Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
This is a good book for a simple read, it updates you on some of the families from previous Lakeshore Chronicles, but, I didn't find it as consuming as the previous books. It seemed to be over before it had really got going. I would still recommend it as a good read, as it was a good read, just not as good as the others in the series.
Published 12 months ago by Lil

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Candlelight Christmas
Written in gentle style, this story takes us to a mountain resort that just begs for investment. Darcy Fitzgerald married a divorced father but his kids convinced their parents to get back together. A year after Darcy's divorce Logan O'Donnell seems like a nice guy, but he's got a son who spends holiday times with him - she's not keen to go there again...
Published 13 months ago by Clare O'Beara


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Candlelight Christmas, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Written in gentle style, this story takes us to a mountain resort that just begs for investment. Darcy Fitzgerald married a divorced father but his kids convinced their parents to get back together. A year after Darcy's divorce Logan O'Donnell seems like a nice guy, but he's got a son who spends holiday times with him - she's not keen to go there again.

Co-parenting sounds fine until you try it, thinks Logan regretfully as he hands young Charlie back to his mother. Heading off to blaze some trails on his mountain bike, Logan is convinced that the failing ski resort he wants to buy could earn its keep from adventure sports during summer. Logan's sister India is Darcy's best friend and Darcy jumps at the chance to stay with Logan and India for Thanksgiving. Darcy explains at their beach house that she is in sports marketing - she models sports wear, with snowboarding gear up next. Logan invites her for Christmas at his newly purchased resort in the Catskills. She accepts, but there will be kids present...

Charlie and his school pal from the projects, Andre, are great youngsters, though aged nine they seem a little old to have a firm belief in Santa's powers of sorting out situations. I welcomed the introduction of Andre as he showed a less well off side of society - his mother has been jailed, and she's pleased that her son will have a good Christmas when Andre gets an invitation to keep Charlie company at the ski resort.

There is not a lot of action in this book by Susan Wiggs but plenty of characterisation and long conversations, as romance gently arrives. We also get recipes ranging from pickles to eggnog pancakes or beer cheese spread. I would have liked some more action or tension or perhaps to see some of Andre's life, and that is why I am not giving it more stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candlelight Christmas (The Lakeshore Chronicles - Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
This is a good book for a simple read, it updates you on some of the families from previous Lakeshore Chronicles, but, I didn't find it as consuming as the previous books. It seemed to be over before it had really got going. I would still recommend it as a good read, as it was a good read, just not as good as the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great escape!, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candlelight Christmas (The Lakeshore Chronicles - Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I have fully enjoyed this series of books, total escapism, I like the links to each book, but think you could still pick up any one of them and enjoy it individually, thank you for a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lakeshores chronicles, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candlelight Christmas (The Lakeshore Chronicles - Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I love the whole series, hopefully there are more to come. Not normally the kind of book I'd pick up but took a good gamble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candlelight Christmas (The Lakeshore Chronicles - Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful story of Christmas as it should be all over the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candlelight Christmas (The Lakeshore Chronicles - Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
This is my last one in this wonderful series. I have loved the books since first arriving at Willow Lake. Such easy to read stories and each book is a part of this magical place I loved to escape to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candlelight Christmas (The Lakeshore Chronicles - Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I always look for a book that I can curl up with and lose myself in and this did not dissapoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Feelgood story, 3 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candlelight Christmas (The Lakeshore Chronicles - Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
One of the best Lakeshore Chronicles books. Logan may have been portrayed less sympathetically in the previous books. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Candlelit Christmas, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candlelight Christmas (The Lakeshore Chronicles - Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
This was a very enjoyable novel, but after reading it, I found out that it was the last in the series of 10 so I am going to try and read the previous novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely christmas, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candlelight Christmas (The Lakeshore Chronicles - Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. I just love a happy ending but didn't want it to end must check the other 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews