Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAILROAD WESTERN. Hell of a good show.
The story of Hell on Wheels follows the former Confederate soldier Cullen Bohannan (Anson Mount), who finds work on the railroad whilst tracking down the Union soldiers responsible for the murder of his wife and child. Cullen was fighting the war while his family remained on the farm (reminiscent of the Gladiator). Immediately, bam, you have our anti-hero Cullen executing...
Published on 1 May 2012 by Mr. William Oxley

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where are we going?
This series - revenge and railways - is well acted and enjoyable with some memorable characters, lookout for the Swede. But like Boardwalk Empire 1 there seems to be a lot of set up for the future. I didn't think the plotting/action was strong enough to let this stand alone so you have to be in it for the long haul. Like Deadwood it covers fascinating times and events but...
Published 15 months ago by Remnant


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAILROAD WESTERN. Hell of a good show., 1 May 2012
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The story of Hell on Wheels follows the former Confederate soldier Cullen Bohannan (Anson Mount), who finds work on the railroad whilst tracking down the Union soldiers responsible for the murder of his wife and child. Cullen was fighting the war while his family remained on the farm (reminiscent of the Gladiator). Immediately, bam, you have our anti-hero Cullen executing one his targets, and it just continues from there.

Hell on Wheels is actually the name of the makeshift town. Out here in the wild West there are Indians, priests, villans, ex-soldiers, whores, and everything in between. Cullen is up against the Swede who enforces the railroads law, and takes a cut for himself on the side. Canadian actor Christopher Heyerdahl who plays the Swede, is stand out brilliant.

This is one hell of a good show. If you enjoy action, violence, great characters, and a gripping story line, then watch this. This is almost as good as Sons of Anarchy - Season 1 [DVD], Dexter : Complete Season 1 [DVD], and Game of Thrones - Season 1 [DVD].

The show is made by AMC in the US and they have decided to make Season 2. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell on Wheels Series 1, 9 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not knowing what to expect I thought I`d take a look at this series. I`m glad I did, I thought it was a first class western, it seems authentic as to how I would imagine post civil war America would be, it`s gritty, violent & an excellent cast who play their characters without fault. Very watchable & highly recommended. I will buy the second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trains, ex-slaves and post Civil War tensions in flammable mix, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
American TV continues its run of quality series with this Western set in post Civil War America. There is a sense of the familiar in the way the episodes are put together, using the editing and music stylistic choices that have worked well in other quality TV series, but satisfyingly there is also a sense of something new, in the setting and the characters. The setting is a gritty - well no, lets make that muddy, settlement which houses the workers on the railroad, and moves from time to time to stay where the work is - hence the title. Into this town of ex slaves, immigrants, criminals and whores, comes an ex-Confederate soldier, on the trail of Union soldiers who murdered his wife. However the pleasure in the series isn't this slim character arc, but rather getting to know the range of characters who subvert the usual clichéd expectations in Western - yes, we get the hooker with a heart of gold - but her history is an unexpected one, and yes, we get the lone preacher trying to convert the wretched hive of scum and villainy - but his character is also not as we at first expect. Even Colm Meaney's magnificent railroad baron is a treat, as he defies expectations and manipulates (and occasionally is manipulated) those around him. The head of security is a fantastic creation - The Swede, and then there is Common, playing the ex slave, and Dominique McElligott as the Englishwoman who supplies the beauty against the range of beasts on display. They're all well drawn and well acted characters, which makes this an eminently watchable series.
I had the same view as others as I watched this, that it was good to have a Deadwood Ultimate Collection Seasons 1-3 [DVD] substitute back on screen - but in fact it's kind of unfair to compare the two. The settings are quite different, though both maximise the drama by using a very distinct geographically bounded area to set their scene. They are both down and dirty and show humanity at more lows than highs, but I would suggest there is a hint more optimism here, even if we still have the violence and cursing and whoring. I am not an expert on the period, but the railroad crews are an interesting point of view to peek into this period of history and convinces as to its authenticity thanks in large part to its utterly committed cast. I for one am looking forward to the next series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hell On Wheels - Series 1 [DVD], 18 April 2012
By 
Katrena Hoskin (Warrnambool, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
This series was a great surprise, it has been some time since a good western series was made. A great cast and a very interesting look at the building of the rails from east to west in an effort to heal the wounds of the civil ware that had split the country north to south. Anson Mount is very good as Cullen Bonhanan the ex confederate solied bent on avenging the death of his wife and son at the hands of union soldiers. Colm Meaney as the head of the railway Thomas "Doc" Durrant is marvelous as the baddy you love to hate. You will also find a lot of familiar faces in a great ensemble cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell On Wheels., 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had been told how good Hell on wheels was, but I had missed seeing it on t.v,so I decided to buy series 1&2.
I was not disappointed it is a brilliant western.
The price was very good,and it came with free delivery.
I would certainly use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven or Hell? Depends on youir point of view., 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great acting from thr three male leads sets this series apart. The premise is interesting and I loved the unpredictability of the storylines and the grittiness of the subject treatment. The hero is a delight. good looking enough to make female hearts flutter and macho enough to keep the men engaged. Lots of violence and themes of slavery and the mistreatment of the Native American population add interest and depth to the subject and the narrative. As always there are irritants such as the slightly daffy female lead and the preacher character but they are minor flaws in an otherwise strong raft of characters. We loved it and will be buying the next series - can't say better than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell on Wheels, 29 Jun 2012
Just to back up the above two reviews. I discovered the series by accident, just in time to miss episode one... It is well-written, well-casted, well-acted and 'well' just about everything else. It is tense, gripping and almost visceral. You can feel the tension, hell, you can almost SMELL it.
The main plot rattles along, all the while accompanied by several sub-plots, vested interests and twists and turns involving different cast members at different times.
Basically, this is Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where are we going?, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series - revenge and railways - is well acted and enjoyable with some memorable characters, lookout for the Swede. But like Boardwalk Empire 1 there seems to be a lot of set up for the future. I didn't think the plotting/action was strong enough to let this stand alone so you have to be in it for the long haul. Like Deadwood it covers fascinating times and events but didn't grip the way Deadwood did. If its fun your after you will enjoy. I may be interested in season 2, not sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Vengence Movie with a twist, 7 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good acting and a good story line with quite a few interesting sub plots going on.

Hell on Wheels is the name of a camp in which a railroad construction squad live.

The story is based around the building of an east west train line by mainly ex-cons and freed black slaves. Many with their own story to tell. The principal Character is played by Anson Mount an ex Confederate Army Officer looking for the Yankee's that raped and murdered his wife and child. (a bit like Eastwood's "The Outlaw Jose Wales" but with a twist)

As expected there is also quite a bit of double dealing, backstabbing and treachery mixed in for good measure. In reality all the characters are baddies but some are much worse than others.

The most loathsome of the bad baddies is a character called the Swede (he is actually a Norwegian and can't understand why he is called the Swede). The Swede is a strange looking skinny beanpole of a person with a manipulative masochistic and yet sadistic psychopathic character to boot. He has the perfect appearance for the arch-baddie and makes one feel a little uncomfortable whenever he appears, yet he invokes a little pathos at the same time.
It is only towards the end of season two that the true motivation for his wickedness becomes apparent when he links up with the Indians. Like many bad baddies he appears very difficult to kill

Another principal character is the drunken priest - this I found to be the weak point of the series as his story has been repeated in so many films before.

This is an excellent series and I can't wait for season three to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprise addiction, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well acted well written great scenery apparently filmed in Alberta. It has the addiction of 24 and more entertaining than Deadwood in so much as you can actually understand the dialogue. Looking forward to Season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Immoral Mathematics
Immoral Mathematics by Alex Zakrzewski
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews