Customer Reviews


543 Reviews
5 star:
 (324)
4 star:
 (127)
3 star:
 (64)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of action
Admittedly I just wanted to see that one scene where Chris Evans steps out of the machine transformed from a puny, little guy into a tall, muscular, lean, mean, fighting machine. It truly was one of the most spectacular things I've ever seen. I actually googled the movie to see if there was another actor portraying the skinnier Steve Rogers and I was stunned that there...
Published 22 months ago by Laura Hartley

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars £22 for a Bluray Disc??!!
This is a review of the item, not the film. The film is very good - Captain America always seemed to me to be one of the weakest characters in the Marvel Universe, but the movie was excellent and better than I expected.
Even with all three formats the current price on Amazon is £22 for this - for a movie that has been around for a while, has been on TV, and is from...
Published on 19 Jan. 2013 by Zoonie


‹ Previous | 134 35 3655 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly let Down, 4 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a Big Fan of the Marvel Film Genre,and this Film started off very well but it sadly descended into a series of Cut Scenes and disjointed characters..as an American Production it without fail portrays the British as Kind Hearted Bumpkins or Upper Class Toffs,and the Irish as Bowler Hatted Puglists..On a more upbeat note someone has done their Homework on the Hydra Weapons IE the Flying Wing America Bomber and the VTOL Fighter..What for me that really took the Wee Wee was that Hydra have developed totally unstoppable Weapons both light and heavy and yet they still get their bottoms kicked by a rag tag mish mash of allied POWS using conventional Weapons..IE the Infamous British Issue Sten Gun,and the 30.Cal Browning LMG...I know its just a Film but it is still way below Par..the acting is Laughable and Wooden..I expected so much more from this Film and it did not do the Captain America Genre ANY Justice.I do not like this Film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought this movie for my brother last christmas 2011, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
stevie (newcastle co down) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent movie was so real on blue ray i hid behind my pillow the movie excellent to watch it made me jump a couple of times but overall a good movie would reccomend you buy on blue ray for the stunning detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Captain America, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok I'm a big fan of the popcorn action flick and yes I did like the movie just thought it's a bit flat like it ran over-budget or something the last half of the film has a very rushed feel to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go for it, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had to ask my grand children what they thought of this one, they weren't scared by Red skull or any of the other stuff, they thought it was a very good film and I must admit I enjoyed it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain America 'The First Avenger', 8 Jan. 2012
Fantastic film , great story about American and German second world war secret weapons.End to end action from start to finish a real block buster.If you missed it at the cinema this is an opportunity not to miss, with both Blu-ray and DVD at a great price.Definitely the best film I saw during 2011, I saw it first at the cinema and liked it so much I bought the Blu-ray/DVD too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captain Fantastic, 1 Nov. 2011
By 
The one superhero that may have proved difficult for Marvel to sell around the world would be Captain America. For every country that loves the US, there is one that is not so sure. They are certainly not ready to watch a film about a character that is essentially propaganda - but is this how the 2011 `Captain America: The First Avenger' is? Surely a modern version on the character would take into account the current world climate, and when it comes down to it, this is not a film that is meant to change mind-sets, but entertain - and it does!

Captain America is actually a man called Steve Rogers. His small stature and ill health means that he is unable to join the army during the Second World War. However, his natural pluck means that he is chosen for the Super Soldier experiment that turns him into the hero Captain America. However, whilst he may be Cap on the outside, he remains Steve Rogers on the inside and this is the key to why the film works. Chris Evan is fantastic at playing Rogers, grounding him on just the right side of hokey. He loves his country, but above all he is a good man who hates bullies. Seeing Rogers thrive is a great to watch. There is a sense of old fashioned good versus evil, which is nice to watch on occasion, too many films bleed the two.

The slightly cheesy feel of the film works well as director Joe Johnston plays it as a WW2 adventure film. The events may be deadly, but the film is more of an all-out adventure that captures the Boy's Own world of 1940s comics. Like most of the recent Marvel pictures `Cap' does suffer from feeling like a prequel to `The Avengers'. The story is a simple origins tale; you pretty much know what is going to happen throughout. However, the journey is a fun and action packed one, so the simplicity can be forgiven. With more likable and stronger developed characters, `Captain America' is better than `Thor', but still slightly shy of `X Men: First Class'. However, all three are worth watching for superhero movie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Captain America, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not the worst Marvel film nor does it ever quite reaches the heights of 'The Avengers' but it's a solid film overall. I personally enjoyed it more after watching 'Winter Soldier'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 134 35 3655 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain America: The First Avenger [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£11.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews