Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing mix of classic and modern songs!
This is a fantastic Christmas album, definitely up there with Mariah Carey's original Merry Christmas album.

Personal highlights, 'Wrapped in Red' is Kelly at her best vocally, so much soul. 'Underneath The Tree' is the 'All I want For Christmas Is You' of the recent times, it's catchy, upbeat and gets your excited for Christmas!

The classics such as...
Published 7 months ago by sean

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Christmas cd
Enjoyed listening to over the Christmas period. Good choice of songs, sung well. Glad I bought it now. Easy listening
Published 6 months ago by S L Webb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing mix of classic and modern songs!, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrapped In Red (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic Christmas album, definitely up there with Mariah Carey's original Merry Christmas album.

Personal highlights, 'Wrapped in Red' is Kelly at her best vocally, so much soul. 'Underneath The Tree' is the 'All I want For Christmas Is You' of the recent times, it's catchy, upbeat and gets your excited for Christmas!

The classics such as 'I'll Be Home for Christmas', ''White Christmas' 'Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas' and 'Please Come home For Christmas' are just so smooth and fitting.

A must own album for the festive season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic mix of new songs and classic oldies, brilliantly performed, 3 Dec 2013
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrapped In Red (Audio CD)
Five songs co-written by Kelly for this album, a cover of the Imogen Heap song (Just for you) that I hadn't heard before by anybody, and ten covers of familiar songs that appear on plenty of Christmas albums. One of those standards (My favorite things) wasn't written as a Christmas song, but it has appeared on plenty of Christmas albums and I don't mind, because the lyrics make it appropriate for Christmas.

I didn't realize that there were two editions, but the deluxe edition appears to be standard in the UK, from where I bought my copy. It contains two songs not on the standard American edition - I'll be home for Christmas and O come o come Emmanuel. Both tracks are superbly performed in keeping with the rest of the album, but if the price differential between editions is significant, customers must make up their own mind as to whether the extra cost is worth it. If I'd been faced with the choice, I'd pay a little extra for these two tracks, but not too much.

The CD case came with a sticker proclaiming the first two tracks (Wrapped in red, Underneath the tree) as the new classics. That may be optimistic as I've heard plenty of fantastic original Christmas songs that haven't become classics, but if either of theses songs or Kelly's other originals here (Every Christmas, Winter Dreams (Brandon's Song), 4 Carats) become accepted as classics, it will be no more than Kelly deserves. I particularly like 4 carats, but they are all wonderful.

Of the standards, Ronnie Dunn (formerly of the country duo Brooks and Dunn) sings the male parts in Baby it's cold outside, and is fantastic in that role, while Reba McEntire and Trisha Yearwood join Kelly in a fine version of Silent night. These two have recorded their own Christmas albums, Trisha recorded Sweetest Gift, The, while Reba recorded Merry Christmas to You, which is a very traditional country album. and The Secret of Giving - A Christmas Collection, which is pop-country.

The cover of ust for you, mentioned earlier, features a portion of the traditional Carol of the bells. Carol of the bells in its entirety might have been interesting for Kelly, Reba and Trisha to sing together, but I'm very happy with this album as it is.

Another thing the sticker on the front said is that this is Kelly's first Christmas album. Let's hope it's not the last. I'd love to buy the second whenever it appears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Christmas Album, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wrapped In Red (Audio CD)
Since winning American Idol in 2002 Kelly Clarkson has enjoyed a remarkably successful career. Her first five studio albums have notched up 10 RIAA certified platinum discs, while two of those have topped the US charts and three have hit the charts at number two.

Now, with her first Christmas album, Kelly shows how she has the voice, the confidence and the interpretive skills to cover a range of styles from the bluesy jazz sound of "Please Come Home For Christmas" to the rocking, country inflected sound of "Run Run Rudolph" and the pure pop of "Winter Dreams".

"Underneath The Tree" is replete with the sound of a Phil Spector production and "Blue Christmas", with a lovely piano led arrangement, is a perfect reflection upon loneliness but never sounding maudlin as so many versions have done. "I'll Be Home For Christmas" with a gorgeous piano and trumpet arrangement and a wonderful performance by Kelly is one of the finest versions of this Christmas favourite that I've heard.

She is as capable of gently delivering slow and wistful songs like "White Christmas" and "Just For Now" as she is belting out the big numbers simply because she has established herself as one of the most versatile performers around. There is a delightful version of "Silent Night". with country divas Reba McEntire and Trisha Yearwood, where the range and quality of Kelly's voice and the vocal arrangements are pure heaven.

From the joy filled opening track "Wrapped In Red" to the closing song ""Oh Come, Oh Come, Emmanuel" this is a collection where the individual parts of voice, arrangements, musicians and songs have come together to create the perfect Christmas album. It does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Festive, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrapped In Red (Audio CD)
At last a Christmas album where all the songs are festive and upbeat. Really perfect for background music whilst cooking in the kitchen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING! MUST BUY!, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrapped In Red (Audio CD)
I`ve just been looking at this product on Amazon and I am shocked it only has 5 reviews...WHY?
This album is the best Christmas album ever... for a fan of Kelly or not.
Her voice is amazing and has an amazing mix of slow,sad,happy and Pop like songs on it

This album is well better than Susan Boyles or Leona Lewis`s Christmas album!

BUY IT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a Kelly fan., 16 April 2014
By 
N. Todd "Sweeney" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrapped In Red (Audio CD)
I probably don't fit the demographics of a typical Kelly Clarkson fan, but I got interested when she ditched the usual Simon Cowell controlled drivel and started penning her own. Stronger was my favourite album of that year and knowing with her current distractions (Just married, baby on way, etc.) I though it would probably ages to the next album. So this was a very pleasant surprise. A great mixture of old and new, all given an extra bit of tinsel by Kelly. This is now the default Christmas album for the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely christmassy album!, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrapped In Red (Audio CD)
Ordered this after seeing her Christmas TV special. It has a good selection of traditional and new seasonal songs, all sung beautifully. The title track Wrapped in Red is my favourite track. I would recommend this for Christmas 2014!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kelly Clarkson produces a cracker of a Christmas CD, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Phil Devere (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrapped In Red (Audio CD)
Absolutely essential listening for the festive season, with Kelly in her best form, with some well-produced songs. "Underneath the tree" is one of the best tracks, and shows how versatile Kelly can be, and for me, this was one of the best Christmas songs I've heard in many years, and given a first class performance!
There are no bad tracks on this CD, and it will figure as a regular Christmas CD in my listening collection in future, and I would recommend it, and if you are a Kelly Clarkson fan, it is an album which you must definitely have. It's good to have traditional Christmas songs at Christmas, but Kelly's album is already a classic for me, and I expect this will become essential listening in years to come. Well done, Kelly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Cheer, 2 Mar 2014
By 
I. J. Davies "The Rock Addict" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual vocally Kelly excels. I'm impressed by the new songs, Wrapped in Red especially is an emotional song delivered with soaring vocals, and Underneath The Tree which will become a staple Xmas Classic in year to come. The covers are great, optimistic, heartfelt and delivered with a genuine love of the season. Sadly due to subject it's an album that sits on a shelf for 11 months a year...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars " Christmas Class ", 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrapped In Red (Audio CD)
Yet another boring Christmas effort you might say. But not with this young lady. A brilliant album by a delightful young lady with a voice both powerful and so soft and sincere. More please Kelly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wrapped In Red
Wrapped In Red by Kelly Clarkson (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews