Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever
Clannad have been making music for a very long time now, with their unique blend of ancient Irish folk and modern rock and pop influences. There are two things everyone knows about Clannad: "They used to have Enya in them, didn't they?" and "They did that Robin Hood programme, right?" The answer to both of these is yes, but Enya is not the vocal star here...
Published 9 months ago by S. Peel

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming.
I've followed Clannad for thirty years [every album and many concerts], so I was very excited by the prospect of a new album, especially after such a long break, and with the return of Pol Brennan, who's writing I tended to like the most. So it is with some reluctance that I give Nádúr only three stars... There is some very good material on this release, but...
Published 9 months ago by Foales


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 6 Oct 2013
By 
S. Peel "votercolonel" (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nádúr (Audio CD)
Clannad have been making music for a very long time now, with their unique blend of ancient Irish folk and modern rock and pop influences. There are two things everyone knows about Clannad: "They used to have Enya in them, didn't they?" and "They did that Robin Hood programme, right?" The answer to both of these is yes, but Enya is not the vocal star here (she departed in the early eighties), it's her sister Moya Brennan who has a voice that has not aged a day over the band's career. It remains pure and beautiful as it was on the Robin of Sherwood album. And there's a reason everyone remembers that show - the highly memorable memories that Clannad construct are a testament to the songwriting skill of all five members.
On Nadur that writing skill is brought to bear on songs that defy categorisation in many cases. Some, such as the lovely instrumental Lamh ar Lamh, are clearly folk, but most belong in a category marked "only Clannad does this"! They bring in guest vocalist Duke Special (probably not his real name) on standout track Brave Enough to great effect, and this song swells like a wave on a stormy sea while others employ more stripped back and gentle arrangements to create tracks with the beauty of a dewdrop on a leaf. Pol Brennan's whistle and flute playing, having been notably absent from a couple of their albums, is brought to the fore and sounds magical.
It could be said that they went through a period around the time they released the albums Lore and Landmarks when they struggled to recapture the greatness of their Robin of Sherwood glory days. Nadur shows that they've still got the skills, the voices and the talent to match the best of what they've given us in the past. If you like Clannad even just a little bit, then buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They are back with a wonderful new album, 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: Nádúr (Audio CD)
I hope it won't take another 15 years for Clannad to release a new album but this one was worth the waiting. I am from Germany and I don't speak Gaelic at all, so with the Gaelic songs I just listen to the sound and the voices of Moya and the rest of the band. I wish I could understand the lyrics.
The album offers a variety of tradtional arranged songs and new modern songs and this mixture is perfect. It's definately the "Clannad sound". Moya's voice is still as beautiful as it was when I first heard it in 1987.
Also the song "Brave Enough" with Duke Special is wonderful.
I just hope Clannad will do a tour in Germany next year, I'll be one of the first to buy tickets - no matter where they are going to play!

The only thing that bothers me a bit is that there is no booklet and no real jewel case. I would have loved a few more photos and maybe a few words from the band. But other than that the album is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The family that plays together stays together, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nádúr (Audio CD)
After a break of fifteen years Clannad are back, and Nadur is an impressive return. It has a familiar mixture of styles - with traditional-style Gaelic songs alongside more mainstream tracks which should pick up some airplay.

Although all the tracks are strong, if I had to pick some highlights then Brave Enough, a duet with Duke Special, which is probably the most poppy track on the album, is an instant classic - like much of the album it feels like it's always been part of the Clannad songbook. TransAtlantic is simply gorgeous and Tobar an tSaoil is a cracking upbeat Gaelic track.

Although it's been a long time between albums, the wait has been worth it, particularly since Pól Brennan (who left the group in the early 1990's) is now back in the fold. And some forty years after the group debuted, Moya Brennan's voice still sounds as hauntingly beautiful as ever.

After far too long away, Nadur is simply a great album from a legendary group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful, but long overdue, return, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nádúr (Audio CD)
After 15 very long years away from the recording industry, Clannad are back with their first new CD since 1998's Landmarks. Nadur is a wonderful return for this fantastic and incredibly talented band. Of course, at the forefront, are Moya Brennan's mystical vocals which shine through on all the songs. The highlight for me has to be the duet with Duke Special - Brave Enough - which is a worthy successor to the classic Moya/Bono duet In a Lifetime. As with many Clannad albums we are taken on a journey through mystical new age sounds (Vellum) to more pop and jazz-based offerings (The Fishing Blues). I downloaded this on Friday and have not stopped listening to it. It is brilliant. I just hope this CD gets the exposure it deserves and we get to enjoy some more new material from Clannad over the next few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmistakingly Clannad, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nádúr (Audio CD)
As previously commented, this album is a mixture of styles.
However,It is inherently Clannad with their signature haunting themes.
In my opinion there is no one else who can capture the magic of this type of music in quite the same way as Clannad.
From the unmistakeable voice and harp playing of Moya Brennan to the wonderful harmonising vocals of the rest of the band, they are true Celtic legends.
A great album and a must for fans of Clannad and Celtic music in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming., 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nádúr (Audio CD)
I've followed Clannad for thirty years [every album and many concerts], so I was very excited by the prospect of a new album, especially after such a long break, and with the return of Pol Brennan, who's writing I tended to like the most. So it is with some reluctance that I give Nádúr only three stars... There is some very good material on this release, but it is dragged-down by some truly awful writing at times... 'The Fishing Blues', sounds like a rip-off of the terrible 'Octopuses Garden' and has some of the worst lyrics I've had the misfortune to hear... 'A quiet Town' also suffers from dreadful lyrics and it sounds very twee, which is not something I would normally associate with a Clannad track. 'Transatlantic' is a very good piece, but the very end sounds strangely tacked on, as if they did know how to bring the song to a close, as do the Bagpipes on the end of 'Turas Domhsa chon na Galldachd'... the timing of the Bagpipe section does not seem to match with the main melody, making it sound very awkward, which is a pity as the track is very good otherwise.

The rest of the album is very good, though it did not send shivers down the spine like some of their other work, and having to skip over two songs each play is a pain... The high point has to be 'Brave Enough' which is a faultless piece of writing, and almost worth the price of admission alone... Vellum comes very close too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There back and as good as ever, 23 April 2014
By 
Mykl A Temple (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nádúr (Audio CD)
The long awaited album from Clannad is what you would expect from such a polished and brilliant group. as a bonus it actually brought them back to Australian shores and I got to fulfill a lifelong wish and see them live and meet them after the show a genuinely nice down to earth bunch of musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like they have never been away!, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nádúr (Audio CD)
This is their first studio album since Landmarks (1997/8) so it was with a little trepidation that I bought it but should have known better! The quality songwriting and musicianship is still there and the haunting vocals are as good as ever. It has been a long time coming but I think some of their best work, ever, is on this album.Just listen to "Brave Enough" and "Setanta" for proof that Clannad are back to their best but the whole album is inspired and there is not a bad nor a mediocre track on it. For anyone who has not heard Clannad before buy this album and then buy the back catalogue as well. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nadur by Clannad., 19 Nov 2013
By 
P. R. Phillips (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nádúr (Audio CD)
I stopped buying Clannad's albums after Macalla but my interest in them was rekindled when I bought a Best Of collection resently with tracks from their later albums Lore, Anam and Landmarks. I was so impressed that I bought all three of these albums and have since added their latest album, Nadur to my collection. This album is as accomplished as the previous mentioned ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 28 Oct 2013
By 
S. Macartney "mac gael" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nádúr (Audio CD)
This cd is long overdue but well worth waiting on as it is as good as any Clannad music I have heard! yes we all have our very favourite Clannad song but this cd has been well put together and yes ticks all the boxes for me, I now look forward to seeing Clannad and Mary Black in March 2014after this cd , bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nádúr
Nádúr by Clannad
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews