Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firaxis does it again!
If you have played and enjoyed Enemy Unknown, you won't be disappointed with Enemy Within. I completely understand the console players discouragement towards the latest Addon. After purchasing the original game and the DLC, to then buy everything again a year later. But I must say, the content that comes with Enemy Within is worth its 25. They have added an endless...
Published 9 months ago by Daniel Forster

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ruined by bugs
real good strategy game when it actually works, but many times it freezes for totally random reasons, which often totally stop an ironman run in its tracks, as you cannot track back to an uncorrupted save point. cant really believe that this game was properly tested before release, as it crashes for so many random reasons.
Published 7 months ago by teknodred


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firaxis does it again!, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Daniel Forster "Daniel" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XCOM Enemy Within (PS3) (Video Game)
If you have played and enjoyed Enemy Unknown, you won't be disappointed with Enemy Within. I completely understand the console players discouragement towards the latest Addon. After purchasing the original game and the DLC, to then buy everything again a year later. But I must say, the content that comes with Enemy Within is worth its 25. They have added an endless amount of maps, I think 46 new maps? So far I've played over 18 hours, encountered the new enemy EXALT. You can send one soldier on covert operations to find the main EXALT base. After every covert operation, you have to send in a extraction team. Mostly hacking certain terminals that can deliver information about EXALT. It's really fun and I think that the games difficulty has increased a little bit. I can even get my men killed on "Normal". You need a new form of resource called MELT, to upgrade your soldiers with mechs or genetic enhancements. I would have never guessed to enjoy XCOM Enemy Within as much as I did a year ago with Enemy Unknown. New voices have been added finally! Unfortunately it doesn't include Japanese, Korean, Chinese, Indian or even British English etc. Maybe a DLC or mod will be released in the future. Overall it is a great addition towards the XCOM universe and deserves my utmost respect for the Dev team. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars there goes a week, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XCOM Enemy Within (PS3) (Video Game)
i am an old gamer....i owned the original ps1 versions of this classic strategy game and always held it high regard, you can spend soo much time playing this game, and even though it smacks a bit of cash in when i also purchased the regular edition a year previous i have spent almost as much time playing this tweaked and improved update, theres really no other game like x-com, to me its the crack cocaine of gaming..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XCOM Enemy Within (PS3) (Video Game)
I have seen somepeople complain that it's basically the same game as the original and that is a valid point but as a standalone game it is perfect. I played the original and liked it a lot but this incarnation is perfect, the alien sympathisers (EXALT), the Mec troops and gene enhancements all add so much variety to the game as do all the extra maps. One of the stand alone missions involving zombies is brilliant and so tense it's like an interactive horror movie.

If you have never bought an Xcom game buy this one and skip the original as this is the game the original should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XCOM Enemy Within (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought this after playing Enemy Unknown at a friend's house. This is the full game + expansion and DLCs. You are not only getting your money's worth in content, it's also an absolutely amazing game. I used to not like turn-based strategy, but this one sucked me right in from the beginning. Be prepared for some intense thinking on any other difficulty than Easy. It took me a while to get used to it, but I wouldn't want to miss this game from my game library now. One star is missing, due to the fact that it seems a bit buggy at times and at least for me had a tendency to just crash at the most unfortunate moments. Other than that, I can wholeheartedly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xcom Gets Better, 16 Jan 2014
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: XCOM Enemy Within (PS3) (Video Game)
Possibly the best game on PS3 - and without doubt the best strategy game on console.

It's basically the same as the original game with added maps, medals, mecs, armour, items, 2 new enemies, gene boosts and the terrorist organisation Exalt. If you liked the original game, then you will love this as it's the same great formula fleshed out with more options and customisation and a greater variety of locales.

It's still unusual in that the first 3 months of the game are much harder to survive than the next 3 months. I suppose that makes sense with your increasing tech tree, but odd for a video game. As for bugs, I only saw one when accusing a country of harbouring the Exalt base. Iron man is a challenge, but if you do that make sure you backup your save game incase it goes pear shaped.

Highly recommended, 50 hours of pleasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this game is awsome i great improvement, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XCOM Enemy Within (PS3) (Video Game)
one of my favourite games ever now i love turn based strategy games and i noticed a lot less bugs but some still occur i invaded the exalt base twice same country same place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xcom wins again!!!, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XCOM Enemy Within (PS3) (Video Game)
This update for the best game of 2012, quite simply rocks!!! Worth every penny. More, more and more!!! If your new to this series all I can say u may find the prospect of turn based combat dull? DONT!!! Bored of same old games??? Then stop moaning and buy xcom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell yeah, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XCOM Enemy Within (PS3) (Video Game)
I can't say enough about this game. Xcom has been a part of my life since the early 90s and now that it's back I'm ecstatic. I spent all day on it yesterday and it does not disappoint! Mimetic skin is awesome and the new mission types are brilliant. I'm off to play it just now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best, 3 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XCOM Enemy Within (PS3) (Video Game)
One of the best games every made. No question about it. Brutally punishing but extremely rewarding at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XCOM Enemy Within (PS3) (Video Game)
I loved the original from the 90's, loved Enemy Unknown, and all the exta's on this just make it even better.
Now to play thruogh again on Iron Man. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

XCOM Enemy Within (PS3)
XCOM Enemy Within (PS3) by 2K Games (PlayStation 3)
16.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews