Customer Reviews


450 Reviews
5 star:
 (295)
4 star:
 (101)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Comic Based Action
Iron Man is one of the best adaptations of comic book entertainment to the world of film. In my view only the Christian Bale Batman is as excellent a story and production as the tale of the Iron Man. Robert Downey Jnr is fantastically cast as Tony Stark, playboy industrialist and genious. As a weapons manufacturer and womaniser, Stark is set up as a character without...
Published on 30 Sept. 2009 by MLA

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing how many people are rating the transfer on this one! Should be better!
I'm not going to comment on the actual film, as if you are looking at buying it then chances are you have already seen it! My comments relate to the transfer and picture quality.

I was really looking forward to this movie on Blu-Ray but now I have it I really am amazed at the amount of people saying how awesome the transfer is! As someone else already said,...
Published on 8 May 2010 by Paul F.


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Comic Based Action, 30 Sept. 2009
By 
MLA (Jakarta, Indonesia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iron Man is one of the best adaptations of comic book entertainment to the world of film. In my view only the Christian Bale Batman is as excellent a story and production as the tale of the Iron Man. Robert Downey Jnr is fantastically cast as Tony Stark, playboy industrialist and genious. As a weapons manufacturer and womaniser, Stark is set up as a character without morals and with only his own quest for pleasure able to match his inquisitive desire to build bigger and better weapons. It all goes wrong within moments of the opening credits though as on a trip to Afghanistan (and trust me it really does look like Afghanistan) his convoy is attacked and he is taken prisoner. From there, Stark builds the foundation of his Iron Man.

It is the first part of the film that is truly awesome. Downey Jnr's own decadent lifestyle plays so well into the character of Stark and the arrogance that accompanies a genious who knows his position is delicious. His winning way with people and the awe with which the squaddies look up to him in the moment before his convoy is hit are moments of cinematic greatness.

The part of the film where robots are fighting each other is less fun. I'm not a fan of the Transformers film and I didn't like the same robot action here. The process that turns Stark into the Iron Man both in the cave and then when perfecting the suit in California are what makes this film work so excellently.

There are plot holes just as there are in any blockbuster. The sentimentality of the reporting on a refugee crisis is cringeworthy. The deliberate attempt to de-Arabise the terrorist group is pointless as those who fail to see the difference still won't while those who do will not be convinced. Despite all that this is still a great film. Jeff Bridges is a great presence and his bald pate and beard make his character really stand out. Bridges carries a sophistication in his characterisation that makes him a believable Chief Executive weighing up every situation to his own best advantage. Even Gwyneth Paltrow puts in a decent turn helped by an excellent mop of hair.

The DVD extras are really extensive. The making of documentary is seriously comprehensive and covers a lot of the behind the scenes issues - a genuine glimpse into the role of the director as Jon Favreau takes the production from concepts with the comic book guys through the model making, casting, until post-production. The lengthy discussions with comic book guys is probably more for those with a natural affinity to comics though I noted with some amusement the complete writing out of Barry Windsor-Smith from Iron Man history - knowing the guy personally it doesn't surprise me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 27 May 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
RD Junior shines as the obnoxious playboy turned stoic saviour in this fantastic origins tale. The screenplay is first class, the characters are well written and we easily understand their motivations. The visuals are never less than thrilling; the final battle between what are essentially two robots is especially well presented - unlike Transformers for instance when the whole screen is littered with flashy metal and you can't tell what's going on. I found Iron Man - or rather Tony Stark to be more er..human than the other square jawed superheroes, his frailties are nearer the surface. Much of the humour comes from his various weaknesses, booze, cars, women and impetuousness being just a few. I'll be watching the DVD for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film that started an epic tv and movie universe., 29 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Iron Man [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
At the time of writing this Marvel has created an intertwining set of media that spans 10 movies and a spin off tv series with many more announced. They have acomplished something no one thought possible by bringing the overlapping comic book universe to the big screen, not only suceeding but doing it seemingly effortlessly and it all started in 2008 with the release of the first film Iron Man.

Iron Man is an amazing film. I almost feel like I could stop this review there. The story is obviously an Origin tale of how weapon industrialist playboy genius billionaire Tony Stark becomes Iron Man. During a weapons demonstration Tony gets kidnapped by terrorists who want him to build weapons of their own, instead Tony builds his first suit of armour to escape which sets him on a path realising his weapons haven't been just protecting America as he thought, and how he can right the wrongs using his newly developed armour.

The plot may not sound interesting from what I wrote but the acting, wit and charm of the film is really something else. Robert Downey Jr steals the show as Stark, this is a role he was born to play, he couldn't be any more perfect for it if he tried though the rest of the cast also put in great and often funny performances.

To tie it all off the film looks and sounds fantastic. The special effects are so good I can't tell what's a real suit and what's computer generated and because of the making of extras I know which are which and it doesn't help. In HD the film looks stunning and the soundtrack kicks ass to boot. (Driving with the top down is my favorite song)

The blu-Ray extra features are surprisingly extensive. There is an origins interview with the comic creator Stan Lee as well as other writers and artists involved in his creation. Extended and deleted scenes, a seven part making of documentary (which is really thorough and detailed), special effects making of, Robert Downey Jr's screen test etc etc. It's all pretty great and is a few hours worth of content.

To sum up if you don't have Iron Man, buy Iron Man.

+ Writing and humour are excellent.
+ Robert Downey Jr. Is perfect casting as Tony Stark.
+ Special effects and music are outstanding.
+ Has a decent selection of blu-ray extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars man of iron, 14 Jan. 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
another comic book superhero comes to the cinema screen. this time it's the turn of iron man from marvel comics. tony stark is a billionare industrial/inventor/playboy who makes his money building and selling weapons. a life changing experience in the middle east leads to him making a robot suit that cane fly and shoot beams of energy, and he intends to use it to help out the downtrodden people of the region. but corporate power struggles means he has enemies closer to home to fight...

one of the best comic book adaptations out there and a film that those who've never read the source material can enjoy. because this is a film which tries to be as realistic as possible in it's style and setting. and it's also a movie first and foremost about character. dominated by a superb leading performance from robert downey jr as tony stark, who comes over as the kind of individual you could but daydream about being. ably supported by gwyneth paltrow as his secretary virginia 'pepper' potts, the two have a fascinating relationship, always on the edge of making their professional lives into personal ones, and always never quite admitting how much they depend on each other.

this is the origin story for the character, and the villainy that he has to deal with does seem a bit tacked on, but that's a minor complaint. a strong character drama and a satisfying blockbuster and a hugely entertaining fllm as a result.

the dvd more than does it justice. this is the two disc edition, and it comes in a strong steel box.

the first disc has a language track in english, and subtitles in english danish dutch norwegian finnish and swedish [the box promises italian and turkish also but I couldn't them on disc one, although they are on disc two]

the disc offers the movie with direct scene access, and roughly twenty seven minutes of deleted scenes. these can be watched individually or in one long go. they're all quite short and are the kind of thing that usually gets cut for timing reasons, but they're worth a look as there as some good character moments in there.

also in special features is a minute long trailer for a forthcoming iron man cartoon series on tv, which looks to be pitched at a slightly younger audience than the movie to judge by what we see here.

for an easter egg, watch this on a computer and move the pointer around the screen when on special features, and just above the bit that says main menu you will light up a symbol. click on this to see a short feature about marvel comics stan lee and his time filming his cameo appearance in the film.

on disc two, the language track is again engligh, and the subtitles are as listed for disc one but with the addition of italian and turkish.

the special features on this disc start with an incredibly comprehensive seven part making of documentary about the movie. watch this all in one go as you can, and it will last roughly one and three quarter hours, but you can watch it segments running anything from fifteen to twenty minutes. it's absolutely the most comprehensive look at the filming that you could imagine, starting from early planning to post production. the last two segments are particularly interesting, showing what goes on to get a film ready once all the filming has finished.

the invicible iron man is another documentary that can be watched all at once or in segments. it runs for roughly forty five minutes and it chronicles the history of the character in the comics and all the changes he's gone through over the years there. some sections aren't quite as detailed as others, and it's probably more for die hard fans of the comic than those who don't know the continuity, but it's a good feature all in all.

wired: the visual effects of iron man: this is a twenty seven minute long documentary about the special effects and computer graphics used in the movie, and it's very interesting, although it's a bit much to take in all at once.

robert downey jr's screen test is six minutes worth of film showing him audtioning for the lead in the movie. it shows him doing three different scenes, all showing certain facets of the character. and instantly you can see how suited he is to the role. an interesting look at the acting process.

as is the four minute long feature the actor's process, whcih shows robert downey jr and jeff bridges rehearsing a scene. which involves lots of disussion on how they'll act, and then actually doing it.

there are stills galleries, which allow you to look through lots of production designs and stills and copies of the film posters.

and an absolute gem: 'iron man trailer to be made into a movie'. from the website of satirical magazine the onion this is a three minute long fake news item which has two reporters discussing the fact that the trailer for iron man is going to be expanded into a full length film. not an easy joke to explain, but an hilarious extra to watch.

a quality movie, and a quality package to support it. by the way be sure to watch the film to the very end of the end credits as there's something there that needs to be seen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad RDJ, not bad., 20 Jan. 2009
By 
Road Apple "who brings the mustard?" (Mean Gene's Bar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
A pleasant surprise, I was sure this would be a suck fest (just like Daredevil, Spiderman 3 and Ghost Rider) but no, it was much better than it had any right to be.

It was wise of the makers not to go too heavy with the dark side of Tony Stark's personality and stick to giving us a good action film. I'm sure the sequels will delve into Stark's more adult themed story lines but for a first in the franchise this is just what's needed.

From the off RDJ shows us what Stark is all about, we get an idea of the `reality' of this world (non-descript Middle East conflict, US arms manufacturer in dodgy dealings, etc). I could have done without Jon Favreau's distracting cameo (I swear he looks at the camera), but I guess his ego was out of control by this point.

Without RDJ and Jeff Bridges this would have been a 3 star movie, but they elevate it just enough to earn that fourth star. RDJ is charming, annoying, funny, clever and a little naïve, whereas Jeff Bridges is a lip smacking old timer that is the perfect antidote to Stark's charismatic protagonist. Ok, it's no Dark Knight, it was never gonna be (perhaps the sequel will be though, hmm). Props must go to the SFX guys that designed the suit, it looks incredible (we all want one).

As is the norm the final showdown is a little disappointing.....can somebody explain why the bad gut loses his marbles so quickly? I'm nit picking, the movie left me wanting more so is a success on that score alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man Has Soul, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
Iron Man and Ray Stark are new to me. I am not a comic book or fantasy fan. However, I enjoyed this film tremendously. The plot though thin, rang true and the superhero is expected to do some real acting. Though his feats are amazing, it is the scenery, his soul and the people supporting him that make this film so good.

Robert Downey, Jr plays Ray Stark, he owns a company that makes and sells high tech weaponry. At the moment he is in Afghanistan showing off his weaponry, when his group is attacked. He spends the next three months building a suit to protect his new heart and himself. In the process he escapes and comes back to to life in California. Iron Man has a great cast of characters- Terrence Howard, as the military man, Gwyneth Paltrow as his girl Friday and Jeff Bridges as his accomplice in the company- Bridges really wears black. Needless to say the plot thickens and Iron Man goes on to build a new suit to defend his newly found ethical behavior and save the day.

Save the day, he does- Robert Downy Jr is a first rate actor with emotional liability and he is the Iron Man. The other actors are also first rate and this is the film of the past year, IMO.

There is a shocking revelation and the hardware is impressive. This is a fun film for all. The computer aided visuals are impressive and Iron Man, well he has Soul!

Highly Recommended. prisrob 06-09-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Entertainment!, 4 April 2009
When I first heard that Iron Man was going to get the big-screen treatment, I have to admit to feeling a touch apprehensive; he was always my favest as a kid and the adaptations of Spider-Man, Superman, Fantastic Four, Hulk etc, for me, have been far from great.

So with a bit of trepadation I sat down to watch. What relief!

I'll admit I'm a Robert Downey Junior fan, so when I heard he'd be playing Tony Stark, I thought perfect. He's got the chat, the charm, the charisma, and he puts all 3 to use brilliantly.
He's helped by a very sharp & snappy script, and some great supporting performances; Bridges especially, who doesn't get too much screen time unfortunately, does make an excellent bad-guy!

The plot and story are good enough both to introduce the casual viewer to the character and not to bore the fans.

Out of all the big-screen-makeovers I've seen (barring Batman I guess) this & Transformers is heads & shoulders above the rest, so enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ironman a definite winner, 20 May 2010
By 
John Gillespie (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw the movie, bought it on DVD and now moved to blu ray which has really enhanced the visual and sound entertainment. It depends on your taste, but Ironman is a great movie that provides a good storyline into the creation of the Iron Man concept, which has not been lost in Iron Man 2. If you are into action, sci-fi, fantasy and superheroes this is a quality movie of just over 2 hours that keeps you enthralled and entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 18 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
I'd heard great things about this film, but it wasn't what I expected when I finally came to watch. It isn't really that action packed and it doesn't really grab your attention to well and it doesn't even really have a good story! However, it a change of pace for the superhero genre and Downer Jr provides a great performance and really saves the film from falling flat on its face. It's difficult to review as it isn't really an action/super hero film. I can't see kids liking this, it's more of an adult superhero movie. There are plenty of entertaing moments, small action set pieces and comedy moments for light relief. I say the story isn't that great, it's good with a nice twist but just isn't as good as say the first two spiderman or batman films (old and new). I rate spitderman 2 as the best comic book film i've seen followed by the Dark Knight. This is probably the next best but won't suit everyones taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be the reference for all other marvel films, 16 July 2009
THE FILM
This is one of the best of the marvel adaptations, from one of the more neglected characters in the marvel universe. I was pleasantly surprised to see all parts of the film cohesively made. Where as spider man had excellent peter parker scenes but dire Spiderman action scenes, and where Xmen and hulk had great action scenes but fairly dry `normal people' scenes, Iron man I felt introduced the right balance, with comedy, serious moments, and actions scenes with real punch.

Robert Downey Jr is perfect in the role, always seemingly smarter and riskier in every single way than the other characters in the movie, and spares the time to crack some spot on jokes. He is convincing as a scientist as well as a playboy and manages to take on both roles convincingly. Gwyneth Paltrow's role was not an amazing one and too be honest many actresses of similar physical build and spoken class could have filled the role. Jeff Bridges was very effective and quite an unreadable character for much of the film.

Plot wise it was all good up until the battle with the final villain who transitioned from a real life kind of bad guy, to the straight up insane comic book bad guy a little too quickly. But arguably this film is about its action scenes and it does not disappoint, the special effects are great in that they might not seem like special effects, just complicated real life shots. The suit of armour is everything it should be, looks wise and equipment wise, featuring all the sorts of gaudy weaponry that it deserves. The only parts of the film where I thought the use of CGI, particularly the animation, weren't up to scratch were the mechanical fitting of his armour which just felt too fake, and the final boss battle which just edged itself out of a realistic presentation.

PRESENTATION
Iron man really is one of those show off films for a Bluray home theatre, it is wonderfully sharp and the facial textures and pores are extremely vivid, made more so by artificially enhancing your TVs sharpness, although this may make the background picture look slightly more grainy. Particular highlights are the desert scenes in the beginning and any of the daytime Iron man scenes, where the metal grain of the suit can look like brushed aluminium, which would never really come across as effectively on Standard Definition. The CGI is superbly believable and immersive, possibly with the exception of the end battle which was probably the weaker part of the film anyway.

The sound is excellent, with your home cinema system booted up there are plenty of ear candy moments, from the test firing of the missile system to the time he takes out the enemies version of it, but the whole movie is generally spot on. The music sound track is also extra well done, with the guitar used to back up many scenes giving the impression that Tony Stark really is a rock star in his field.

CONCLUSION
Overall this is a great film even for those who struggle to like such non real life style films, as this one is mostly done with a maintained realism and effects base. The action is coruscating and boldly impressive, and the viewing experience is further intensified by the almost immaculate presentation of the picture and sound on Bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Iron Man [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Jon Favreau (Blu-ray - 2013)
£17.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews