Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars59
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on 26 September 2013
I hope it won't take another 15 years for Clannad to release a new album but this one was worth the waiting. I am from Germany and I don't speak Gaelic at all, so with the Gaelic songs I just listen to the sound and the voices of Moya and the rest of the band. I wish I could understand the lyrics.
The album offers a variety of tradtional arranged songs and new modern songs and this mixture is perfect. It's definately the "Clannad sound". Moya's voice is still as beautiful as it was when I first heard it in 1987.
Also the song "Brave Enough" with Duke Special is wonderful.
I just hope Clannad will do a tour in Germany next year, I'll be one of the first to buy tickets - no matter where they are going to play!

The only thing that bothers me a bit is that there is no booklet and no real jewel case. I would have loved a few more photos and maybe a few words from the band. But other than that the album is great.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 6 October 2013
Clannad have been making music for a very long time now, with their unique blend of ancient Irish folk and modern rock and pop influences. There are two things everyone knows about Clannad: "They used to have Enya in them, didn't they?" and "They did that Robin Hood programme, right?" The answer to both of these is yes, but Enya is not the vocal star here (she departed in the early eighties), it's her sister Moya Brennan who has a voice that has not aged a day over the band's career. It remains pure and beautiful as it was on the Robin of Sherwood album. And there's a reason everyone remembers that show - the highly memorable memories that Clannad construct are a testament to the songwriting skill of all five members.
On Nadur that writing skill is brought to bear on songs that defy categorisation in many cases. Some, such as the lovely instrumental Lamh ar Lamh, are clearly folk, but most belong in a category marked "only Clannad does this"! They bring in guest vocalist Duke Special (probably not his real name) on standout track Brave Enough to great effect, and this song swells like a wave on a stormy sea while others employ more stripped back and gentle arrangements to create tracks with the beauty of a dewdrop on a leaf. Pol Brennan's whistle and flute playing, having been notably absent from a couple of their albums, is brought to the fore and sounds magical.
It could be said that they went through a period around the time they released the albums Lore and Landmarks when they struggled to recapture the greatness of their Robin of Sherwood glory days. Nadur shows that they've still got the skills, the voices and the talent to match the best of what they've given us in the past. If you like Clannad even just a little bit, then buy this album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
After a break of fifteen years Clannad are back, and Nadur is an impressive return. It has a familiar mixture of styles - with traditional-style Gaelic songs alongside more mainstream tracks which should pick up some airplay.

Although all the tracks are strong, if I had to pick some highlights then Brave Enough, a duet with Duke Special, which is probably the most poppy track on the album, is an instant classic - like much of the album it feels like it's always been part of the Clannad songbook. TransAtlantic is simply gorgeous and Tobar an tSaoil is a cracking upbeat Gaelic track.

Although it's been a long time between albums, the wait has been worth it, particularly since Pól Brennan (who left the group in the early 1990's) is now back in the fold. And some forty years after the group debuted, Moya Brennan's voice still sounds as hauntingly beautiful as ever.

After far too long away, Nadur is simply a great album from a legendary group.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 23 September 2013
After 15 very long years away from the recording industry, Clannad are back with their first new CD since 1998's Landmarks. Nadur is a wonderful return for this fantastic and incredibly talented band. Of course, at the forefront, are Moya Brennan's mystical vocals which shine through on all the songs. The highlight for me has to be the duet with Duke Special - Brave Enough - which is a worthy successor to the classic Moya/Bono duet In a Lifetime. As with many Clannad albums we are taken on a journey through mystical new age sounds (Vellum) to more pop and jazz-based offerings (The Fishing Blues). I downloaded this on Friday and have not stopped listening to it. It is brilliant. I just hope this CD gets the exposure it deserves and we get to enjoy some more new material from Clannad over the next few years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 26 September 2013
As previously commented, this album is a mixture of styles.
However,It is inherently Clannad with their signature haunting themes.
In my opinion there is no one else who can capture the magic of this type of music in quite the same way as Clannad.
From the unmistakeable voice and harp playing of Moya Brennan to the wonderful harmonising vocals of the rest of the band, they are true Celtic legends.
A great album and a must for fans of Clannad and Celtic music in general.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 22 October 2013
I've followed Clannad for thirty years [every album and many concerts], so I was very excited by the prospect of a new album, especially after such a long break, and with the return of Pol Brennan, who's writing I tended to like the most. So it is with some reluctance that I give Nádúr only three stars... There is some very good material on this release, but it is dragged-down by some truly awful writing at times... 'The Fishing Blues', sounds like a rip-off of the terrible 'Octopuses Garden' and has some of the worst lyrics I've had the misfortune to hear... 'A quiet Town' also suffers from dreadful lyrics and it sounds very twee, which is not something I would normally associate with a Clannad track. 'Transatlantic' is a very good piece, but the very end sounds strangely tacked on, as if they did know how to bring the song to a close, as do the Bagpipes on the end of 'Turas Domhsa chon na Galldachd'... the timing of the Bagpipe section does not seem to match with the main melody, making it sound very awkward, which is a pity as the track is very good otherwise.

The rest of the album is very good, though it did not send shivers down the spine like some of their other work, and having to skip over two songs each play is a pain... The high point has to be 'Brave Enough' which is a faultless piece of writing, and almost worth the price of admission alone... Vellum comes very close too.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 7 October 2013
this is the new Clannad cd & what a piece of music it is, the vocals the sound the overall feel of the album is second to none, it is so well recorded aswell. if you have never heard of Clannad then check this out as you will not be disappointed. if however you do like Clannad but have not got this yet , then go out & buy it. this is there 18 th album & they have been around for some Forty Years, I have a good collection of there albums and they are all really good, this one however is special, using both English & Irish languages it drifts along making you listen to the clever approach to the songs. you can hear the Donegal in there and it all makes to a Beautiful album. this as got to be up there with there beat. 10 out of 10 for me. looking forward to the next one, this is Clannad at there very best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 October 2013
15 years after their last studio album and an astonishing 40 years after their debut, Clannad are back with an appealing collection of newly composed songs plus a few traditionals. Their arrangements are as impeccably tasteful as ever, the misty melancholy that is Clannad's trademark still envelopes the listener, but some songs here are actually quite upbeat, and surely the return of original member Pol contributes to the overall freshness of sound. In front Moya sings (and looks) like an ancient Irish goddess, her harp playing is gorgeous, and I love the sound of brother Ciaran's acoustic bass. This is timeless music, with heart and soul aplenty.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 December 2013
This is their first studio album since Landmarks (1997/8) so it was with a little trepidation that I bought it but should have known better! The quality songwriting and musicianship is still there and the haunting vocals are as good as ever. It has been a long time coming but I think some of their best work, ever, is on this album.Just listen to "Brave Enough" and "Setanta" for proof that Clannad are back to their best but the whole album is inspired and there is not a bad nor a mediocre track on it. For anyone who has not heard Clannad before buy this album and then buy the back catalogue as well. You won't regret it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
It's like having an old friend back. I saw them first in 1973 or 4.(memory is a bit vague now) It was with the Irish Folk festival on tour and I believe it was during that tour Clannad went Professional. What I remember was the slim wisp of a girl who came on stage carrying her harp, and picking up a wooden chair putting it in front of the microphone, and starting to play. The Audience had a high percentage of American troops in it, who up to this point had been quite noisy suddenly became so quiet you could hear a pin drop. The effect of that voice was magical. I fell in love with Irish music at that moment, particularly with Clannad and especially with Moire Brennan. Theresa my Irish girlfriend obligingly bought me back a copy of their first LP (vinyl, remember that?) from Ireland. It was distorted and not in virgin condition but I loved it and still do, and how I wish they would remake it (but not change a thing) because the distortion is on the master and every CD since then has had the same or worse distortion. Ho Hum.

But back to the new record. The voices are more mature now and the playing more accomplished and competent, but the tunes are just as lovely.
Its almost as if they had never been away. I know Moire has had loads of problems in her life, and the men have too, but they meld just as beautifully as ever. Sure the mystical Clannad is grand, but the older folk/jazz infusion is just as good was grand also. Its nice to hear them again and I hope they can over come past trouble and keep it going. I for one would be a very happy man. I love this record, and so does my wife.
It's a breath of fresh air.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Magical Ring
Magical Ring by Clannad

Legend by Clannad

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.