu Ray, but what a disappointment. The quality of the film is blurred and considering it was supposed to be enhanced, I consider it a bad purchase.
Published 9 months ago by Paul Lincs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 8 Aug 2014
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wind In The Willows - The Original Movie (Digitally Restored Edition - 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
Kenneth Grahame’s classic novel has lent itself to many film and television adaptations over the years and like most people I have probably seen most of them, but this one is quite possibly my favourite version. Of course there are slight variations between the story as told here and the book version, but you don’t really notice that as you get carried away with this.

Filmed with stop motion animation I always love watching this and seeing the attention to detail, with all the fireplaces, ornaments and furniture in the homes, and the outside scenes with animals and greenery. This film will keep your little ones quiet as they become enthralled as the story opens before them, and also us as adults are just as quiet as we remember this from our younger days and soon lose ourselves as well in the whole experience.

This film won both a BAFTA and an Emmy, and if this is the first time you have seen it you will soon realise why. There are subtitles on this DVD, but there are no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality very disappointing, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this film on VHS video and jumped at the change to buy it on Blu Ray, but what a disappointment. The quality of the film is blurred and considering it was supposed to be enhanced, I consider it a bad purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More like vhs than blu-ray., 7 Dec 2013
Something has gone wrong with this blu-ray as it looks worse than the dvd (the 2008 release). The picture is very soft with hardly any detail - the dvd is sharper with more detail. I dont know why they're saying this is digitally restored - it looks terrible.

The dvd is available here:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0010KG2P6/ref=cm_cd_asin_lnk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming movie, 2 Feb 2014
By 
The Voice Of Reason (Erith, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wind In The Willows - The Original Movie (Digitally Restored Edition - 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful and charming movie, beautifully voiced.

I love it, my kids love it and doubtless my grand children will!

Poop, poop!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WIND IN THE WILLOWS – The Original Movie (Digitally Restored Edition 2013) [Blu-ray], 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE WIND IN THE WILLOWS – The Original Movie (Digitally Restored Edition 2013) [Blu-ray] First published in 1908, Kenneth Grahame's 'The Wind In The Willows' has become one of the best loved books of all time, enchanting generations of children and adults alike.

Voiced by an all-star cast including DAVID JASON as Toad, MICHAEL HORDERN as Badger, RICHARD PEARSON as Mole and IAN CHARMICHAEL as Ratty with UNA STUBBS and BERYL REID.

Brought to the screen by award winning animation team Cosgrove Hall Films, 'The Wind In The Willows' original film introduces us, for the first time, to our four intrepid animal friends.

Toad decides that motor cars are the only way to travel, however his driving skills don't match up to his enthusiasm. Our countryside friends come to his rescue and try to help him stay on the right side of the road, and the law, in this exciting adventure.

BAFTA and Emmy award winning, this film set the template for the hugely successful five series of 'The Wind In The Willows' that followed. Based on the characters created by Kenneth Grahame.

Actors: David Jason, Richard Pearson, Ian Carmichael Michael Hordern, Beryl Reid, Una Stubbs and Brian Trueman

Directors: Chris Taylor and Mark Hall

Producers: Brian Cosgrove, Mark Hall and John Hambley

Screenplay: Rosemary Ann Sisson

Composer: Keith Hopwood and Malcolm Rowe

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 4:3

Audio: English: 2.0 Dolby Mono

Subtitles: None

Number of discs: 1

Running Time: 78 minutes

Region: All Regions

Studio: Fremantle Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: ‘The Wind in the Willows’ is one of the most beloved children's tales ever written and never before or since has it been shown in such a wonderful way than in Cosgrove Hall Films stop motion animation. Now people of my age will probably remember the television series, but here this is the original feature film which went on to win a BAFTA and International Emmy which is even better.

The story is simple, and those familiar with Kenneth Grahame's original story will all know it off by heart. It involves the riverbank adventures of the characters Mole, Rat, Badger and the wonderfully eccentric Toad. These characters all bandy together to help Toad stop his crazy antics, including the many things he becomes obsessed with (Boats, Carts or Cars Poop Poop!) and the problems caused by the dastardly Weasels.

This is shown through the wonders of stop motion animation, before the crazy antics of Aardmann Animation or when CGI took over and it is amazing just what the animators were able to achieve (remember this is 1983) and even just looking at the way the characters are animated surpasses even what most cinematic films were able to create at the time. It is surprising that Cosgrove Hall did not release this theatrically or did not go on to do more.

One of the most wonderful things about the story is the voice work provided by Ian Carmichael as Rat, Richard Pearson as Mole, Michael Hordern as Badger and of course David Jason stealing the show as Toad. The story is told in such a way that even if you are just listening to the audio the wonderful performances, music and sound effects mean you don't even need the visuals. But combined it makes it even better.

I did worry that my nostalgia glasses would either be blurred by my memory of watching it as a child, or would be smashed by it being awful, but thankfully that is not the case. The story is perfect, the characters fun and though there isn't as much humour as I seem to recall, I found myself smiling a few times at Toad and in my head whenever I think of Toad the only thing that comes to mind is the voice of David Jason. It is not surprising that the film spawned a TV series that spanned fifty-two episodes and is almost as beloved as this tale.

It is a shame that they did not include some extras with this Blu-ray, as it would have been nice to have had some sort of retrospective from the people who made it. A commentary track would have certainly been interesting to listen to. However, I understand that if this is being marketed to children that they would have no interest in these things. It would have been nice to have had a few episodes or clips from the TV show (especially if the complete series is also being released) or even to have included the difficult to find 1988 sequel A Tale of Two Toads, just to make this more of a 'must-have' item.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘The Wind in the Willows’ appears in its original aspect ratio of 4:3. The image quality is passable for this 1983 production, but no more than that. The image is soft-looking and faded, with colours looking muted, which is a particular shame in a film that's intended to catch the eye of children. But of course time can be very cruel and the animation is not as smooth as you would expect in 2013, especially with the brilliant Aardman Animations and I wish they would do an updated version for 2014, as I reckon they would produce the ultimate stop-motion Animation version.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The 2.0 Dolby Mono soundtrack is barely average, especially its age and a shame they did not try to upgrade the sound. The track sounds clean, with no background noise or distortion. It does tend to sound rather muffled and flat at times, though, which may make it hard for young listeners to follow some of the dialogue.

Finally, Cosgrove Hall Films ‘The Wind in the Willows’ is simply marvellous. This is not nostalgia talking, but simply a fact. If this was the first time I had seen this, I would still be saying the same. Everything about it shows just why Cosgrove Hall Films were such a huge entity in the 1980s and when you consider this is a company that brought us Dangermouse, Count Duckula amongst others it is often surprising to some when you hear people declare the best thing they ever did was this. Watching it again, I would absolutely agree. One criticism is why did they have to use the original THAMES Television identification at the start of the film, as this Company is no more, instead why didn’t they use the 2013 ITV Logo, very strange. Despite this, I am so pleased I have added this to my ever increasing Blu-ray Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars windy in our willows, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic childhood guilty pleasure, bought for my sister who is a bigger kid than I am .... personally I just love the Badger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 8 July 2014
This review is from: The Wind In The Willows - The Original Movie (Digitally Restored Edition - 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
Old school favourit for kids And adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wind In The Willows - The Original Movie (Digitally Restored Edition - 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
Great for the children, my son first enjoyed this over 30 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The wind in the willows., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wind In The Willows - The Original Movie (Digitally Restored Edition - 2013) [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who likes a trip down memory lane will love the characters and the actors who are voicing them. Lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poop, poop!!, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For a gigantic helping of nostalgia, this really is the only way to travel! The childhood memories just came flooding back when this went into the blu ray player. A must see for old and new audiences alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews