Customer Reviews


472 Reviews
5 star:
 (276)
4 star:
 (101)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thor comes down to Earth
For the uninitiated, that's the Thor. God of thunder from the Norse pantheon. Son of Odin. And in comics oft sent to Earth to learn humility in a human alter ego and occasionally do battle with duplicitious sibling Loki.

And be a member of superhero team the Avengers.

As we'll see next year...

In the meantime, Thor, like Iron Man did three...
Published on 28 Oct 2011 by Paul Tapner

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks like a Hallmark Pilot
Poor put upon Odin (Anthony Hopkins) King of Asgard, must now pass the throne to one of his two sons, Thor (Chris Hemsworth), or Loki (Tom Hiddleston). However they must both show that they are worthy and capable. Will Thor change his arrogant ways? Is Loki everybody's friend or a sneaky leader of a cabal?

Let's watch the story as it unfolds.

I have...
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by bernie


‹ Previous | 141 42 4348 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 8 April 2013
By 
EJ (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thor [DVD] (DVD)
Well, my kids quite enjoyed it. I was a bit bored, however. I agree, in particular, with other reviewers that the supposed sexual chemistry between the two main characters was entirely absent. Thor is told at one point in the film 'She can't take her eyes of you' - or words to that effect. I found myself thinking 'Really?' I hadn't noticed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Present, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this for my boyfriend as a present. It seems to be ok and plays ok. He seems happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Happy to give feedback - but not happy to write an essay about it! Happy to give feedback - but not happy to write an essay about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!. (cba with the whole amount of words needed soo...) Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor [DVD] (DVD)
Great!. (cba with the whole amount of words needed soo...) Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FX-wise it looks incredible... But looks can be deceiving., 27 Jan 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thor [Blu-ray] [2011] (Blu-ray)
Behind this visually stunning film lies little in the way of substance. Dialogue and story are weak, as is the casting for all but the main character, Thor.

There are quite a few plot holes and things that aren't explained properly either. Parts of it are truly beautiful to watch and the special effects are excellent. But looks aren't enough and what we have here is a film that is fool's gold rather than 24 carat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor [DVD] (DVD)
Brought for my Step Nephew at Christmas - I don't know anything about this film but he was very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thor Blu-ray, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a christmas gift and it arrived well before I expected it so what more needs saying apart from extremely pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor [DVD] (DVD)
brillant item recived with 2 days of postage will use the service again it is also a brillant film i do recomend it and i think it is worth the money i paid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good start but trails off, 5 Jun 2012
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor [DVD] (DVD)
After Frost Giants try to steal back an artefact from a vault on Asgard, Thor son of Odin defies his father's wishes and travels to Jotunheim to confront the Frost Giants about their actions. Things don't go well and Thor's actions threaten to restart the war between Asgard and the Frost Giants forcing Odin to strip Thor of his powers and exile him to Earth to learn his lesson. Meanwhile Thor's brother Loki has his own plans that could cause disaster for everyone.

Part of the run-up to the Avengers movie, Thor begins quite well but doesn't quite manage to keep up the momentum all the way through. The opening narration about the war with the Frost Giants was very well done and the battle on Jotunheim was great but once the action moves to earth for the second part the film seems to be marred by some poor comedy and a somewhat lacklustre romance subplot. This is not to say that the film is totally bad after this point, there are some nice scenes here and there and although it probably doesn't live up to the beginning, things do pick up for the finale.

The CGI for the film were superb, the magnificent vistas of Asgard being particularly a particular highlight. The performances of the actors in the film were somewhat hit and miss unfortunately, Anthony Hopkins as Odin, Idris Elba as Heimdall and Tom Hiddleston as Loki were all very good while Chris Hemsworth was reasonable but not great as Thor himself. Natalie Portman on the other hand didn't really do well as Thor's love interest Jane Foster and the people playing Thor's four friends gave some rather poor performances.

Overall Thor was an entertaining film that ended slightly disappointedly. The film isn't the best of the films leading up to the Avengers but it is probably good enough for a low four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thor, 31 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Thor [DVD] (DVD)
An Excellent film. Lost the first one only after watching once. Replacement came very quickly and a really decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 141 42 4348 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thor [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Thor [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Kenneth Branagh (Blu-ray - 2013)
15.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews