Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All together on the wireless machine
Between March 1962 and June 1965 The Beatles performed a total of 52 BBC sessions. Some 275 performances were taped, comprising 88 unique songs (as some songs were repeated at various sessions).

Out of these 88 songs, 36 were never recorded for the Beatles' studio albums, so therefore it wasn't surprising that the majority of these were included on the first...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it loses a couple of stars as I was very disappointed with how long it took to deliver
The Beatles Live vol 2 is basically the same superb product as supplied by the first BBC live vol 1. I didn't doubt for a second that the musical and verbal content would be anything other than first class. If the stars we award these products ( Or in some cases, don't) were merely on the music content, this would warrant a five. However, it loses a couple of stars as I...
Published 1 month ago by Winston


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All together on the wireless machine, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Between March 1962 and June 1965 The Beatles performed a total of 52 BBC sessions. Some 275 performances were taped, comprising 88 unique songs (as some songs were repeated at various sessions).

Out of these 88 songs, 36 were never recorded for the Beatles' studio albums, so therefore it wasn't surprising that the majority of these were included on the first release, Live At The BBC, originally issued in 1994 and now available as a 2013 remaster.

Whilst this does mean that this second collection is slightly less essential than Volume 1, On Air - Live At The BBC Volume 2 does contain a couple of songs never previously officially released - Chuck Berry's "I'm Talking About You" and the evergreen "Beautiful Dreamer", a favourite from their Hamburg days. There are also a number of alternative versions of songs released on Volume 1, such as "Memphis, Tennessee", "The Hippy Hippy Shake" and "Lucille" but most of the songs on this CD are BBC versions of tracks from the Beatles albums and singles of the period.

The BBC's recording facilities at the time were quite primitive, so whilst the BBC recordings lack the polish of the Beatles own album versions they're not without interest, as it's fascinating to hear these essentially "live" performances.

In addition to the 40 songs, there's 25 or so speech tracks, interspersed between the music. They capture the heady, early days of Beatlemania very well, as the fabs banter with the various DJ's hosting the shows, such as Brian Matthew, Alan Freeman, Lee Peters and Rodney Burke.

There are also four interviews each lasting about eight minutes (one per Beatle) recorded by Brian Matthew in 1965 and 1966 for the series Pop Profile. Two are at the end of the first CD and the other two are the last tracks on CD Two. These one-on-one interviews find the boys in more serious mode and although widely bootlegged, they make their official début here.

Sound quality is pretty good considering the source material, although it's fair to say that nothing is going to sound quite as clear and crisp as the album remasters. There are a few songs which are quite lo-fidelity though, particularly the rarer tracks like "I'm Talking About You" and "Beautiful Dreamer".

An essential purchase for Beatles fans then, but for the more casual listener the 2013 remaster of Volume 1 might be of more interest as it contains more unique material. And whilst one day it would be good to have a boxset containing all 275 tracks, for now On Air - Live At The BBC Volume 2 is a solid addition to the Beatles' catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live At the BBC - The Collection, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Marc B (Edinburgh Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
This is a review of the Live At The BBC - The Collection but contains specific reference to On Air - Live At The BBC Volume 2, hope people find it useful.

When Live At The BBC was released in 1994 it kicked off a major archival excavation that culminated in the Beatles Anthology Project but to my mind the Live At The BBC was the most interesting of these archival releases and the one that I have listened to the most over the years. It wasn't without it's flaws though and with the bootleg releases that included most of their complete shows, a volume 2 seemed like a no brainer. So it's a surprise that it's taken nearly 20 years for that to happen, especially as volume 1 shifted something like 5 million units.

Anyway, with regards to volume 1 the question is whether its worth purchasing the remaster if you already have the original from 1994. I would certainly say yes, if you don't have volume one then its essential and the stronger of the 2 volumes as it contains the most unreleased tracks. Although there isn't any new music or major upgrades in sources to what you would already have, the use of noise reduction is a lot better and less heavy handed than the previous issue and the key thing is the completely unnecessary cross fading between tracks have been removed, meaning you can compile both volumes chronologically without cutting of the start or end of tracks. There are also a few more snippets of dialogue like the inclusion of the amusing introduction from George to Soldier of Love, wish they'd also included the equally amusing intro to the Honeymoon Song or the `Honeyboot Song' as George calls it because of his `terrible nose'.

As for `On Air - Live At The BBC Volume 2' this is long overdue. I really didn't think we would see any further official releases of the BBC recordings so this is hugely welcome. There aren't many sound upgrades from the bootlegs but on first listen Words of Love, Ask Me Why and Anna are considerable upgrades from the latest bootleg sources. Of the 36 unique songs the Beatles recorded for the BBC only the tracks from their very first session are still to be officially released. Those are Dream Baby, Besame Mucho (the EMI recording was released on Anthology One) and Pictures of You, all with Pete Best on drums. Not sure why those haven't been included because sound quality wise they are no worse than `I'm Talking About You' or Keep Your Hands of My Baby. Volume 2 also contains the tracks from the Baby It's You CD single but contains a different version of Devil In Her Heart, so need hang on to those singles, Lend Me Your Comb which was missing from volume 1 is also included here. The only frustration for me is we still don't have at least 1 performance of every song performed for the BBC! Of the 88 different songs recorded for the BBC we are still missing, I Call Your Name, I Should Have Known Better, The Night Before and I'm Happy Just to Dance With You as well as the 3 tracks I mentioned above from the first BBC sessions. All of these tracks are available on the boots but in poor quality so I suspect the compilers wanted to keep the poor quality off air recordings to a minimum on a mainstream release.

So all in all, Volume 2 is a very worthy addition to the Beatles catalogue and a excellent reissue of Volume 1. The studio outtake of I Feel Fine especially is a highlight. The booklets are excellent with essay's from Kevin Howlett (author of the excellent The Beatles: The BBC Archives: 1962-1970) as well as a track by track analysis. I never tire of these performances and would happily sit through every one of their 275 performances (and have done on many occasions). Performances like Soldier of Love, Some Other Guy and To Know Her is To Love Her are every bit as good as the covers they recorded for EMI. It never ceases to amaze me that 2 of the greatest rock and roll singers of all time ended up in the same band!

So is there enough material left for a Volume 3, damn right there is. We are still missing those 3 unique tracks as mentioned earlier but there are sufficiently interesting versions of the already released tracks to justify another volume. The version of I'm a Loser with John substituted lyrics `Beneath This Wig I'm Wearing a Tie' immediately springs to mind, as well as superior performances of Misery from Pop Go The Beatles 14 and There's a Place from Pop Go The Beatles 5 also I can't believe they kept that version of A Hard Day's Night on volume one with the solo flown in from the EMI recording when they played it live on another performance. Hopefully as new sources are discovered this will happen.

*Edit 16/12/13. 41 more BBC tracks are being released on iTunes on the 17/12 along with studio outtakes and demo's in an effort to prevent them from becoming public domain![...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Air - Live at the BBC Vol 2, 11 Nov 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Nearly twenty years since the first Beatles at the BBC album comes Volume 2, nicely packaged in a double CD digi pack with a 46 page booklet. In my opinion it was worth buying the actual CD rather than downloading the music simply for the informative booklet, with an introduction by Paul, all the track details and lots of photographs. I know you can download it on your ipod, but the actual paper version is easier to read and ideal to peruse while you sit down and enjoy this great collection.

It is a slight shame that we don't get to hear the fun openings for shows, such as 'Pop Go the Beatles', which the band recorded specially. However, these CD's are packed with really good quality tracks and interview snippets as the Beatles read out cards and generally cause mayhem in the studio. George reads out a very strange card about the Flowerpot Men (Bill and Ben, not flower power just yet), Paul is asked about his 21st birthday party (not quite the success he suggests, as all fans know!), Ringo calls John a "College Puddin'" and both John and Paul are heard laughing at George when they are asked about writing the songs for "A Hard Days Night," among lots of other interview clips. Most of the songs are excellent quality and they include lots of early hits as well as great cover versions, showing how versatile the Beatles were and giving you an idea of the set list they would have played live in Liverpool and Hamburg. The poorest audio is heard on John singing Chuck Berry's, "I'm talking about you," which was presumably worth including because of its rarity. There are lots of early tracks on here which the Beatles never recorded and they give you an excellent flavour of the band in those early days. Lastly, there are four bonus interviews, approx 8 minutes, for each member of the group. Once you have listened to, and loved, this, then (if you haven't already) go and read the wonderful new biography of the early days of the band, The Beatles - All These Years: Volume One: Tune In, to recreate those heady days when success was just arriving and they were obviously still enjoying themselves hugely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it loses a couple of stars as I was very disappointed with how long it took to deliver, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
The Beatles Live vol 2 is basically the same superb product as supplied by the first BBC live vol 1. I didn't doubt for a second that the musical and verbal content would be anything other than first class. If the stars we award these products ( Or in some cases, don't) were merely on the music content, this would warrant a five. However, it loses a couple of stars as I was very disappointed with how long it took to deliver. The reason being is that it was posted in New York and I bought it on the understanding that the company selling it ( Name forgotten) was british based. I realise that if you order something because it is cheaper, it normally means it's being sold from abroad, but I choose not to buy for that very reason. I believe they disguised that fact and I really believed I was buying from a UK base. Oh well, the dics played fine even though they too were manufactured abroad- in Argentina !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles Live at the BBC Vol.2 CD, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
As longstanding Beatles fan it was most welcome to have a new CD set of recordings available. Although I have the live recordings at the BBC on a set of Bootlegs, the sound quality of this 2 CD set, which have been remastered , is excellent. Highly recommended to all Beatles devotees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When the Fab Four were genuine entertainers!, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Listen again to remember how good they were. I realise now that there was a lot
more to the Beatles than most people realised. I think I now know why some wise
old man said "Youth is wasted on the young" or words to that effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb on vinyl, worth the extra expense, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I try and buy music on the old black stuff whenever I can. This 3-LP set is obviously priced at a premium compared to the CD but it's worth the extra money. The triple gatefold packaging is superb (although the lack on inner bags is a bit of a niggle), beautifully printed with informative notes from Kevin Howlett and an interesting intro from Macca; plus, of course notes on each individual track. The great advantage of the LP format is of course the fact that you don't get eyestrain reading the sleevenotes!

The records themselves are beautifully pressed, and devoid of surface noise. Sound quality, given the age and origin of much of this material, is very good indeed.

As for the music, well I think it's better than that on Volume 1. Granted, I won't be listening to the interviews on the third LP (interesting as they are) THAT much but as a whole I think this collection is of more musical interest than the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent addition to any Beatles collection, 13 Nov 2013
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
I have to admit, it's not easy for me to listen to this album and equate what I'm hearing with the massively enthusiastic reviews for these two discs. It's difficult to treat this album as any more than it is - a collection of archive live performances The Beatles made for the BBC in the early sixties, some of which isn't of the best sound quality. I'm not stating for a minute that it isn't enjoyable or of great interest to a fan of The Beatles (any serious fan will want to own it), but for anyone who has owned Volume One for the past couple of decades, this album simply adds another volume of curios, asides and performances of songs we have all (mostly) heard before. There are the old rock 'n' roll classics The Beatles hammered out in Hamburg as live versions of singles and album tracks from their first few years of recorded output (1962 to 1965), plus a few "profile" interviews tagged onto the end. These are all good to have, it's a really lovely, quality package (featuring an interview with Paul McCartney from July 2013 in the beautifully detailed booklet) and made me smile many times throughout listening to it, but I can't see myself getting this album out to play very often now I have it... probably about the same frequency that I have Volume One, maybe once every three or four years.

I'm not criticising any aspect of this collection, far from it, it does exactly what it says on the tin, however there really is a lack of a "wow" factor on Volume Two. There was huge excitement listening to and watching the Anthology project and there were certain tracks on Volume One that really got the hairs on the back of the neck tingling. Unfortunately, there just isn't that kind of material on this album - they're not exactly scraping the bottom of the barrel, either, but I have to say that there is very little here that has increased my love or appreciation of The Beatles (if, indeed, that is possible). Simply put, it's just a very pleasant, decent listen that is more interesting for the interviews and hearing the four of them chat than listening to the music itself, as nice as it all is. Apart from one or two tracks outstanding, it seems like this is probably going to be the last "original" material that we will hear from the Fab Four, so that, in itself, makes it something to treasure, but for the songs, live performances and sound quality, I have to, objectively, say that it isn't exactly the toppermost of the poppermost. Wouldn't it have been great to have been there, eagerly listening to this emanating from the wireless at that point in time, though...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles bonus!, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
It is a real bonus to be able to hear 'new' versions in good quality sound. There is no one band that comes close to the influence the Beatles had. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present for Beatles fan, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 (Audio CD)
I bought this as a present for my husband who is a massive Beatles fan and very knowledgeable on their music. He absolutely loves it and is very impressed with the sound quality and content. He also really enjoys listening to them speak during the interviews recorded when they were much younger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2
On Air - Live At The BBC Vol 2 by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews