Customer Reviews


736 Reviews
5 star:
 (588)
4 star:
 (104)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!
This is the first book, in quite a while, that I haven't wanted to put down until it was finished. It made me laugh, smile and even choke back some tears. What an interesting varied life John has led and he delivers his story in such a down-to-earth way, you can't help but think you were actually there at some stage!
Published 14 months ago by carolshack51@yahoo.co.uk

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was a bit slow to start but got interesting
Having thoroughly enjoyed JB's standup on TV, I expected this book to be a laugh a minute. However, it started slowly, with a lot of only mildly amusing anecdotes about his childhood followed by a couple of chuckles about his college experience. Further into the book, he starts an adventure and gets into his family more and how "all this happened", which really I...
Published 7 months ago by Mollymee


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book, in quite a while, that I haven't wanted to put down until it was finished. It made me laugh, smile and even choke back some tears. What an interesting varied life John has led and he delivers his story in such a down-to-earth way, you can't help but think you were actually there at some stage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinatjng, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love John Bishop as a comedian And now admire him as a person. What an interesting and and eventful life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterical read, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Ms. Ca Jones (Hampshire. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutley love John Bishop...even more now since I've read this. Had tears rolling down my face so much I had to invest in a new box tissues. Thanks xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Did All This Happen?, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, honest and very funny. Really enjoyed John's description of his childhood. Would highly recommend as it kept my interest throughout. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down to earth, excellent read, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed reading this book. Husband is now reading it. Written well, slightly humourous but a great insight in to this comedian's life. Pleasure to read, no nonsense and whereas some autobiographies leave you with a negative feeling about the celebrity, John Bishop comes across as a really decent fella with experiences that many peope go through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I Like the Guy Even More, 3 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Of course the essence of an autobiography is to make your readers like you, although some authors have achieved the opposite. So the key is to be nice but not too nice. That's why John Bishop's book is a good un. He always comes over as an amiable chap anyway, the kind of guy you would like to share a few beers with. But he's not perfect as he continually tells us.

This book makes you like him even more. The guy's not perfect - he admits he hasn't been the greatest husband or father. But that adds to the honest approach which is appreciated. Here is a man who knows that he has been lucky in life, but that luck is based on ability and talent.

What shines through is his pride in being a Scouser and the pride in what he does. Today's celebrities seem to fall into one of two camps - eithe empty vacuous celebrities who are famous for just being who they are or genuine talents who go that extra mile. With his endurance and charity work Bishop falls firmly into the latter category.

This was an excellent and easy to read book that I was sorry to finish. And I still like the guy despite his radio show comments about Norwich and Norfolk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A true northern lad with true grit and determination. A book which i could not put down and ha me laughing out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great way to spend a rainy cold afternoon, a nice cuppa in your hand and John Bishop in you lap! Loved the book, no airs and graces just good old fashioned story telling and interesting it is too. Thank you John for a thoroughly enjoyable book and well done for trying........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Throughly enjoyable read, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
John Bishop is one of the best nation stand up comedians. It is interesting to read a book about his journey of becoming a comedian. I found the book interesting and witty. John comes across as a genuine nice and down to earth person. He is a northern lad hailing from Liverpool. The book reflects on his childhood, education, career and of course as a comedian. There are interesting stories which kept me glued for long periods. He vividly describe the events. I like the way he opens up to readers. There are plenty of parts where I laughed out loud. Writing an autobiography is about sharing memories, talking about ups and downs and being honest. John does a wonderful job of this. I throughly enjoyed the read and would recommend the read for anyone is a fan of the comedian and appreciates a quality autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Bishop, 3 Dec 2013
By 
Sally Davis (HARTLEPOOL,ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this a as present for a lady in her 70's who couldn't put it down and read within the week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews