Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Insider Account, 23 Feb 2006
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
This classic account of insider trading during the greed decade remains as riveting today as the day it was published. Prize-winning journalist James B. Stewart manages to turn an account of the arcane market manipulation that led to the 1987 crash into a page-turner with all the suspense of a detective novel. And while the main villains here - Michael Milken and Ivan Boesky - have faded off the public radar, their philosophical descendants at Enron, Tyco and Adelphia remind investors that greed and market manipulation will never go out of style. Stewart’s richly detailed book is must reading for those who trust their careers or their savings to the markets. We recommend this withering account of over-the-top greed to anyone who works or invests on Wall Street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Role Models, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
When I was a young lad I got into reading Forbes and Fortune magazines. At this time junk bonds were all the rage and Michael Milken was one person I looked up to as a success story worthy of emulation. After reading DoT I'm appalled at the lengths he went to to achieve the success he did. He got rich and is still phenomenally so. Crime pays. James Stewart's book is splendidly told. You're reading it and thinking "you gotta be kidding me". It's all that's wrong in our star culture, ethics be damned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives clear insight into how financial centres really operat, 26 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
Though the book really is about the crimes commited by Milken and others in conspiting to enrich themselves through market manipulation and insider info. what i really gained from the book is the insight into how the financial nerve centres (in this case wall street) really works. It reveals the arbs, Investment bankers, brokers, financiers, predators, white knights etc. I think any one interested in learning about finance should read this book. It is however very one sided... It takes the side of the law
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think About It!, 23 Aug 2002
Have you never heard of the arbitragist Ivan Boesky, the king of Junk Bonds Michael Milken, the goldenboy Martin Siegel, and other characters of Wall Street in '80? If not, think to buy this book seriously... a wonderful parodia of the world of investment banking written by a master of financial journalism, James Stewart (Wall Street Journal and Smartmoney.com).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Dec 2010
By 
N. Jensen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
Great book on the insider trading scandal and its leading characters. The parallels to the current insider trading scandals are clear, as is the corruption sneaking in on otherwise decent and intelligent people ("relax, everybody does it"). Very interesting description of the political process leading to Milken's deal with the state prosecutors office. Very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STONKING GOOD READ!, 24 Oct 2010
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
One of the most readable books I've ever had the pleasure of owning.

Whilst the subject matter is an expose of a bunch of cheating, fraudulent, selfish, and voracious mercenaries operating under, what was in the 1980's the ostensibly respectable guise of investment bankers and arbitragers, it is, nevertheless, a fascinating insight into and exposition of, the world of Corporate Mergers, Take-overs and Financing in the free-wheeling, under-regulated 80's.

Insider trading was the business of the four main racketeers, Dennis Levine, Martin Siegel, Ivan Boesky and Michael Milken, with dollops of tax fraud and money laundering thrown in to demonstrate their criminal versatility. Dennis Levine is shown as a fantasist who rated his own meagre ability as being that of a financial genius but in reality was far from it. Martin Siegel was suave, personable and a very able and respected Investment Banker whose involvement in these crimes was difficult to understand. Whereas Ivan Boesky whose mantra was "greed is all right" outwardly showed all the signs of being morally malleable in pursuit of wealth. Michael Milken, in terms of illicit financial gains was by far and away 'daddy' of them all when it came to sheer greed, and the most complex to understand.

That these guys since their convictions,large fines and prison sentences, are professing to have seen the light, and are now busting a gut to appear to be paragons of virtue intent on helping humanity, does not in any way camouflage the extent of their criminality which resulted in millions of people directly and indirectly being swindled. Yes and that could include you and me!

James B Stewart has written a masterfully gripping book, which reads like a detective story and which guides the reader through the maze of arcane Wall Street dealings in a most interesting and easily understandable manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greed is good, 23 Nov 2004
By 
PriyaSoum (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Hardcover)
Gordon Gekko didnt say so alone. Almost everyone on Wall Street in the boom of the 80s capital and money markets swore by this dictum. Veritable luminaries like Ivan Boesky, Michael Milken and Dennis Levine showed everyone how money begets power and how power corrupts even the most sensible. James Stewart has put together a very impressive narrartive though at times you can easily spot his bias (reason for my 4 stars). I am from the world of finance myself and love books on the same. However, its better when such "reality books" have the narrative style of an action packed thriller. Den of Thieves promises this and does deliver. An excellent addition to anyone's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
Book as expected. Delivery was prompt and came in plenty of time.Looking forward to reading and studying this interesting topic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All as it should be, 4 April 2010
By 
S. Davidsdottir (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
I ordered the book, got it quickly and in good condition - really, everything as it should be, thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews