Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All together on the wireless machine
Between March 1962 and June 1965 The Beatles performed a total of 52 BBC sessions. Some 275 performances were taped, comprising 88 unique songs (as some songs were repeated at various sessions).

Out of these 88 songs, 36 were never recorded for the Beatles' studio albums, so therefore it wasn't surprising that the majority of these were included on the first...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scraping the Barrel
As a lifelong Beatles fan I was pleased to see the appearance of "On Air". However, if "Live at the BBC" is the A side "On air" is most certainly the B side. It's not that it's bad; it's just not as good. "Live at the Beeb" brought us not only live versions of many of the numbers from their first four albums and contemporary singles but...
Published 15 months ago by R. M. R. Mapletoft


‹ Previous | 110 11 1218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Don't you just love The Beatles?, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
I've been a Beatles fan since they appeared on the scene in the early 60's. I don't think I need to say anything more EXCEPT this - if you have bought Volume 1 you really have to ......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stop me if you think that you've heard this one before, 11 Nov. 2013
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Because The Beatles were releasing 2 albums of music for nearly every year of their career, there aren't any legendary lost recordings, such as The Beach Boys "Smile" or Dylan's "Basement Tapes" (the three anthology albums I think prove this). So the "Live at the BBC" albums are as close as Beatle fans are going to get to own a fab four version of a "Odds & Sods" records (you could count the "Let it Be" sessions I suppose, but that was just the band running through all the 1950's songs they used to perform before they got a record contract).
So if you have the first Volume of BBC recording, you will know what to expect here, there are no "Why didn't they ever release this song!" moments, but a fascinating musical & social time capsule (although there are four interviews recorded at the time of the release of "Rubber Soul" & "Revolver", which sound from a different era).
Highlights for me are Chuck Berry's "Memphis..", tracks from "Beatles for Sale" (always been my favourite of their mop-top albums), & John trying to create the feed back at the start of "I feel fine".
So if you're a fan of The Beatles early recording, want to complete your Beatle Back-catalogue, or just want to buy a Beatle album when it was first released (this sounds like it may be the last), then it defiantly worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles Live at the BBC Vol.2 CD, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
As longstanding Beatles fan it was most welcome to have a new CD set of recordings available. Although I have the live recordings at the BBC on a set of Bootlegs, the sound quality of this 2 CD set, which have been remastered , is excellent. Highly recommended to all Beatles devotees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Speedy delivery. No probs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kept my husband happy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Arrived promptly, as described, before Christmas. Haven't listened to it yet, but am looking forward to doing so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it loses a couple of stars as I was very disappointed with how long it took to deliver, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
The Beatles Live vol 2 is basically the same superb product as supplied by the first BBC live vol 1. I didn't doubt for a second that the musical and verbal content would be anything other than first class. If the stars we award these products ( Or in some cases, don't) were merely on the music content, this would warrant a five. However, it loses a couple of stars as I was very disappointed with how long it took to deliver. The reason being is that it was posted in New York and I bought it on the understanding that the company selling it ( Name forgotten) was british based. I realise that if you order something because it is cheaper, it normally means it's being sold from abroad, but I choose not to buy for that very reason. I believe they disguised that fact and I really believed I was buying from a UK base. Oh well, the dics played fine even though they too were manufactured abroad- in Argentina !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jan. 2015
By 
Black Baron (Greatest Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Worth the entrance fee just for the Fab's rough and rocky version of "I'm Talking about You"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new addition Beatles live at the BBC, 13 Nov. 2013
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
After the great album Live a the BBC released originally in 1994 and now re mastered and a superior edition, There comes the Live at the BBC volume two.
It may have taken nearly twenty years but it is more than a welcome release.

Like the re master of volume one this new release comes into line with the more recent official re mastered albums in terms of presentation. We now have the familiar card gatefold album cover with no plastic case or trays. I like the art work with the front picture being a colour image similar to the black and white picture of the Beatles on volume one. In keeping with this there is good photo art work on the inside gatefold with the same black and white picture of the bbc broadcasting house that appeared on volume one but this time with hints of colour. Then the booklet is great with nice presentation with good colour and black and white pictures and track details. It is a really nice presentation.

Out of all of the songs the Beatles recorded at the BBC it is no surprise that the original volume one Live at the BBC used the majority of songs that had not appeared on any of their albums. This means that this second volume Live at the BBC volume two does not have so much original song recordings. But that does not mean it is pointless. In fact there is so much to praise about this release.
There are at least two songs that do not appear on the official studio album releases. And although these are recorded live for radio they are great recordings.
The same has to be said for the other tracks. There are Live recordings of songs that do appear on the studio albums. Also there some alternative versions of songs that actually appeared on volume one.

The sound quality is great throughout the two disc set and there is interesting spoken word tracks with banter between DJs and the group. The concept of the album was always great anyway, even back in 94 with volume one. And the same concept continues here. First of all the Beatles were so successful in the 1960s and they appeared in magazine interviews, TV appearances and Radio which all helped to raise their profile. Just the same as any other famous pop act that came after them or today. But there is not much that is available of the Beatles so this release helps us to be connected to the Beatles as people, the sixties and the atmosphere of the era with the group as a currently popular and modern pop group. It is a time capsule. We get bits of conversation and banter between DJs and the fab four which adds that human personality to the people behind the music. Its interesting to hear the opinions of the group at the time and there is good fun humour in the banter.
Also in addition this time there are four interview sections with each member of the group. These are interesting and since they may not be so interesting after repeated play they are thankfully added at the end of each disc. (two interviews per disc)

This album doesn't have the same originality as the volume one but it is a great addition and is worth getting. It is a very interesting release indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars He absolutely loved it. Excellent present, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this for my dad for Christmas last year. He absolutely loved it. Excellent present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2
On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews