Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
203
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2013
Vol. 1 of this CD set came out in 1994, and I bought it straight away. I have always loved the BBC recordings and have the 10 disc Bootleg. However, you cant beat official releases. I have now just bought both these albums, replacing the old Vol.1. The most important thing about the re-release of Vol.1 (apart from re-mastered sound) is the fact they have separated the BBC dialogue from the songs so you can now make a playlist of just the songs if you want too. The new Vol.2 is also the same in this regard, and is just as great. In fact, with both volumes, you can now make a playlist of the BBC recordings of the whole of the 'Please Please Me' album, giving the album a new live feel with virtually no distractions. 'Misery' does have a bit of screaming at the start and end of the song, but that just adds to the feel. Trust me, before long every Beatles Fan in the land will be making this Playlist up of 'Please Please Me'. It's Fantastic! Buy both albums now!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Apart from the music and the not so perfect recordings which are still great to hear, this audiophile vinyl pressing just shows how good vinyl can really be. Yes, there is the occasional click but compared to what was served up on normal vinyl this is a world apart. There is hardly any surface noise audible at normal listening levels, wow and rumble levels depend on the quality of the turntable, but on my Thorens turntable they are negligible. All this makes this 3 disc album set a fantastic record of what The Beatles sounded like live - some times not so great, but other times brilliant. More than that it gives those who never heard them live at the time a taste of what I and others like me experienced. Wonderful! Buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
I was back to being 16 years old when I use to listen to the Beatles live on radio.
It's lovely to listen to the excellent vocals and superb musicianship of the 4 lads performing for us on live radio.
Brian Matthews did a sterling job presenting the show and allowing the boys' to demonstrate their personaliy, wit and spontaneity to entertain us in our own homes.
Back then, of course, the only daytime TV was the test card. As the song goes 'Video killed the radio star'' - never a truer word said or sung.
This is a fabulous DVD to go along with Volume 1.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2013
Playing this new album reminds me of why I was the first ever Beatles fan. These 'live' performances at the BBC show their wit and appeal. I am transported back for a while to a time when I was young and full of passion and spirit. If you are a Beatle fan (remembering I was the first) then buy this and spoil yourself. Oh, and wear that Beatle jacket while you listen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
What can one say about the Fab 4 except to say that they were brilliant and although they have not been together as The Beatles for some time this album gives you an insight into what Beatlemania was all about in the sixties. Definitely a good purchase for any Beatles fan. Would also recommend The Beatles Live At The BBC Vol 1 as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
Listen again to remember how good they were. I realise now that there was a lot
more to the Beatles than most people realised. I think I now know why some wise
old man said "Youth is wasted on the young" or words to that effect.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2016
Took a little longer than expected to reach. Delivered inside a well-cushioned outer pack. The 2CD pack, expectedly, was not as good as new (bought used), but the CDs were in brilliant condition. Played without any fuss. This was my first purchase of used media. Definitely not the last.

As far the contents go, recording quality could not be salvaged in many tracks, making them sound even distorted at times! However, these albums have a much bigger significance as chronicles of The Beatles than being of hi-fi quality.
So, completely worth the investments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
This is a better collection than volume one or maybe I'm just fed up of Vol 1 LOL. there are interviews at the end of each CD which are nice to listen to but obviously if this is for your Ipod then you might want to leave them off.
Song selection and chat are great and really capture the freshness of the Beatles at the time. it's a good buy if you're a beatles fan or just like this music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Its a brilliant double album of "unreleased" stuff of The Boys....One of the best Bands in the world,Universe , Solar system and they STILL sell CD's even after 44 years of splitting up.Buy this even IF you are NOT a Beatle fan...You will love it AND the banter with various people inc Brain Mathew ( radio 2's Sound of the 60s" Frontman xx RECOMMEND x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
A triple vinyl package in a thick, glossy, card sleeve with copious sleevenotes and more info on the individual record sleeves. The vinyl is heavy.....really heavy! The sound quality is great, allowing for the limitations of the original BBC recordings. Yes, it is expensive when compared to the CD release - which l also bought - but it is a quality package and far superior to the original vinyl issue of Volume 1 in the 1990s. I'm going to have to buy that one again in the remastered and repackaged form. When you love a band....................
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)