Customer Reviews


2,288 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,130)
4 star:
 (655)
3 star:
 (261)
2 star:
 (122)
1 star:
 (120)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


202 of 212 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This could be real... and that's scary.
When Jamie and Kirsty move into their new flat, everything seems perfect. But not for long... Firefighters and pizza deliveries start to show up at their front door, and it becomes clear that their new neighbours are starting to play hoaxes on our loved up couple. Their tricks turn into genuine hostility, putting Jamie, Kirsty and their friends in danger. The police can't...
Published 17 months ago by O. Reynolds

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chilling story, a little lacking in the telling
There are some scary moments and the story is chilling, however the dialogue is rather irksome at times and the young couple's inaction in the light of such harassment is a little bewildering.
Published 16 months ago by Lili


‹ Previous | 1 2229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

202 of 212 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This could be real... and that's scary., 23 Mar 2013
By 
O. Reynolds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When Jamie and Kirsty move into their new flat, everything seems perfect. But not for long... Firefighters and pizza deliveries start to show up at their front door, and it becomes clear that their new neighbours are starting to play hoaxes on our loved up couple. Their tricks turn into genuine hostility, putting Jamie, Kirsty and their friends in danger. The police can't help, and Jamie starts to question not only his sanity, but how far he is willing to go to stop their neighbours from hell. This is a brilliant solo debut from Mark Edwards- forget zombies and werewolves, The Magpies is a seriously creepy novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chilling story, a little lacking in the telling, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are some scary moments and the story is chilling, however the dialogue is rather irksome at times and the young couple's inaction in the light of such harassment is a little bewildering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 27 April 2013
I was recommended this book by a friend, I downloaded it and started reading on a long train journey. The journey flew by and I couldn't put it down, I needed to know what happened!

The story is creepy in parts, and the really scary thing is that it could happen in real life! I enjoyed the style of writing and felt the story flowed well.

I would recommend this book if you are looking for a psychological thriller that you will want to finish in one sitting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody needs good neighbours..., 22 Mar 2013
By 
The novel opens with the seemingly idyllic lives of Jamie, a software engineer and Kirsty, a paediatric nurse; a young couple who are very much in love and starting out in their first home together - the `perfect' flat in North London, where they plan to start a family, get married and generally be blissfully happy... But this is a psychological thriller, so there's not much chance of any of that! With 3 sets of 'suspicious' neighbours it doesn't take long before the terror starts. It's innocuous at first. Hoax pizza deliveries, targeted junk mail, unwanted parcels. Then it becomes far more sinister...

This is a fast-paced read with excellent characterisation. It was clear from the outset that the happy couple's lives were about to be thrown into turmoil, and the way it was all revealed was subtle and creepy enough to keep the feeling of dread trickling throughout.

Anyone who has ever had a dodgy neighbour will really relate to this book! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 29 April 2013
By 
Mary T. Thomas (Vancouver Island) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After reading Marks previous books co-written with Louise Voss I eagerly awaited this solo effort. I was not disappointed. I was so enthralled by this book. It is hard to believe than anyone could be so manipulative and so conniving. After personally living next to inconsiderate and thoroughly unpleasant neighbours I empathised totally. When your home is no longer your haven and you do not wish to spend time there it is so stressful. I really felt that Mark got the balance of fear and loathing that Jaime and Kirsty felt towards their neighbours was just perfect.Thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put down..., 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book.. I really hated it when my train journey into work came to an end and I had to wait all day before I could continue on the way home..!!
I agree, it's like a modern day Rosemary's Baby but I preferred this because it was so much more believable.. This could happen..! I was freaked out by the spiders and convinced I would find one in my bath later that night.. (I didn't I'm glad to say)
I tried to guess the outcome and got it completely wrong. I was sad and suprised at the ending. The only thing that I was a bit confused about was why did Paul change so much? I thought it was going to come out that Chris had been turning him against Jamie, Kirsty and Heather.
I have never felt compelled to write a book review before, and I have read thousands over the years.. (but then I have never got so involved in the plot and the characters)
Think I have driven all my family and friends mad telling them how good this book is...!
I am now on a mission to find a book just as gripping.. I have this void to fill !
Obviously, I would recommend this book to everyone !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody Needs Good Neighbours..., 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fresh from his success as part of an ace writing duo with Louise Voss, Mark Edwards goes solo with new release 'The Magpies'. Billed as a psychological thriller which raises questions about the depths of despair your neighbours can take you, Edwards manages to provide so much more than just another 'nasty neighbour' story. Creating characters you really feel for from the off, it is the incredible amount of dread which drips off the page which raises this book above its counterparts.

Deftly skilled and excellently plotted 'The Magpies' begins almost sedately, with our heroes Kirsty and Jamie moving into their dream flat, only for that dream to be slowly torn apart across the story. The normality of their lives is in stark contrast to what comes next, with the introduction of Lucy and Chris Newton, their downstairs neighbours. With each day comes just a little more horror, creeping into the narrative forcing you to read on. What Kirsty and Jamie go through is horrendous, and you'll be turning the pages (or clicking that button on your kindle!) quicker and quicker as you reach the horrifying ending.

Absorbing and frighteningly all too real for those who have experienced the nightmare of bad neighbours, 'The Magpies' is a fantastic story, which really shows off the versatility of Edwards. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but wanted more, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book and thought the main young couple characters were believable. However really wanted more intrigue and to be more uncertain of the outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's hope there's no Lucy or Chris' living next door to you!, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magpies (Kindle Edition)
I never feel compelled to review books however even weeks after finishing this book I cannot stop thinking about it. When I read the synopsis I wasn't blown away but looks can be deceiving. This is a brilliant book which comes with a chilling realisation that Jamie and Kirsty's story could happen to anybody and probably has happened to many. The ending is less than predictable and certainly wasn't the fairytale ending that many of these sorts of books finish on which only adds to the book's appeal. The characters are well developed and so you can really empathise with Kirsty and Jamie.as they struggle with some truly psycho neighbours.. Not something to read if you're already weary of your own neighbours but an absolutely thrilling read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Magpies, 20 May 2013
By 
JM (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very very readable, one of those books you really cannot put down. It's so normal, what happens could happen to anyone which is the scary thing, and makes me worry that the house next door to me is for sale!
Gripping from the beginning this is a fantastic read, with an ending I didn't expect and didn't really want, but can't have a happy ending every time. I would certainly read another book by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magpies
The Magpies by Mark Edwards
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews