Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
43
4.4 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£13.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2013
If you have played and enjoyed Enemy Unknown, you won't be disappointed with Enemy Within. I completely understand the console players discouragement towards the latest Addon. After purchasing the original game and the DLC, to then buy everything again a year later. But I must say, the content that comes with Enemy Within is worth its £25. They have added an endless amount of maps, I think 46 new maps? So far I've played over 18 hours, encountered the new enemy EXALT. You can send one soldier on covert operations to find the main EXALT base. After every covert operation, you have to send in a extraction team. Mostly hacking certain terminals that can deliver information about EXALT. It's really fun and I think that the games difficulty has increased a little bit. I can even get my men killed on "Normal". You need a new form of resource called MELT, to upgrade your soldiers with mechs or genetic enhancements. I would have never guessed to enjoy XCOM Enemy Within as much as I did a year ago with Enemy Unknown. New voices have been added finally! Unfortunately it doesn't include Japanese, Korean, Chinese, Indian or even British English etc. Maybe a DLC or mod will be released in the future. Overall it is a great addition towards the XCOM universe and deserves my utmost respect for the Dev team. A great buy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
I have seen somepeople complain that it's basically the same game as the original and that is a valid point but as a standalone game it is perfect. I played the original and liked it a lot but this incarnation is perfect, the alien sympathisers (EXALT), the Mec troops and gene enhancements all add so much variety to the game as do all the extra maps. One of the stand alone missions involving zombies is brilliant and so tense it's like an interactive horror movie.

If you have never bought an Xcom game buy this one and skip the original as this is the game the original should have been.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Possibly the best game on PS3 - and without doubt the best strategy game on console.

It's basically the same as the original game with added maps, medals, mecs, armour, items, 2 new enemies, gene boosts and the terrorist organisation Exalt. If you liked the original game, then you will love this as it's the same great formula fleshed out with more options and customisation and a greater variety of locales.

It's still unusual in that the first 3 months of the game are much harder to survive than the next 3 months. I suppose that makes sense with your increasing tech tree, but odd for a video game. As for bugs, I only saw one when accusing a country of harbouring the Exalt base. Iron man is a challenge, but if you do that make sure you backup your save game incase it goes pear shaped.

Highly recommended, 50 hours of pleasure
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 February 2015
XCOM has it's roots back in the 80's with the popular cult classic "Laser Squad" (and before that Rebelstar) developed by Julian Gollop and his brother they started the XCOM franchise which builds on the previous games in complexity and depth.

Enemy Within on the console versions in the expansion which includes Enemy Unknown this is an all in one purchase with the "Commander Edition" both are included in this, where as the PC version it's an add on expansion pack.

Presentation is slick and very polished overall and whilst the storyline won't win any awards the game successfully manages to create a great atmosphere and tension as well as encourage depth and tactical play both at the players base and in the main combat area. Tweaks to the gameplay mean it's not longer a viable strategy to sit back and wait with snipers to take out the aliens (meld canisters which reward researching will self destruct if they are not captured in time) There are quite a lot of additional features including nearly 50 new single player maps, "base defence", new weapons and upgrades as well as robotic enhancements, you can even customise your soldiers appearance/voice and name them. Progressing though the game you are encouraged to build up/look after your squad as more senior rankings unlock special abilities and provide tougher troops. Enemy AI is much improved and this also means replay value is increased significantly as the aliens don't always stick to obvious patterns.

Graphics are very nice, even the isometric playing area looks realistic and well presented and the occasional first person view adds to the drama onscreen. Sometimes frame rates can suffer with meaty explosions but it remains impressive across all the platforms no complaints about sound either it puts you right into the action with chunky explosions and a good soundtrack/speech. Back at the base you can search for new encounters, research new technology and direct resources to areas you want to develop. The base area can be expanded giving you the chance to dig out new areas in the base and beef up specific areas. Multiplayer is online only but quite good giving you set number of points for each team to spend on your squad (humans or aliens)

It's not quite perfect but it is a big game, at the higher difficulty levels it provides a significant challenge to seasoned players. It might not be for everyone (don't be put off with the turn based nature of the game it has it's advantages tactical play wise) but if you're a strategy/tactical fan or someone who enjoyed the earlier games (or even the very first ones pre XCOM) then this will prove to be a highly enjoyable game. Well worth a look especially at this bargain basement price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
i am an old gamer....i owned the original ps1 versions of this classic strategy game and always held it high regard, you can spend soo much time playing this game, and even though it smacks a bit of cash in when i also purchased the regular edition a year previous i have spent almost as much time playing this tweaked and improved update, theres really no other game like x-com, to me its the crack cocaine of gaming..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
I can't say enough about this game. Xcom has been a part of my life since the early 90s and now that it's back I'm ecstatic. I spent all day on it yesterday and it does not disappoint! Mimetic skin is awesome and the new mission types are brilliant. I'm off to play it just now.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
PSN download is about 5 times the cost !
If you like turn based strategy this is as fi e as it gets .
Just the right amount of customisation of character without bloating the action and story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Excellent, excellent game. Even if turn-based strategy isn't your thing (generally, it isn't mine...), give it a shot - I lost the better part of a fortnight to this, and loved almost every second.

Welcome back, old friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
This update for the best game of 2012, quite simply rocks!!! Worth every penny. More, more and more!!! If your new to this series all I can say u may find the prospect of turn based combat dull? DONT!!! Bored of same old games??? Then stop moaning and buy xcom
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
Amazing tactical game. Loved Enemy Unknown and thought this would be just a remake...I was pleasantly surprised! First of all, the customization is fantastic (Elite Soldier Pack, ingrained in this version) and finally allows you to customize each soldier, making the game a lot more personal. Then, the genetic mods, the ability to turn your soldiers into cyborgs, more grenades, more equipment, more maps, new ALIENS, a new resource and BASE attacks...!
The only downside is the frequent slowdowns, though short, they can get on your nerves, especially if you get hooked hours on end (you will.) like me.

All in all, a definite must, if you are man enough to play anything beside japanese crap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)