Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The end of a remarkable series, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 12B: 1972 (Audio CD)
I have purchased all these sets since the first was issued in 2005. It's been a long wait for the 1972 sets but at least they're here at last. The packaging and presentation is superb as in the previous sets, but of course the classic "Motown Sound" had disappeared by 1972. I doubt if I will be playing the 1972 sets as much as the earlier ones but I had to have it to complete the series. It's very difficult to find any criticism with the content and assembly of these sets. There are only three things that would have made the sets better for me and they are as follows:-
1. The 1971 and 1972 years have been split into two sets for each year, which has made these years far more
expensive than the previous years sets. This is really only because Motown started issuing promo singles in
stereo and normal releases in mono. These sets include both the mono and stereo versions which are in most
cases identical and therefore I would have preferred just the mono mixes, then each year could have been
included in one set, making them less expensive.
2. Where different mixes of a single were issued, all different mixes have been included. I can see the reason
for this as in some cases the mixes do sound quite different. However, I would have preferred it if the
different mixes had been included on a separate CD. This is because, if you intend to play a complete CD,
rather than selected tracks, you don't really want to hear the same track repeated immediately after hearing
it.
3. It's a shame some tracks are missing due to copyright problems. These are mainly RARE EARTH releases that
were not Motown recordings but licensed from other companies. However, there is also a Dr Martin Luther King
track that is missing and a proposed SOUL release by the Merced Blue Notes that is also not included. Would
it a been to expensive to get the rights to these. It's only a minor point, but the sets are advertised as
Complete Motown Singles and they are not in fact complete.

Nevertheless, these sets are a unique and remarkable achievement and ae worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth the wait, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Dg Truby "Denis Truby" (Slough Berks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 12B: 1972 (Audio CD)
Waited a long time for the final parts of this brilliant series. The Motown years of the big hits and classic sound had gone and the move from Detroit to California was about to lose some of its biggest artists. New sounds from Stevie wonder and The Temptations and The Undisputed Truth (the most under rated Motown Group} spearheaded the 70s sound along with Michael Jackson and Diana Ross The series as ever brilliantly packaged with a single of Papa was a rolling stone in the cover and every song with dates and details about and stereo and mono mixes a great ending to the series. My daughter bought this for my birthday and it came on day of release well done to Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final part to brilliant series., 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 12B: 1972 (Audio CD)
Wonderful packaging.
Completes the Detroit years nicely, but the cream of the catalogue lies in the 60's box sets.
Would have been nice to have an overall index for all 14 boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Mama Just Hung Her Head And Said...", 6 Jan 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 12B: 1972 (Audio CD)
There's a photograph on page 125 of this 14th and final box set for "The Complete Motown Singles" Series that will make most Motown aficionados weak at the knees. It shows a lady in the original Motown Tape Library filing master boxes. I don't know if this mythical place has ever been snapped before - but there's a room I'd like to spend an hour or two in. And I mention it because it's typical of the in-depth and lavish nature of this truly amazing series - beautifully presented and full of fan-pleasing goodies.

UK released Monday 6 January 2014 - "The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 12B: 1972" on Hip-O Select B0019213-02 (Barcode 602537532193) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (overall Disc No. 71) has 22 tracks, 69: 26 minutes
Disc 2 (overall Disc No. 72) has 20 tracks, 63:08 minutes
Disc 3 (overall Disc No. 73) has 19 tracks, 70:17 minutes
Disc 4 (overall Disc No. 74) has 18 tracks, 65:11 minutes
Disc 5 (overall Disc No. 75) has 21 tracks, 69:03 minutes

The comprehensively annotated pages give you all the details you'd want - writers, arrangers, exact catalogue numbers, release dates, session and recording details from the official Motown files and a paragraph on each release (some of which are over two pages long). There are also some of the most beautiful photographs of artists ever produced - fabulous full-page plates. To top it all off are three detailed indexes at the rear - Artist, Title and Label.

A word about the sound quality - the remastering has been done by ELLEN FITTON who I've noted before for top quality work (I'be tagged many of her releases on Amazon for a pictorial). It has to be said that to my ears - this is the very best I've ever heard Seventies Motown sound - absolutely sensational. Take tracks like Stevie Wonder's "Superstition" backed with "You've Got It Bad Girl" - WOW! Even better is the Marvin Gaye double whammy "Trouble Man" backed with "Don't Mess With Mr. T" - beautifully clear and full of presence. But the bomb for me is a B-side I've been after on CD for literally decades. "Papa Was A Rolling Stone" is almost 12-minutes long on the album - the single was edited down to four seconds short of 7 minutes - but it's B-side is the rare "Instrumental" version at 4:48 minutes. Although it's not strictly voiceless (a chorus line sung here and there) - it is unique and it just amazing. To my knowledge it makes a first appearance here.

The downside is that it's obvious why so many of the tracks in-between the huge hits didn't make it - most are just too ordinary - some just stylistically out of place. But even the unknowns and less than famous tracks have nuggets too - Rare Earth, The Undisputed Truth, The Crusaders, Valerie Simpson and Eddie Kendricks - all of which are ace. And definite discoveries are Puzzle, Lesley Gore, G.C. Cameron and Willie Hutch.

First proposed in casual conversation in 2004 - Hip-O Select issued Volume Number 1 in early 2005 and only now - in January 2014 - does it finish at 12B covering July to December 1972. 9 years, 75 CDs documenting everything from 1959 to 1972, 1849 singles, 435 Billboard Hot 100 Entries, 60 Number One hits etc. I'm missing only the pricey Volume 1 and 6 in the whole series - but I'm so glad I kept up with the purchases. If we get lucky Hip-O Select are working on the 'Los Angeles' years (1973 onwards).

A truly amazing series goes out with a sonic blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 12B: 1972 (Audio CD)
Lovely package
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Sun Sets On Motown, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 12B: 1972 (Audio CD)
Not the best collection in the Complete Motown Singles series (probably Vol. 6) but at the initial offer price a great value package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 12B: 1972
The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 12B: 1972 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews