Customer Reviews


384 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (92)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man 2
I really enjoyed the first film and had high expectations for this film, it has a great cast and bigger budget following the success of the first film...and although I enjoyed it I feel it lost a little of it's soul. I do recommend watching the film and I'm looking forward to the potential spin off's and sequals. I do strongly recommend buying the triple play, I do not...
Published on 16 Dec 2010 by Barkingbarker

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did they run out of ideas so quickly?
I really liked Iron Man - they did it real justice but this is one of those sequels that seems to have been made just to cash in on the franchise.

The film culminates in a battle between Iron Man and Micky Rourke as a Russian seeking revenge (for what exactly? his father being discredited?) but this probably only takes up about 20% of the film. The rest is...
Published on 18 Sep 2011 by AM


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did they run out of ideas so quickly?, 18 Sep 2011
By 
AM (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I really liked Iron Man - they did it real justice but this is one of those sequels that seems to have been made just to cash in on the franchise.

The film culminates in a battle between Iron Man and Micky Rourke as a Russian seeking revenge (for what exactly? his father being discredited?) but this probably only takes up about 20% of the film. The rest is just filler.

Oh, woe is Iron Man and his energy thing not working properly so lets make that the source of the film and watch as he self-destructs. It's all a bit boring.

Where Iron Man 1 gave us a hero with a cool suit and gadgets that we saw being built and used and it was fun, this lacks on almost all of those.

If they make a third I hope they read this review first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 81 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like the film, but why bother with a special edition!?, 26 Oct 2010
By 
C. J. Borrill-townsend "kipper23" (Lincolnshire, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I will avoid reviewing the film here as some people do simply because its the product and not the film i want to comment on. I like the film enough to buy the DVD so that really should be enough in itself.

Like many who have reviewed this already i bought the special edition for the fact it was the special edition and at least expected there to be a 'making of' feature on the one of the TWO discs... how mistaken i was. The previous films special edition, or Ultimate Edition as it was called, there is nearly four times as much extra stuff spread out over the two discs. In fact nearly all of what is stretched over this two disc 'special' could be placed on one disc.

I can't help but feel cheated in some respects and think that the creation of this edition was simply done to make people part with their cash for the promise of more... which sadly isn't there. The extra disc seems to literally be that, a disc added to the box to give the appearance of value for money as there is no difference between the standard editions movie disc and that of the specials!

The smart thing here, if you want to simply own the film, is to buy the cheaper, standard edition which is just movie disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man 2, 16 Dec 2010
I really enjoyed the first film and had high expectations for this film, it has a great cast and bigger budget following the success of the first film...and although I enjoyed it I feel it lost a little of it's soul. I do recommend watching the film and I'm looking forward to the potential spin off's and sequals. I do strongly recommend buying the triple play, I do not yet have a blu-ray play or high def television and I'm planning on upgrading, so by buying the Triple play I can see the up to date films while building my blu-ray collection for the future.....and the cost between the DVD 2 disc version and this was less then £1.00. I hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'MARVEL(ous) ENTERTAINMENT', 18 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
for sheer entertainment value the score must it's a '5' as a sequel a '4'
This time 'Iron-Man' (Robert Downey Jr) is under threat from a 'Russian' seeking revenge against 'Stark Industries'
You only have to look at the cast list to know top-line actors want involvement in this popular 'Marvel' characters movies.
Which includes - 'Gwyneth Paltrow' (Pepper Potts) 'Scarlett Johansson' (Natasha Romanoff) 'Mickey Rourke (Ivan Vanko)
and 'Samuel L Jackson' (Nick Fury) to name just a few of the great names on-board.
It's got plenty of great 'cgi' action sequences that are complimented by this format.
The film is a must-see for all 'Marvel Comic' fans along with those who just want ---top-line entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good action follow on to Ironman 1, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A very good action follow on to Iron man one. Robert downey Jr is as good as ever as Tony Stark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel, excellent blu-ray., 29 Oct 2010
By 
A. Davis (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I am always nervous about sequels, but boy did this deliver.
The story builds on the original film whilst maintaining the humour and energy that was delivered with the original film.
Robert Downey Jr does a superb job of developing the Tony Stark character, whilst Don Cheadle and Mickey Rourke help elevate this film above the pedestrian!

I won't go into the story as many reviews deal with that, but let's cover the blu-ray disc. The picture quality is superb and the level of detail is very high, it's easy to forget that you are watching special effects. The sound was superb and really tested my home cinema system.
And as for the digital copy, this is good quality too, and when watched on my iPad looked very good.

I think the combination of blu-Ray, DVD and digital copy makes this disc set pretty good value.

All in all, if you enjoyed the first film or are a Marvel comics fan then I recommend you give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Man of several elements, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sequel to Iron Man [DVD] [2008] which saw Robert Downey Jr bring the comic book superhero Tony Stark to life on the big screen. Billionaire inventor playboy industrialist with super suit at his disposal. This sequel doesn't make any concessions to those who didn't see the original, but you probably wouldn't have much trouble getting into this if you haven't.

Iron Man Two considers the consequences of Tony's actions from the first fim. Life is going great for him. Everybody seemingly loves his alter ego. He's now hosting a huge technology fair like the world's fairs of old.

But enemies lurk in the wings. A russian with a grudge because of the actions of Tony's father. Another industrialist who would like to be Tony. And the military would like to get their hands on the Iron Man suits so they can build ones of their own.

Meantime, secret service agency S.H.I.E.L.D. and their director Nick Fury [who you'll only be familiar with film wise if you saw the scene after the credits in the original] regard Tony as a loose cannon and are keeping an eye on him. And following his assistant getting a promotion Tony now has a new assistant, who's surprisingly capable at a great many things not least unarmed combat. Could there be more than her than meets the eye?

Oh, and Tony has health problems he's not telling anyone about either.

Can he get past all those problems and emerge triumphant once again?

This is well played and well directed. Like the first film everyone plays it straight and treats the subject matter as grown up character drama. The role of Jim Rhodes from the first film has been recast, but you might not notice. But the new actor is fine.

But this does get a bit into Spiderman three territory in that there's simply a bit too much going on. That's not a big problem thanks to the quality of the acting and directing but as a movie it could be better structed. The best set piece of the film comes early on and there's nothing major for a long time after that. Just at one point in the middle the attention may start to wander.

Whilst it does have an entertaining big explosions action finale said finale also feels like nothing much we've seen before.

It's very entertaining in fits and starts, though. And it's by no means a bad film. It just doesn't compare to the original.

Be sure to watch to the end of the credits, though for a final scene right after them. Which acts as a teaser for an unpcoming movie and does answer a continuity question that might perplex you in the middle of the film.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English Hindi.

Subtitles: English Danish Dutch Finnish Hindi Norwegian Swedish.

The movie also has a commentary from the director.

The two disc 'special edition' has a handful of extras on the second disc. Handful being the operative word, because compared to the wealth of material on the special edition of the first film this is sparse to say the least.

Deleted and extended scenes: four scenes which can be watched individually or all at once. If the latter they run to ten minutes in total. They can also be watched with or without a commentary from the director.

The first of these is an alternate opening [a bit of which may be familiar from the trailer] which has unfinished visual effects but is quite fun.

There are two deleted scenes which are mostly all dialogue moments.

And an extended version of a key scene from the last third of the film.

There are two featurettes, running eight and ten minutes respectively, about creating the Stark Expo scenes and about the digital effects in the film. These are short but quite interesting viewing.

And there's a five minute music video for an AD/DC song from the film soundtrack. Consisting of shots from the film and shots of the band playing.

So the two disc is rather like the movie. Not bad at all, but could be a bit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is a bit of a disappointment after the original Iron Man. It feels very much like it is just doing the groundwork to build up to something bigger and better later on, there is not any real resolution for me, and Mickey Rourke is tragically misused as the bad guy. There was real potential in his story to make something interesting about the similarities between the two, but this is wasted with a generic revenge plot.
The one big plus point is the arrival of Scarlett Johanson to the Marvel universe, she is very good as an assistant to Tony Stark with a hidden agenda, and her story really makes this worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag of a movie, 7 Sep 2011
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having revealed to the world that he is Iron Man, Tony Stark is revelling in his status as a superhero an is living his life as only a playboy billionaire can. Not everything is great however, as not only it the US government continually trying to get him to give them access to his technology but he is also being poisoned by the very thing that is keeping him alive. Complicating matters further is the Russian physicist Ivan Vanko who is looking for revenge against Stark for what his father did to Vanko's family.

This second `Iron Man' movie is a little hard for me to pin down. A lot of the time there are individual scenes in the movie that are better than anything the first film could offer but for some reason the whole thing never seems to gel together as well as it should. Part of the problem may that with Stark slowly dying, Vanko's revenge plot and the military trying to get their hands on the Stark's tech, it may be that the film has too many plot strands going on at one time.

The special effects for the film are just as good, if not better than those of the previous film and the soundtrack is also very good. The script could have probably done with a little work but this is more than made up for by the great action sequences. Robert Downey Jr. and Gwyneth Paltrow are both just as good as in the first film and Mickey Rourke is great a Ivan Vanko. Samuel L. Jackson is also brilliant as Nick Fury.

Overall, while this film isn't as good as its predecessor, or some of the other more recent Marvel films, it is still greatly entertaining and well worth four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of new issues for a Super Hero, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first film and the first time I watched Iron man 2 I hated it. There are still parts I would question - there is some bad casting, Don Cheadle's Lt Col James Rhodes does not have the same dynamic with Tony Stark as Terrence Howard did. Make no mistake the real baddie of the movie is not Mickey Rourke - but Sam Rockwell - he has a lot more screen time than Rourke and is envolved in everthing - given his portrayl of Hammer - which is a cross between an over-confident Tom Cruise and Donald Duck - the weight of the nemisis-type character does not stack-up - sadly lacking.These aside there are some very zaney, new fresh territories for a super-hero - how Tony Stark fits into the world now everyone knows he is Ironman is chief among them. The idea of Bruce Wayne or Clarke Kent defending their right to be a super-hero in court - without giving up their cape, belts and toys to the military would have been absurd, much worse could have had movie-goers streaming out of theatres. Iron Man 2 breaks all the rules here - and these are the themes with which this film should be defined - as this is what makes it fresh and new and very watchable. On the casting upside - Scarlett Johansson has great sex appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Iron Man 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Jon Favreau (Blu-ray - 2013)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews