Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely London
There is a book by another author by S Selvon that was written in the 1950's (lonely londoners) that this book reminds me of. It captures that spirit perfectly of immigrants moving to London. Selvon's book was about black west indians moving to London, McWatt concentrates on one lonely Polish woman moving to the capital.

In the constant immigration debate in...
Published 10 months ago by Oolong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The story was sad but intriguing- what will happen to Katrin
I missed the meaning of the title- was it a bitter-sweet relationship? I found the characters interesting- but was left with a lot of questions at the end-was that the intention?
The story was sad but intriguing- what will happen to Katrin? Will she remain in Gdansk? What happens to Robin?
So, the question is, will there be a sequel to explain all? Or are we...
Published 5 months ago by Heather P Kirby Heather Kirby


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely London, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taste of Marmalade (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
There is a book by another author by S Selvon that was written in the 1950's (lonely londoners) that this book reminds me of. It captures that spirit perfectly of immigrants moving to London. Selvon's book was about black west indians moving to London, McWatt concentrates on one lonely Polish woman moving to the capital.

In the constant immigration debate in the UK, books like these reminds us people come here not for 'an easy life'. You feel for the character and McWatt prose is hypnotic in taking you into this poor girl's world, her hopes and dreams. Very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bitter-sweet love story, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taste of Marmalade (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written story with a sad undertow. Spare,elegant prose that leads you swiftly through the pages. I really liked the view of London by a young Polish girl in a coffee shop. Will be coming back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complications of belonging and not belonging, 16 Sept. 2013
By 
Natalie Klym (Provincetown, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Taste of Marmalade (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
McWatt has once again captured with beautiful prose the complications around belonging and not belonging -- to places and to people. Her subtle yet heart-wrenching observations can make the reader cringe, often in recognition of having experienced the same rejection, or perhaps the hesitation, to truly connect and commit with consequence. The unreal reality of Ned Time is brilliant. We have all lived in Ned Time at some point in our lives...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good insite as to how a stranger is treated in another country., 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taste of Marmalade (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I liked this story,as so many people must go through a similar experience when coming to a strange country.
You felt so sorry for her and wanted some one to be kind and not exploit her.
Good that she had the thought of her Mother coming to join her to keep her going.
When reading of her experience it may make others realise how difficult it is to fit in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Broken Dreams, 7 Nov. 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taste of Marmalade (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Katrin is an educated young woman who comes from Gdansk to London with hopes of building a better life. As she learns English, she is faced with the hardships of being a stranger in a foreign land, doing a menial job, living in a small bedsit and a mother in Poland shortly to join her. A romance flounders and the fire in her belly turns to something else as her ambitions wilt. A short, poignant story conveyed in memorable prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and emcompassing, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taste of Marmalade (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The way the author conveys life from a foreigners perspective is insightful. I thoroughly enjoyed this piece. It's definitely worth a read if you're trying to learn to write from the masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taste of Marmalade (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A captivating story and wonderful read. Tessa was able to relay feelings and tell a story that makes readers feel as if they are living through it themselves. I loved the concept of Ned time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The story was sad but intriguing- what will happen to Katrin, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taste of Marmalade (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I missed the meaning of the title- was it a bitter-sweet relationship? I found the characters interesting- but was left with a lot of questions at the end-was that the intention?
The story was sad but intriguing- what will happen to Katrin? Will she remain in Gdansk? What happens to Robin?
So, the question is, will there be a sequel to explain all? Or are we left on a cliffhanger to make up our own mind about the possibilities?
I just don't know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Short, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taste of Marmalade (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I thought it was just too short - I was disappointed as I like to settle down for a long read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fair, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Taste of Marmalade (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Is this a short story very thought provoking. An interesting story of life of a young girl who moves from Poland to London how long and hard life is in a strange place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews