Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars39
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2014
Even though this is one of Dawn's earlier comedy series, it still holds up today. Full of dark humour - each episode keeps you guessing who gets murdered or who is the murderer, always with a clever twist, and quite funny.
This box set houses all of the 4 series in one collection and at a bargain price. This is well worth the money and fans of Dawn or good comedy will love love this!!!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
Murder Most Horrid is arguably a great programme that showcases Dawn French's acting. The make-up on the programme must also be applauded for changing French's looks from episode to episode. The writing is top notch, and the humour is subtle. The first series is flat out hilarious (think light entertainment), but from the second series onwards, the humour has a tinge of darkness to it. Nevertheless, it makes a compelling viewing.

Show aside, the release of Murder Most Horrid has been, well, horrid. The first series was released way back in 2008. Then various versions of the series was released (Series 2, 3 and 4 on their own, a combo package of Series 1 and 2, and the complete collection). However, the planned combo package of Series 3 and 4 was never released (was penciled in for a September 2014 release, if memory serves me well), but was then cancelled and the date was pushed back. This does not bode well for those who had purchased Series 1 solo in 2008 or the combo package of Series 1 and 2 in 2012 (as I did). For those who have not bought any variations of the series, it is best to get the complete collection as it contains all four series, and comes in at a cheaper price than buying the individual series.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Brings back memories, I was in high school when these were on tv.
Dawn French is ace & shows a variety of her acting skills. Do not hesitate in buying this box set...laugh & enjoy
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
Humour can be different in many people but this type of humour appeals to me. Perhaps not as funny as her "Vicar of Dibley", but French relies more on her own talents in this excellent series. Whilst being a grisly subject it is mainly done for effect and usually with a twist to the tale. In my opinion this is a series well worth watching and at more than a reasonable cost. Let's have more series like this Dawn.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Great series - can't beat a bit of Dawn French. Remember being allowed to stay up late to watch this, wtaching it again brought it all flooding back!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
This was a brilliant series - great its finally on DVD. However, For a series recorded in the early 1990s I think the quality that's made it nto this DVD release is little disappointing.

There is a lot of compression noise ("mosquito noise") in several scenes across across all the series which detracts from the enjoyment slightly. My Sony Blu-ray player has "MNR" which reduces compression noise, but even with this at max some compression noise is still noticeable. There seems to have been some dot-noise on the original film (the original series seems to have been shot on film not tape).The bit-rates used are quite low in some scenes (averaging 3-4 Mb/sec for the video most of the time according to my player) and I suspect a higher bit-rate would have helped reduce the compression noise generated by encoding the dot noise. Shame the series wasn't re-mastered or "pre-treated" to remove the dot noise before preparing for DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Great dvd set a reminder of my youth.
Loved the show and now can watch it any time i need a giggle.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Love Dawn French and anything she is in, but these were completely different. Was glad to get this box set for a good price,
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
This is a Fantastic 1990s show, A MUST SEE! Some episodes are silly, some are weird, and some are really brilliant; but through every murder most horrid, Dawn French is just WONDERFUL! She shines as an unloved granny, a Hairdresser held hostage and an under cover cop and even as Death her self! She is so Funny, Scary, Sexy, and This Show displays what a true comic and acting gem she really is. Buy this and be amazed at her talent and prepared for the unexpected or you might die of laughter.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Just finished watching the last episode.
This is a very funny show and I would highly recommend it to
any lovers of comedy.
Dawn French plays so many different characters and must
be congratulated for her performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)