Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! The Pink Martini you Know and Love
We just finished listening to all 16 songs of the Get Happy album and I must say this is the personification of Pink Martini, their music style and taste. Pink Martini is like a smorgasborg of international music from around the world which suits us down to the ground. The group provides an outlet for other artist to experiment on music they probably could not do on...
Published 14 months ago by J. Grefe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insipid
I was really looking forward to this arriving on the door mat, ripped open the packaging to the first disappointment - the packaging. Little cards inside an envelope with the lyric printed on, They fell straight out on the floor.

Playing the CD didn't help. Where's China's great rousing tunes? I'm not Storm's greatest fan live but even on this disk she doesn't...
Published 13 months ago by MrsH


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! The Pink Martini you Know and Love, 4 Oct 2013
By 
J. Grefe "JJ Bungles" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (MP3 Download)
We just finished listening to all 16 songs of the Get Happy album and I must say this is the personification of Pink Martini, their music style and taste. Pink Martini is like a smorgasborg of international music from around the world which suits us down to the ground. The group provides an outlet for other artist to experiment on music they probably could not do on their own and because it's Pink martini, you would expect this.

Hearing China sing again in many different languages has been a very welcome relief and we wish her many happy years of music. The whole group of musicians are fantastic and we hope they continue making music like this for many years to come.

This music will echo throughout our atrium for a very long time along with all the other wonderful Pink Martini music we own.

So....if you own previous Pink Martini music, you won't be disappointed. Get Happy is why we continue to buy and listen to this talented group.

Thanks Pink Martini!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another bell-ringer from Pink Martini..., 14 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
What a great mix of talent, arrangement, sophistication, and intelligence they are! This is my fifth album of theirs, and I promise you, there's never a feeling of having heard it before...with the exception of the four adjectives above...get it, listen to it, and love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insipid, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to this arriving on the door mat, ripped open the packaging to the first disappointment - the packaging. Little cards inside an envelope with the lyric printed on, They fell straight out on the floor.

Playing the CD didn't help. Where's China's great rousing tunes? I'm not Storm's greatest fan live but even on this disk she doesn't seem to be given the opportunity to show her talents. I do like Zundoko and wish there were more like it. Maybe China's vocal problems have led to more guest singers, but this just leads to the lack of cohesion. I hoped it would be a 'grower' on me but even after a couple of weeks in the car and on the i-phone it's still not doing it for me. I'd sum it up as 'insipid' with the odd flash of good old Pink Martini but unfortunately not the one for me. I hope for a return to the style of Hey Eugene and Splendor in the Grass with their next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime - As Ever! Read ALL The Reviews!!!*, 4 Oct 2013
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
Another delightful collection of songs and tunes from the multi talented Pink Martini. Stand out tracks include 'Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps" - but not sung in English, a delicious "Sway" and "What'll I Do?" known to millions of BBC watchers as the song from Birds of a Feather. Every arrangement is perfect, the guest vocalists (in particular, Rufus Wainwright on 'Kitty Come Home') are wonderful and China Forbes and Storm Large share vocals for some truly breath taking recordings.

Buy it, pop it on to your portable music player and prepare to sashay your way round the supermarket......I did.

*(BTW - this CD has had many positive reviews which, for some reason are NOT showing up at the top of the page. If they were, it would be a 5 star release)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
Pink martini at their creative musical best. Fantastic choice of music and beautifully delivered musically. The guest artists complimented the Pink Martini style. Great to listen to in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
Love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 18 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
This group of musicians are very clever and they show off their talents in a wide range of tracks. Sometimes you feel the tracks should follow a theme and the eclectic mix plays havoc with your current mood, but undeniably brilliant musicianship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 5 April 2014
By 
Mr. Robert Weber (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
Up to the high standard of what you expect from "Pink Martini". Filled with the wonderful mix of world music from different corners of the globe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pink Martini, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Katie M "Katie Murphy" (Pembrokeshire Wales UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (MP3 Download)
Certainly not as good as I had imagined. Phyllis Diller singing, you can hear that poor woman's dentures clacking. Blyme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album will make you happy!, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
This is Pink Martini at their best! Vocals are alternatively by China Forbes and Storm Lange.
Some of the collaborations on this album are very successful, e.g. with Rufus Wainright and with the Von Trapps.
If you like the band, you will certainly enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get Happy
Get Happy by Pink Martini
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews