Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All together on the wireless machine
Between March 1962 and June 1965 The Beatles performed a total of 52 BBC sessions. Some 275 performances were taped, comprising 88 unique songs (as some songs were repeated at various sessions).

Out of these 88 songs, 36 were never recorded for the Beatles' studio albums, so therefore it wasn't surprising that the majority of these were included on the first...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scraping the Barrel
As a lifelong Beatles fan I was pleased to see the appearance of "On Air". However, if "Live at the BBC" is the A side "On air" is most certainly the B side. It's not that it's bad; it's just not as good. "Live at the Beeb" brought us not only live versions of many of the numbers from their first four albums and contemporary singles but...
Published 6 months ago by R. M. R. Mapletoft


‹ Previous | 18 9 1013 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2: The Beatles, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Excellent! It is astonishing that all this took place 50 years ago. I was a 12 year old kid when this was going down - singing along to "Love Me Do" at the local youth club. We used to add "On the bed!" at the end of each line. Crazy days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
I have been a big Beatles fan since school days and love everything they do. This was a must for my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On Air- Live At The BBC Vol 2, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Same remarks as before My husband lovesanything to do with the Beatles and he tries to get as much as he can about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Ms. A. Hall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
This is a great follow up to the previous Volume, and has some great tracks and rare snippits of classic Beatles - simply great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is what all releases should be like, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A triple vinyl package in a thick, glossy, card sleeve with copious sleevenotes and more info on the individual record sleeves. The vinyl is heavy.....really heavy! The sound quality is great, allowing for the limitations of the original BBC recordings. Yes, it is expensive when compared to the CD release - which l also bought - but it is a quality package and far superior to the original vinyl issue of Volume 1 in the 1990s. I'm going to have to buy that one again in the remastered and repackaged form. When you love a band....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but where's Pete?, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
An enjoyable second edition of BBC recordings. Just a shame we don't have the rare tracks with Pete Best e.g Picture of You and Dream Baby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Not much of a reviewer but I'm a huge Beatles fan. This was a must have for me. Great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John Lennon sums up the dilemma here perfectly!, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
My "Go To" Beatles album of the last 15 years has been "Beatle Songs Live" by Paul McCartney & friends (now a double homemade 160 min CD). We of course can never have the Fab 4 live with the modern technological advances of the last 50 years so I have gone for the next best thing! "Beatle Songs Live" includes some special downloads such as the tribute Liverpool concert where George, Ringo and Paul played a 3 track tribute to John (Help, Strawberry Fields and Give Peace a Chance) but it is mainly made up of the 4 live Macca albums "Tripping the Live Fantastic", "Paul Is Live", "Back In The World" and "Good Evening New York City" which all have many great live versions of Beatle Songs plus a couple of songs each from "Wings Over America", "Macca Unplugged" and rare internet downloads. The result is song after song of magical tunes (including several of John's) and I would recommend it to any fellow Beatles Fanatic as there is no live concert in history to match it!

So to the problem of reviewing Vol 2 of "Live at the BBC" and John Lennon perhaps best sums it up on the live show here when he says" I find it amazing we are here in America but doing a live show on UK radio!" That is how much technology has moved on in 50 years especially with live recordings.

So this album is for the "Purists" in that it is 100% the Fab 4 live as they were on radio shows such as "Saturday Club", "From Us To You" and "Pop Go The Beatles" back in 1963 to early 1965. In truth many of the tracks here were included in Vol 1 but because they repeated the same songs on different shows there are alternate versions here. In all there are about 10 songs covered here worth having to put into a live mix of the two sets of BBC shows. "Words Of Love", Twist & Shout", "She Loves You", " And I Love Her", "If I Fell", "I Feel Fine", "I'll Follow The Sun", "Money", "Do You Want To Know A Secret" and "I Want To Hold Your Hand" being the must have gems not included on Vol 1. The technology and sound though is basic and you should buy aware of this. Studio work was far more polished back in those days. But regardless of this there is still much magic here.

So if your about to buy your first Beatles album then start with the studio albums or the double best off's "Red" and "Blue" album if you want the greatest hits. The "Live at the BBC" albums are like the Anthology series a bit of very pleasant nostalgia to add on at the very end of your Beatles tour! And definitely buy the live Macca albums above and do your own "Beatle Songs Live" mix as the advance in technology of live performance is massive. As a tester Download "Can't Buy Me Love" from the "Back In the World" album and "Sgt Pepper / Pepper Reprise" & "Fool On The Hill" from the "Tripping The Live Fantastic" album as they are really sensational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love it yeah yeah yeah, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Bought as a christmas present for my husband. Haven't listened to it but pretty sure he will be pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good album but long overdue, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
"Live On Air" (BBC Volume 2) is a very good album, both musically and historically. It comprises 40 musical tracks, 19 spoken intros/clips, and 4 bonus Pop Profile interviews. The re-mastered hi-fi quality is mostly very good, and the 48 page booklet is excellently presented. Most significantly, it is a superb time capsule of live/unplugged early sixties rock & roll (at the height of Beatlemania), which could not/has not been equalled by any other band in the world. Why have I only given this double album a 4 out of 5 rating ? Because 2 BBC recordings of the Beatles unreleased live songs "A Picture Of You" and "Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)" should have been included as bonus tracks. They still exist, in better fidelity quality than some of the other "historical" tracks which were included on the excellent Beatles "Anthology 1" album. Otherwise I would recommend this long overdue release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1013 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2
On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews